$238 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

5 stars
View map of Via Laietana, 30, Barcelona, 08003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CA
Jul 7, 2010

amazing pool

The hotel is in an amazing location. You can walk to the gothic quarter, the beach, plaza de catalunya, el born, and anywhere else you want to go is a quick bus or metro ride away. The staff is very friendly, but they could really use more staff at high season and a separate concierge desk. If you can get a deal where breakfast is included, its fantastic! If not 22 euro is ridiculous for breakfast. They also have blackout shades, which are nice, but overall the lighting needs help (there isn't really any). My favorite part about this hotel, and the reason the price is worth it, is the pool. Not exactly a family friendly pool, but a great place to relax and have a cocktail. I'd definitely recommend it, but wouldn't exactly call it the best value, if your priority isn't a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a traditional Arabic Hammam that was restored over an old bath. Its in Born, called the Air de Barcelona. They have 10pm and 12am times and it is an amazing and pretty affordable experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MD
Jan 4, 2011

Good location

Pretty close to Ramala and right across the Cathedral.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 20, 2010

Great hotel

Really nice linens on the bed, thick towels, large bathroom, very comfortable. Very helpful and friendly staff, we had a small problem with the key to our room and it was fixed immediately. Fantastic rooftop bar with a small pool makes a nice afternoon siesta. Everything was very clean and housekeeping impeccable. Staff also helped us make reservations as our Spanish/Catalan not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best tapas places nearby are Taller de Tapas and Cal Pep. They eat dinner late, expect most places to open about 8 at the earliest. Ate breakfast at the hotel only once, pretty expensive but very nice buffet. Skip the coffee in Europe, just get espresso or cappuccino, much better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kuta Beach
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 22, 2010

A definate jewel in Barcelona

We came in the day before a cruise and to our surprise our room was ready at 9 AM. The rooms are modern and very clean. The desk managemnet was very helpful with advice for things to see and where to eat. We had breakfast buffet included in our package [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to the 7 Portals Restaurant a few blocks from the marina. It is an old established place and has excellent paella. Great wine selection and friendly waitors. Not touristy like the restarants at the marina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 9, 2010

Modern hotel in perfect location

We had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel Central. The location is perfect for strolling through El Born or the Gothic area. The style is elegant and modern, maybe even a little much for me (I prefer real bathroom doors that actually close, instead of semi-transparent panes of glass). The staff was extremely helpful, locating towels, reservations, and such. The rooftop pool is amazing with great views of the city. We definitely enjoyed a few rounds of Cava up there. Perfect for an afternoon siesta. Breakfasts were included, and quite good in the Avalon restaurant downstairs. There is a free mini-bar in the room that included bottled water, soda, and a chocolate bar. Overall, it's a on the pricey side, but we found it worth it for our stay in Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the marketplace nearby, or at least wander through. It was incredible. The seafood counters are incredible if you get there early enough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Aug 19, 2010

the Grand Hotel

We stayed in Barcelona for two days. This was a very nice hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Even though it wasn't on La Rambla, it was still quite noisy at night. The breakfast was very good, and the room was very clean. The only strange thing was that we couldn't get a queen bed, we were given two twins put together, which was a little inconvenient. Overall, this was a very nice hotel, and we would recommend it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Geneva
May 23, 2011

Not bad but...

+ Very quiet Very good location Very good bed sheets - Small rooms No view Overrated roof terrasse

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stawl along the streets of Bario Gotico - beautiful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawks Fan
Business
Chicago
Jun 19, 2014

Great location and terrific rooftop bar.

We had an excellent time at this hotel. The room was a little small, but the bed was very comfortable, the room was modern and clean, and the sky bar was a great place to grab a drink before heading out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HANK M.
Business
ASTORIA
Jan 6, 2015

Very Convenient Location

The hotel was conveniently located in the center of everything. My wife and were able to walk to many landmarks easily. The hotel staff was great and very accommodating, always polite and always smiling. Overall we'd recommend this hotel for those who want to experience Barcelona outside of a resort. Definitely ask to be upgraded when arriving I believe that if they can accommodate your request they'll be more than happy too. It worked for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Map out all of your points of interest. The staff will be able to make great travel suggestions saving you time as well and creating added value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
William M.
Business
N/A
Apr 15, 2015

Good 3 night weekend break

Clean hotel good service. Staff very helpful and service with a smile. Good choice for easy access for visiting sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top