$236 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

5 stars
View map of Via Laietana, 30, Barcelona, 08003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna JG
Massillon, OH
Sep 21, 2012

Grand Hotel

They had a great breakfast special with lots of food. Pool is great and we could walk to anything that we wanted to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr CPA
Business
Keller, TX
Aug 11, 2010

Very Trendy

Hotel had a very contermporary feel. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Part of the reason we booked this hotel was for the infinity pool on the roof however, the couple of times we went up there it was too crowded to enjoy. The hotel was very noisy. Breakfast was impressive with fresh juices and a large selection. Not a bad experience, but not what we were expecting for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is only a short walk to the metro station that takes you to the beaches (but beware that clothing is very optional on all of the beaches we visited).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 1, 2010

Great location in Barcelona

Nice modern hotel in great location. Right across from the Cathedral Plaza. Fantastic rooftop pool at night. Really nice breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Catalina
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 13, 2010

Wonderful staff, location, hotel!

I have traveled a lot, and this was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. The staff could not have been nicer and more attentive, they were very multi-lingual--I saw one desk person switch from english to spanish to french without missing a beat. They honestly made me feel welcome, and that they were happy to see me in their establishment. And if you are a design lover this is the hotel for you! The combined beauty and functionality of the design was spectacular. It had a real "Barcelona" feel, as Barcelona is such a design forward city. And the staff seemed to be sincerely proud of it. The rooftop pool was a great place to hang out on hot afternoons, have a cool drink, and look out over the city. The only problem was that once I was at the pool, I didn't want to leave. The hotel is very centrally located to the Bari Gotic and the Born neighborhoods, so it was easy to find my way around and then come back for a break. I hardly used my metro card as almost everything was within a 10 to 15 minute walk. When I did use the metro, it was easy, since there are two stations a very short distance from the hotel. Since this was my first time in Barcelona, it was a great home base. I also had a massage with Carolina while I was there, the spa was a lovely little room and the massage was great, I was feeling exhausted mid-week, and it was a great rejuvenator. I highly recommend it. Overall I can not recommend the hotel enough, and I intend to stay there when I return. It may be a bit pricey for some travelers, I am often a budget minded traveler myself. If you are wondering if it is worth it--it really is!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 9, 2010

Modern hotel in perfect location

We had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel Central. The location is perfect for strolling through El Born or the Gothic area. The style is elegant and modern, maybe even a little much for me (I prefer real bathroom doors that actually close, instead of semi-transparent panes of glass). The staff was extremely helpful, locating towels, reservations, and such. The rooftop pool is amazing with great views of the city. We definitely enjoyed a few rounds of Cava up there. Perfect for an afternoon siesta. Breakfasts were included, and quite good in the Avalon restaurant downstairs. There is a free mini-bar in the room that included bottled water, soda, and a chocolate bar. Overall, it's a on the pricey side, but we found it worth it for our stay in Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the marketplace nearby, or at least wander through. It was incredible. The seafood counters are incredible if you get there early enough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CA
Jul 7, 2010

amazing pool

The hotel is in an amazing location. You can walk to the gothic quarter, the beach, plaza de catalunya, el born, and anywhere else you want to go is a quick bus or metro ride away. The staff is very friendly, but they could really use more staff at high season and a separate concierge desk. If you can get a deal where breakfast is included, its fantastic! If not 22 euro is ridiculous for breakfast. They also have blackout shades, which are nice, but overall the lighting needs help (there isn't really any). My favorite part about this hotel, and the reason the price is worth it, is the pool. Not exactly a family friendly pool, but a great place to relax and have a cocktail. I'd definitely recommend it, but wouldn't exactly call it the best value, if your priority isn't a pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a traditional Arabic Hammam that was restored over an old bath. Its in Born, called the Air de Barcelona. They have 10pm and 12am times and it is an amazing and pretty affordable experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 17, 2010

Wonderful hotel

I really liked the hotel experience. The room was sleek and had top class amenities. The location was second to none. I highly recommend to all first time visitors to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a week subway pass. It will save you money and time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stamford, CT
Mar 12, 2010

Great hotel. Great location

This was one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at in Europe and it was a pleasure to stay there 6 nights in mid-March. The hotel is very modern inside (blacks, greys, mood lighting etc) and was kept spotless. The hotel staff was super helpful and fluent in English. The rooms were good sized and had nice lighting, hardwood floors and very comfortable beds. The room also had blackout shades that really worked so we slept in later than we thought several mornings. The bathrooms had a nice shower/tub and very good water pressure as well as lots of hot water.The hotel re-stocked free water and a few beverages in a mini-fridge daily and a comfy robe and flip flops for relaxing in the room or heading up to the pool (in nice weather). It also had a great gym and a beautiful rooftop Infiniti pool, although it was too cool to swim when we were there. One of the nicest things about the hotel was, as it's name suggests, was its central location. It was just a short walk to restaurants and many sites and, for those farther away, the metro stop was just a few steps outside the hotel. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to other travelers in a heartbeat and, if I get back to Barcelona, it will be nice to return to the Grand Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss going up to the site of the '92 Olympics up on Mont Juic. You can take the Metro or the cable car up there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marco Island, Florida
Feb 13, 2010

Great location, small dark room

Great location and helpful staff who speak English well. The hotel is an old building which has been nicely renovated in a very modern and attractive style. However, the room was VERY small and the designer could have used some help on lighting. There were few lights and it was difficult to read anything. The room rate was not at all expensive. However, parking was €28 per day (about $42), breakfast was €21 (about $30) and internet access was €14 per day (about $20). We thought the cost of the extras was unreasonable and ruined a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fodor got it right when they recommended Taller de Tapas as a great tapas bar. Great dishes and good port.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Orr & Nancy
Business
Miami, FL
Jan 3, 2010

Awesome time in Barcelona, Spain

The Grand Hotel Central Barcelona is an upscale hotel with all up-to-date state-of-the-art amenities in an older building with a lot of charm and character. It is right across the old Barcelona wall from the Roman times and the location couldnt be better. Very close to the major old sections of the city: Gothic and Born. Easy walk to La Rambla. The staff is simply terrific. Multi-lingual and very efficient and knowledgeable. If there is one thing we would have liked is better lighting in the room. The behind-the mirrors' lighting strip was inoperative; but overall a superb place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All dining in the old section of Barcelona is simply very good; however, we found some great ones in the Born and Gothic sectors. The very best lunch is at Viena on La rambla. Simply the best Iberico Ham sandwich ever had. And the servers at the counter are fun and efficient

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lonely Wolf
Business
Athens, GA
Dec 31, 2009

Great location

First impression was great. I was able to check in at 10 am just after arriving in the city. Location is convenient for almost everything. Complementary mini bar keeps the day refreshed and charged. Last but not least the restaurant downstairs, 'Avalon' is awesome. They served the best meal I had during the entire trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Jaume 1 station is right across the street, making it easy to use public transportation for long distance travels and the hotel is close to Catalunya, the city center. Also, if anyone plans on going to the Picasso Museum or anywhere near Barcelonetta, it is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top