$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona

3 stars
Gravina, 12, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
26 reviews
Very nice

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice too, with lots of taste of Spain... See full review

  • New to Spain
  • Feb 22, 2012
VERY GOOD LOCATION

SUPER LOCATION. NEAR FOR EVERYTHING. See full review

  • orpen
  • Apr 16, 2010
Reasonable rates, comfy rooms with free Wi-Fi and excellent location
Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona sits on a quiet street in the city center, just a hop and a skip away from Plaza Catalunya. This convenient location is the hotel's main drawing card. Housed in a renovated 19th century building, it provides a string of comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi and the expected range of in-room trappings, plus a business center.
Highlights
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Excellent location a stone's throw from Plaza Catalunya
  • Business center on the premises
Rooms

Simple but comfortable rooms at Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona come with the full spectrum of amenities for a hotel of its category. Those include private bathrooms, central heating and air-conditioning, direct-dial telephones, satellite TVs with international channels, safety deposit boxes and mini bars. The free wireless Internet adds value to any stay at Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona.

Features

It may be low on trimmings but Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona provides all you need for your city break. The hotel's comfortable guest rooms offer free wireless Internet in addition to the expected amenities. International newspapers are available at reception, as is money exchange. Services (at extra cost) include laundry and car rental. Guests have access to an outdoor terrace, a business center, a lobby bar and a restaurant, all located onsite. The real bonus is the hotel's location in the central area around the university, a stone's throw away from Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and the Gothic Quarter. The spectacular Modernist landmarks of the elegant Eixample district sit just a short stroll away from Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona, as do many restaurants and bars.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • Closest metro stops: Universitat (on the L1 and L2 lines), Catalunya (on the L1 and L3 lines)
Attractions
  • Plaza Catalunya (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Las Ramblas (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • La Pedrera (.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Picasso Museum (.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Business
  • Two well-equipped conference rooms with capacity for 55 people
  • Free wireless and hard-wire Internet service
  • Business center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona Rooms

Triple room
Triple rooms have 1 double bed or 2 twin beds with a sofa bed. The room overlooks the street or a quiet internal patio. Mximum occupancy is 3 people.
Confort double
The room overlooks the street or a quiet internal patio.
Superior
This spacious room has large windows with lots of natural light.
Basic Run of House
This small room includes faces a quiet internal patio. This room comes with a double bed of 135 cm. Maximum occupancy is 2 adults.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.1 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.2 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.2 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.3 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.3 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 0.1 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.2 mi
  • Coliseum: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.2 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.2 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.2 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.3 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.3 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Lleó Morera: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.4 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Batlló: 0.4 mi
  • El Raval: 0.4 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 0.4 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 0.4 mi
  • Paseo de Gracia: 0.5 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.5 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.5 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.5 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.5 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.5 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.5 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.6 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.6 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.6 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.6 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.6 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.6 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.6 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
2 meeting rooms: Mallorca Meeting room 53 sqm Barcelona Meeting room 40 sqm

Dining

welcome buffet
A welcome buffet consisting of teas, coffee and pastries is available upon arrival. The hotel has a smart bar where you can get a snack or a drink. There are numerous restaurants in the surrounding streets.
Breakfast buffet
At the main restaurant we offer full breakfasts featuring healthy and dietary products to start the day on the right note.
Bar
At the lobby bar you will find snacks available all day and a tapas menu for a light lunch.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaBoo
San Diego, CA
Nov 29, 2011

Perfect Place for exploring Barca

After reading some mixed reviews, we were pleasantly surprised and absolutely thrilled with our hotel. The location couldn't have been better and the breakfast was fabulous every morning. If you wanted a more American breakfast there was cereal, yogurt, breads, muffins, bacon and eggs. if you wanted a European style breakfast with cured meats, cheese and vegetables, that was available too. We were never rushed even when we arrived late and the front desk staff were also very courteaous and efficient. They helped us buy tickets, gave us directions and printed our boarding passes. The room was spotless and the bathroom was beautiful marble. We would recommend this hotel as a great find for budget minded people who want a great base for exploring Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two doors away from the hotel is a little store. We stocked up on water and snacks there. We would eat a big breakfast at the hotel, have our big meal during Spanish "comida" time between 2-4:00 and then just snack at night. We were able to splurge on our big meal and still keep to our budget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Candy Corn
Business
Washington State
Nov 11, 2012

