$214 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

5 stars
View map of Via Laietana, 30, Barcelona, 08003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeannie
Couples
Javea, Spain
Feb 27, 2011

Lovely hotel BUT TOO HOT!!!

The hotel was really nice, superb rooftop deck with pool; room was spacious and with most things one could need; perfectly placed for walking nearly everywhere; bus stop just up the road etc. BUT, the room was a sauna and windows didn't open. This is the only reason we would never use this hotel again. We stayed 3 nights and slept all 3 on top of the bed, so the sheets were never used. The control panel didn't work and the fan only blew out really hot air, so we switched the whole thing off and, 3 days later, the heat still hit you in the face when you opened the door to the room. Such a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally across the road is a wonderful little cafe called 'Gloria' where the coffee is wonderful and the food tasty and really cheap, and the waiters all helpful. It opens at 6 in the morning till late at night, just perfect for when you get up and need that first hit of caffeine.

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeannie
Couples
Javea, Spain
Feb 27, 2011

Lovely hotel BUT TOO HOT!!!

The hotel was really nice, superb rooftop deck with pool; room was spacious and with most things one could need; perfectly placed for walking nearly everywhere; bus stop just up the road etc. BUT, the room was a sauna and windows didn't open. This is the only reason we would never use this hotel again. We stayed 3 nights and slept all 3 on top of the bed, so the sheets were never used. The control panel didn't work and the fan only blew out really hot air, so we switched the whole thing off and, 3 days later, the heat still hit you in the face when you opened the door to the room. Such a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally across the road is a wonderful little cafe called 'Gloria' where the coffee is wonderful and the food tasty and really cheap, and the waiters all helpful. It opens at 6 in the morning till late at night, just perfect for when you get up and need that first hit of caffeine.

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
MD
Jan 4, 2011

Good location

Pretty close to Ramala and right across the Cathedral.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S and B
Couples
Iowa USA
Dec 10, 2010

Wonderful Hotel, great location!

We loved everything about this hotel...we would stay here again in a second!!!! This hotel is in the perfect location...close to the metro, we walked everywhere though!! The hotel's breakfast is wonderful and one would not even need to have lunch after enjoying this meal. Our room was very clean and quite large. The staff was very friendly and most helpful!! We stayed for 6 nights and loved every minute of it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
ireland
Nov 8, 2010

Quality hotel in ideal area

Great hotel with very smart rooms although they could be a little bigger. Staff were super friendly. Location hard to beat would recommend and stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
ireland
Nov 8, 2010

Quality hotel in ideal area

Great hotel with very smart rooms although they could be a little bigger. Staff were super friendly. Location hard to beat would recommend and stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kuta Beach
Couples
Houston, Texas
Sep 22, 2010

A definate jewel in Barcelona

We came in the day before a cruise and to our surprise our room was ready at 9 AM. The rooms are modern and very clean. The desk managemnet was very helpful with advice for things to see and where to eat. We had breakfast buffet included in our package [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to the 7 Portals Restaurant a few blocks from the marina. It is an old established place and has excellent paella. Great wine selection and friendly waitors. Not touristy like the restarants at the marina.

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Sep 20, 2010

Great hotel

Really nice linens on the bed, thick towels, large bathroom, very comfortable. Very helpful and friendly staff, we had a small problem with the key to our room and it was fixed immediately. Fantastic rooftop bar with a small pool makes a nice afternoon siesta. Everything was very clean and housekeeping impeccable. Staff also helped us make reservations as our Spanish/Catalan not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best tapas places nearby are Taller de Tapas and Cal Pep. They eat dinner late, expect most places to open about 8 at the earliest. Ate breakfast at the hotel only once, pretty expensive but very nice buffet. Skip the coffee in Europe, just get espresso or cappuccino, much better.

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MReaves
Couples
Oviedo, FL
Sep 6, 2010

Great place to stay

The hotel location was ideal for shopping, sightseeing and dining. We were able to walk to most everything right from the hotel front door, the hotel staff was responsive and polite (they gave us an excellent restaurant suggestion), the rooms are super neat and clean (I'm very picky that way), the beds are actually comfortable and the breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant, Avalon Cafe, provided a really delicious buffet with a great spread of hot and cold breakfast items, including cappuccino! Despite it's central location in the city, our room on the 3rd floor was quiet. I would definitely stay there again during our next trip to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Maryland
Aug 19, 2010

the Grand Hotel

We stayed in Barcelona for two days. This was a very nice hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Even though it wasn't on La Rambla, it was still quite noisy at night. The breakfast was very good, and the room was very clean. The only strange thing was that we couldn't get a queen bed, we were given two twins put together, which was a little inconvenient. Overall, this was a very nice hotel, and we would recommend it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top