$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

5 stars
View map of Via Laietana, 30, Barcelona, 08003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kuta Beach
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 22, 2010

A definate jewel in Barcelona

We came in the day before a cruise and to our surprise our room was ready at 9 AM. The rooms are modern and very clean. The desk managemnet was very helpful with advice for things to see and where to eat. We had breakfast buffet included in our package [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to the 7 Portals Restaurant a few blocks from the marina. It is an old established place and has excellent paella. Great wine selection and friendly waitors. Not touristy like the restarants at the marina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 9, 2010

Modern hotel in perfect location

We had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel Central. The location is perfect for strolling through El Born or the Gothic area. The style is elegant and modern, maybe even a little much for me (I prefer real bathroom doors that actually close, instead of semi-transparent panes of glass). The staff was extremely helpful, locating towels, reservations, and such. The rooftop pool is amazing with great views of the city. We definitely enjoyed a few rounds of Cava up there. Perfect for an afternoon siesta. Breakfasts were included, and quite good in the Avalon restaurant downstairs. There is a free mini-bar in the room that included bottled water, soda, and a chocolate bar. Overall, it's a on the pricey side, but we found it worth it for our stay in Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the marketplace nearby, or at least wander through. It was incredible. The seafood counters are incredible if you get there early enough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Aug 19, 2010

the Grand Hotel

We stayed in Barcelona for two days. This was a very nice hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Even though it wasn't on La Rambla, it was still quite noisy at night. The breakfast was very good, and the room was very clean. The only strange thing was that we couldn't get a queen bed, we were given two twins put together, which was a little inconvenient. Overall, this was a very nice hotel, and we would recommend it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Geneva
May 23, 2011

Not bad but...

+ Very quiet Very good location Very good bed sheets - Small rooms No view Overrated roof terrasse

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stawl along the streets of Bario Gotico - beautiful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawks Fan
Business
Chicago
Jun 19, 2014

Great location and terrific rooftop bar.

We had an excellent time at this hotel. The room was a little small, but the bed was very comfortable, the room was modern and clean, and the sky bar was a great place to grab a drink before heading out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HANK M.
Business
ASTORIA
Jan 6, 2015

Very Convenient Location

The hotel was conveniently located in the center of everything. My wife and were able to walk to many landmarks easily. The hotel staff was great and very accommodating, always polite and always smiling. Overall we'd recommend this hotel for those who want to experience Barcelona outside of a resort. Definitely ask to be upgraded when arriving I believe that if they can accommodate your request they'll be more than happy too. It worked for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Map out all of your points of interest. The staff will be able to make great travel suggestions saving you time as well and creating added value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeannie
Business
Javea, Spain
Feb 27, 2011

Lovely hotel BUT TOO HOT!!!

The hotel was really nice, superb rooftop deck with pool; room was spacious and with most things one could need; perfectly placed for walking nearly everywhere; bus stop just up the road etc. BUT, the room was a sauna and windows didn't open. This is the only reason we would never use this hotel again. We stayed 3 nights and slept all 3 on top of the bed, so the sheets were never used. The control panel didn't work and the fan only blew out really hot air, so we switched the whole thing off and, 3 days later, the heat still hit you in the face when you opened the door to the room. Such a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally across the road is a wonderful little cafe called 'Gloria' where the coffee is wonderful and the food tasty and really cheap, and the waiters all helpful. It opens at 6 in the morning till late at night, just perfect for when you get up and need that first hit of caffeine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr CPA
Business
Keller, TX
Aug 11, 2010

Very Trendy

Hotel had a very contermporary feel. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Part of the reason we booked this hotel was for the infinity pool on the roof however, the couple of times we went up there it was too crowded to enjoy. The hotel was very noisy. Breakfast was impressive with fresh juices and a large selection. Not a bad experience, but not what we were expecting for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is only a short walk to the metro station that takes you to the beaches (but beware that clothing is very optional on all of the beaches we visited).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marco Island, Florida
Feb 13, 2010

Great location, small dark room

Great location and helpful staff who speak English well. The hotel is an old building which has been nicely renovated in a very modern and attractive style. However, the room was VERY small and the designer could have used some help on lighting. There were few lights and it was difficult to read anything. The room rate was not at all expensive. However, parking was €28 per day (about $42), breakfast was €21 (about $30) and internet access was €14 per day (about $20). We thought the cost of the extras was unreasonable and ruined a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fodor got it right when they recommended Taller de Tapas as a great tapas bar. Great dishes and good port.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy in Barcelona
Business
New York, New York
Mar 25, 2011

Not recommend

This was one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had, and I would most definitely not recommend staying here, particularly for business. The room was very small, noisy, and more surprising without heat. The hotel staff, promptly responded by bringing us a portable heater fan, which was incredibly noisy. I didn't sleep. The staff was pretentious. Not to mention a 21 euro breakfast didn't even include hot food. In addition, internet access is not free as advertised, and there was no wireless available. The only good thing about this hotel is the pool on the roof, which is what the hotel is noted for. So maybe for swimming it is great, but for anything else, look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Design Hub

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top