Horrible Sewer Smell in Plumbing

Horrible smell, was sick to stomach whenever I was in my room. Could only fit 1 piece of luggage it was so small. Charged me extra to use the safe in my own room! Every time I drank their water, my stomach ached with pain for hours. Researched on internet and learned that hotel must have bacteria in the plumbing to create the smell we had. Heard multiple guests complaining of the smell in their plumbing as well. Asked to change rooms to get away from smell, but new room had same issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
New to Spain
Business
London, UK
Feb 22, 2012

Very nice

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice too, with lots of taste of Spain (ham, sausage etc.) though on weekend it can be a bit busy and you might have to wait for the table to be avialable. Perfect location, very close to two metro stations and the main shopping street, still the hotel is on sideway so there's not much noise. I would well reccomend this hotel to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaBoo
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 29, 2011

Perfect Place for exploring Barca

After reading some mixed reviews, we were pleasantly surprised and absolutely thrilled with our hotel. The location couldn't have been better and the breakfast was fabulous every morning. If you wanted a more American breakfast there was cereal, yogurt, breads, muffins, bacon and eggs. if you wanted a European style breakfast with cured meats, cheese and vegetables, that was available too. We were never rushed even when we arrived late and the front desk staff were also very courteaous and efficient. They helped us buy tickets, gave us directions and printed our boarding passes. The room was spotless and the bathroom was beautiful marble. We would recommend this hotel as a great find for budget minded people who want a great base for exploring Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Two doors away from the hotel is a little store. We stocked up on water and snacks there. We would eat a big breakfast at the hotel, have our big meal during Spanish "comida" time between 2-4:00 and then just snack at night. We were able to splurge on our big meal and still keep to our budget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PedroG
Business
Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Oct 21, 2011

Honeymonn

Great location, friendly personal, old fashioned hotel except for the entrance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss cerveceria catalana on mallorca and balmes and champaneria on barceloneta!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
igorek9
Business
Boring cornfield in IL
Sep 8, 2011

Great location, a little bit expensive

Pros: 1. Great location - one minute from metro station and couple minutes walking to plaza Catalunia and La Rambla 2. Great selection and variety of the breakfast buffet 3. Nice customer service Cons: 1. Paper thin walls - you need earplugs at night 2. Rooms are old and worn down 3. It's a solid 3-stars hotel, but expensive , as I paid 20-30% less for a real 4-stars hotels in downtown Madrid or Sevilla

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Barcelona is a great city, don't repeat my mistake of allowing only two days for the visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SokolZ
Business
Newtown, PA
Jun 1, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

Site seeing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pattydifer[@]
Business
Gilbertsville, PA
Mar 13, 2011

Nice Little Hotel

The location was handy for the University area and La Rambla. Our room was nice with a separate sitting room/dressing area. We were faced out the back, which made it quiet even with the window open at night. The price was reasonable with the inclusion of a very nice breakfast buffet. The one thing a little disappointing was that the beds were extremely firm (read that as HARD). the staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a market area within 2-3 bloks of the hotel. We puchased cheese, bread, wine and chocolate and had a delightful picnic style late night snack in our hotel room. We could have spent hours exploring the farm stands in the market area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spokane, WA
Oct 29, 2010

Great hotel with central location.

The hotel was great with a central location to the sites we visted in Barcelona. The staff was professional and always helpful. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MR.LINGUINI
Business
CLERMONT-FLORIDA
Sep 13, 2010

AC WAS BROKEN.BAD.

THE LOCATION WAS REALLY GOOD,CLEAN BUT THEY GAVE US A TINY ROOM WITHOUT A.C. BECAUSE WAS BROKEN AND THEY DID KNOW ABOUT THE PROBLEM AND DIDNT SAY ANYTHING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

GOOD LOCATION,NEAR SHOPPING,RESTAURANT,ENTERTAINMENT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Aug 21, 2010

Fine for one night

Staff was very friendly, spoke English. Room was ready when we arrived in the morning, however it was located in another section of the hotel. Had to take two elevators to get to our room. They only held either 2 people or 4. Had to make two trips to get ourselves and luggage into the room. We had to carry our luggage up on steps also. The A/C isn't on in the hallways, but room was cool enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is fine for just one night stay. Bed is hard(had read that in other reviews). Location of our room was a nuisance to get too. Hotel is clean, staff friendly, location is great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top