$236 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

5 stars
View map of Via Laietana, 30, Barcelona, 08003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kuta Beach
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 22, 2010

A definate jewel in Barcelona

We came in the day before a cruise and to our surprise our room was ready at 9 AM. The rooms are modern and very clean. The desk managemnet was very helpful with advice for things to see and where to eat. We had breakfast buffet included in our package [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to the 7 Portals Restaurant a few blocks from the marina. It is an old established place and has excellent paella. Great wine selection and friendly waitors. Not touristy like the restarants at the marina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 9, 2010

Modern hotel in perfect location

We had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel Central. The location is perfect for strolling through El Born or the Gothic area. The style is elegant and modern, maybe even a little much for me (I prefer real bathroom doors that actually close, instead of semi-transparent panes of glass). The staff was extremely helpful, locating towels, reservations, and such. The rooftop pool is amazing with great views of the city. We definitely enjoyed a few rounds of Cava up there. Perfect for an afternoon siesta. Breakfasts were included, and quite good in the Avalon restaurant downstairs. There is a free mini-bar in the room that included bottled water, soda, and a chocolate bar. Overall, it's a on the pricey side, but we found it worth it for our stay in Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the marketplace nearby, or at least wander through. It was incredible. The seafood counters are incredible if you get there early enough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Aug 19, 2010

the Grand Hotel

We stayed in Barcelona for two days. This was a very nice hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Even though it wasn't on La Rambla, it was still quite noisy at night. The breakfast was very good, and the room was very clean. The only strange thing was that we couldn't get a queen bed, we were given two twins put together, which was a little inconvenient. Overall, this was a very nice hotel, and we would recommend it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Geneva
May 23, 2011

Not bad but...

+ Very quiet Very good location Very good bed sheets - Small rooms No view Overrated roof terrasse

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stawl along the streets of Bario Gotico - beautiful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hawks Fan
Business
Chicago
Jun 19, 2014

Great location and terrific rooftop bar.

We had an excellent time at this hotel. The room was a little small, but the bed was very comfortable, the room was modern and clean, and the sky bar was a great place to grab a drink before heading out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HANK M.
Business
ASTORIA
Jan 6, 2015

Very Convenient Location

The hotel was conveniently located in the center of everything. My wife and were able to walk to many landmarks easily. The hotel staff was great and very accommodating, always polite and always smiling. Overall we'd recommend this hotel for those who want to experience Barcelona outside of a resort. Definitely ask to be upgraded when arriving I believe that if they can accommodate your request they'll be more than happy too. It worked for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Map out all of your points of interest. The staff will be able to make great travel suggestions saving you time as well and creating added value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
William M.
Business
N/A
Apr 15, 2015

Good 3 night weekend break

Clean hotel good service. Staff very helpful and service with a smile. Good choice for easy access for visiting sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ireland
Nov 8, 2010

Quality hotel in ideal area

Great hotel with very smart rooms although they could be a little bigger. Staff were super friendly. Location hard to beat would recommend and stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrsP
Business
London
Apr 19, 2011

Dark, but lovely

The hotel was centrally located within easy walking distance of the gothic quater, Born, Las Ramblas (horrible) and the lovely harbour and beach. The staff were really helpful. We had a loft room with extra bed. It had a big walk in shower with extra bath/shower next door. Huge main bed, plenty of storage. The mini bar is stocked with water, orange juice, coke and cava and is refilled each day free of charge! We also got 3 yummy mini muffins each day aswell - a lovely touch. The rooftop pool area is really cool with plenty of sunbeds - the pool itself was freezing but refreshing! The interior of the hotel is really dark - a bit strange but not a problem. Breakfast is pricey but buffet so you can fill up for the day. All in all a really good base for exploring lovely Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The bus from the airport to the hotel was 5 euros each and drops you about a 10 min easy walk from the hotel - taxi is about 33 euros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeannie
Business
Javea, Spain
Feb 27, 2011

Lovely hotel BUT TOO HOT!!!

The hotel was really nice, superb rooftop deck with pool; room was spacious and with most things one could need; perfectly placed for walking nearly everywhere; bus stop just up the road etc. BUT, the room was a sauna and windows didn't open. This is the only reason we would never use this hotel again. We stayed 3 nights and slept all 3 on top of the bed, so the sheets were never used. The control panel didn't work and the fan only blew out really hot air, so we switched the whole thing off and, 3 days later, the heat still hit you in the face when you opened the door to the room. Such a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally across the road is a wonderful little cafe called 'Gloria' where the coffee is wonderful and the food tasty and really cheap, and the waiters all helpful. It opens at 6 in the morning till late at night, just perfect for when you get up and need that first hit of caffeine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top