Grand Hotel Central Barcelona ★★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$189
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 12, 2016
4.4 /5
Overall score
94%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Central King
  • Size: 258 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe City View
  • Size: 322 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Superior Twin Room
  • Size: 301 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Family Room
  • Size: 538 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Junior Suite - City View
  • Size: 462 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Superior King
  • Size: 290 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Superior Twin Room with Extra Bed
  • Size: 290 sqft
  • Occupancy: 3
Show Prices Central Twin Room
  • Size: 215 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

  • Picasso Museum (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Las Ramblas (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Plaza Catalunya (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (1.2 mi/2 km)

General

Next door to the cathedral at the heart of the Gothic Quarter, Grand Hotel Central has a premier location for avid sightseers. The head-to-toe redo of 1920s building resulted in a gorgeous blend of classic original details and up-to-the-minute touches. The infinity-edge swimming pool area is a prime spot for a summer dip and a leisurely lounge.  At the ground-floor Avalon Restaurant & Café, feted chef Ramon Freixa concocts creative Mediterranean fusion cuisine. The rooftop showcases two standouts: the infinity-edge pool and the Skybar, a prime spot for cocktails. Wireless Internet is free to use in the public areas of Grand Hotel Central. Massages are available in the Wellness Suite. The high-tech fitness center offers a full range of workout facilities plus free water and towels.

Location

Inside a beautifully renovated 1920s building at the heart of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter, the plush Grand Hotel Central delivers avant-garde style in its light-flooded rooms and suites. The infinity-edge rooftop pool offers panoramic city views, as does the sleek Skybar. Famed chef Ramon Freixa (who has two coveted Michelin stars in his name) heads up the excellent Avalon Restaurant & Cafe onsite. The wellness suite and fitness center complete the four-star picture.

Dining

  • Barcelona International Airport (7.9 mi/12.8 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Jaume 1 (on the L4 line)

Rooms

The air of subdued elegance pervades all 147 rooms and suites at Grand Hotel Central Barcelona. With excellent soundproofing, each of the high-ceilinged units is a sanctuary from the hectic Gothic Quarter. The large windows provide plenty of natural light and excellent views. The decor is chic and avant-garde, sporting a soft grey, brown and cream color theme. Count on a full spectrum of luxury amenities including hydro-massage showers, free non-alcoholic mini bars, 100% Egyptian cotton sheets and ergonomic bathroom slippers. High-speed Internet service is available (fees apply), as is 24-hour laundry and room service.

Property features

Next door to the cathedral at the heart of the Gothic Quarter, Grand Hotel Central has a premier location for avid sightseers. The head-to-toe redo of 1920s building resulted in a gorgeous blend of classic original details and up-to-the-minute touches. The infinity-edge swimming pool area is a prime spot for a summer dip and a leisurely lounge.  At the ground-floor Avalon Restaurant & Café, feted chef Ramon Freixa concocts creative Mediterranean fusion cuisine. The rooftop showcases two standouts: the infinity-edge pool and the Skybar, a prime spot for cocktails. Wireless Internet is free to use in the public areas of Grand Hotel Central. Massages are available in the Wellness Suite. The high-tech fitness center offers a full range of workout facilities plus free water and towels.

Highlights

  • Panoramic views from the infinity-edge rooftop pool
  • Top restaurant with renowned chef Ramon Freixa at the helm
  • Private massage room and state-of-the-art fitness center
  • Cocktails at the rooftop Skybar

Nearby attractions

Bright rooms, rooftop pool and top restaurant in the Gothic Quarter

Transportation

  • Barcelona International Airport (7.9 mi/12.8 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Jaume 1 (on the L4 line)

Dining

THE GALLERY
Our art space perfect for private events.
CITY RESTAURANT
A restaurant offering fresh, relaxed Mediterranean cooking, designed for sharing with friends. We use market produce and offer healthy options. But that doesn't mean we've given up on our best-selling selection of gourmet hamburgers! We even offer 100% vegan burgers. A place in the city centre where you can organise private events including optional DJ and a wide selection of group menus.
CITY BAR
Discover City, Grand Hotel Central's Urban Space. The bar serves the best cocktails around, the restaurant cooks up relaxed, Mediterranean food and the Gallery is full of "made in Barcelona" creativity. All this along with an elegant and sophisticated decor and the best music.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
At Grand Hotel Central, we have thought of every last detail to ensure your event is a complete success. From private dinning to business meeting for up to 70 people, our collection of four comfortable meeting rooms, all fully equipped with the latest technology, together with our spectacular rooftop terrace & infinity pool provide a discreet and exclusive venue for meetings, conferences and corporate entertaining.

Recommendations for you

Ohla Hotel Barcelona

★★★★★
Guest score 4.5 / 5
$188
Guest score 3.9 / 5
$100
Guest score 4.2 / 5
$116

Ilunion Almirante

★★★★
Guest score 3.3 / 5
$50

Vincci Gala

★★★★
Guest score 4.6 / 5
$87
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$67

Amenities

Featured

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Concierge
  • Elevators

Activities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center or spa
  • Spa
  • Solarium

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Laundry service
  • Childcare Service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Tour desk
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities

Internet

  • Free internet

Parking

  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

4.4 /5 Overall score

94% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4.4/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.7/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.6/5
  • Comfort: 4.2/5
  • Location: 4.8/5
  • Value: 4.2/5

Beautiful hotel

Would recommend Thu, Feb 4, 2016
Great location. Roof top bar/pool area is a must (even though it was too cold for us to hang out there at this time of year, the views are incredible)

| N/A Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Good 3 night weekend break

Would recommend Wed, Apr 15, 2015
Clean hotel good service. Staff very helpful and service with a smile. Good choice for easy access for visiting sites.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Very Convenient Location

Would recommend Tue, Jan 6, 2015
The hotel was conveniently located in the center of everything. My wife and were able to walk to many landmarks easily. The hotel staff was great and very accommodating, always polite and always smiling. Overall we'd recommend this hotel for those who want to experience Barcelona outside of a resort. Definitely ask to be upgraded when arriving I believe that if they can accommodate your request they'll be more than happy too. It worked for us!

Dining

Map out all of your points of interest. The staff will be able to make great travel suggestions saving you time as well and creating added value.

| ASTORIA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Spain Getaway

Would recommend Wed, Sep 3, 2014
My overall experience at this hotel was good. Very Friendly staff; they speak English, Spanish and Catalan. Rooms were a great size, shower/bath could use a full closed shower door, only has half( water would get on the bathroom floor, very easily could slip and hurt yourself). Need more US channels, spent my time watching CNN. Room service menu could use a little more items on it. WiFi at the pool did not work the entire week i was there but in my room it worked great. Love my street view, but a little noisy for the 4th floor with the cars and mopeds driving by. The infinity pool was amazing and the view was great. Location of the hotel is very central and close to a lot of tourist areas, metro one block away literally.

Dining

Bilbao Berria, Tapas restaurant by the Cathedral. Ate there like 3-4 times. Great selection of Tapas, and very friendly staff. They do get busy, be patient.

| Los Angeles Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great location and terrific rooftop bar.

Would recommend Thu, Jun 19, 2014
We had an excellent time at this hotel. The room was a little small, but the bed was very comfortable, the room was modern and clean, and the sky bar was a great place to grab a drink before heading out.

| Chicago Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great Location! Stylish!

Would recommend Thu, May 1, 2014
Loved the location and the rooftop pool. Also appreciated the food and options of restaurant and bar. The room was small but nicely equipped. We did have a problem with the shower flooding the bathroom(just bad design), but otherwise don't have complaints. We would stay here again...

| Los Angeles, CA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

XMAS getaway

Would recommend Fri, Jan 3, 2014
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The amenities were wonderful..except for the Wifi in the room which was kinda intermittent. Overall great experience

Dining

Port Vell Restaurant .. great food and warm, friendly staff 1

| Birminham , Michigan Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Grand Hotel

Would recommend Fri, Sep 21, 2012
They had a great breakfast special with lots of food. Pool is great and we could walk to anything that we wanted to see.

| Massillon, OH Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great Couples Hotel

Would recommend Tue, Sep 11, 2012
The hotel was in a great location, close to everything. It was very clean and more upscale than I thought it would be. Our only issue was the noise from the toilets flushing so they moved us up to the 7th floor and never heard it again. I loved the rooftop terrace - it's very comfortable and relaxing. Overall, I would say this hotel was a great choice and would stay there again.

Attractions

Take a sidecar tour from Brightside Side Car tour. It was worth the money and super fun!

| Austin, TX Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Nice Hotel

Would recommend Wed, May 30, 2012
We enjoyed our stay in this hotel immensely, couple of things to note however, the room we had (superior king) was facing main road 4th floor a bit noisy and decor very sparse, also the rooftop bar was extremely nice but drinks very expensive, we paid 24euros about £20 for 2 Mojito's, you will pay around 5 euros each around town!!! (you live and learn). The location of this hotel was excellent, the name says it all (Central) we were able to walk everywhere down to the coast and up to the Sagrada familiar, tip for a really nice (but slightly pricey) restaurant "7 Portes" down the bottom of Via Leitana towards the marina across main road and left under the shop arches, fantastic food and service.

Dining

7 Portes restaurant, try the lazy mans paella delicious.

| Wilmslow Cheshire Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

City Hall 0 mi
Chapel of Santa Ágata 0.1 mi
Museu Frederic Marès 0.1 mi
Palau Reial Major 0.1 mi
Temple of Augustus 0.1 mi
Barcelona Cathedral 0.1 mi
Museu Diocesà 0.1 mi
Museo de Historia de Barcelona 0.1 mi
Església de Sants Just i Pastor 0.1 mi
Casa de l’Ardiaca 0.1 mi
Picasso Museum 0.2 mi
Placa Sant Felip Neri 0.2 mi
Carrer de Montcada 0.2 mi
Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya 0.2 mi
Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí 0.2 mi
Museum of Textiles and Fashion 0.2 mi
Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona 0.2 mi
Plaça Sant Jaume 0.2 mi
Ancient synagogue 0.2 mi
Palau de la Música Catalana 0.2 mi
Casa Martí 0.2 mi
Mercat Santa Caterina 0.2 mi
Santa Maria del Mar 0.2 mi
Chocolate Museum 0.3 mi
Sant Pere 0.3 mi
Hemp Museum Gallery 0.3 mi
Santa Maria del Pi 0.3 mi
Barcelona Wax Museum 0.3 mi
Escola de la Llotja 0.3 mi
La Ribera 0.3 mi
Santa Anna Church 0.3 mi
Portal de l'Àngel 0.3 mi
Ciutat Vella 0.3 mi
Passeig del Born 0.3 mi
Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas 0.3 mi
Esglesia de Betlem 0.3 mi
La Rambla 0.4 mi
Castell dels Tres Dragons 0.4 mi
Plaça del Rei 0.4 mi
La Boqueria 0.4 mi
Teatre Poliorama 0.4 mi
Palau de la Virreina 0.4 mi
Plaça Reial 0.4 mi
Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce 0.4 mi
Ronda de Sant Pere 0.4 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$189
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 10, 2016 Check-out: Feb 12, 2016