$240 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

5 stars
View map of Via Laietana, 30, Barcelona, 08003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MD
Jan 4, 2011

Good location

Pretty close to Ramala and right across the Cathedral.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S and B
Business
Iowa USA
Dec 10, 2010

Wonderful Hotel, great location!

We loved everything about this hotel...we would stay here again in a second!!!! This hotel is in the perfect location...close to the metro, we walked everywhere though!! The hotel's breakfast is wonderful and one would not even need to have lunch after enjoying this meal. Our room was very clean and quite large. The staff was very friendly and most helpful!! We stayed for 6 nights and loved every minute of it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ireland
Nov 8, 2010

Quality hotel in ideal area

Great hotel with very smart rooms although they could be a little bigger. Staff were super friendly. Location hard to beat would recommend and stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kuta Beach
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 22, 2010

A definate jewel in Barcelona

We came in the day before a cruise and to our surprise our room was ready at 9 AM. The rooms are modern and very clean. The desk managemnet was very helpful with advice for things to see and where to eat. We had breakfast buffet included in our package [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to the 7 Portals Restaurant a few blocks from the marina. It is an old established place and has excellent paella. Great wine selection and friendly waitors. Not touristy like the restarants at the marina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 20, 2010

Great hotel

Really nice linens on the bed, thick towels, large bathroom, very comfortable. Very helpful and friendly staff, we had a small problem with the key to our room and it was fixed immediately. Fantastic rooftop bar with a small pool makes a nice afternoon siesta. Everything was very clean and housekeeping impeccable. Staff also helped us make reservations as our Spanish/Catalan not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best tapas places nearby are Taller de Tapas and Cal Pep. They eat dinner late, expect most places to open about 8 at the earliest. Ate breakfast at the hotel only once, pretty expensive but very nice buffet. Skip the coffee in Europe, just get espresso or cappuccino, much better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MReaves
Business
Oviedo, FL
Sep 6, 2010

Great place to stay

The hotel location was ideal for shopping, sightseeing and dining. We were able to walk to most everything right from the hotel front door, the hotel staff was responsive and polite (they gave us an excellent restaurant suggestion), the rooms are super neat and clean (I'm very picky that way), the beds are actually comfortable and the breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant, Avalon Cafe, provided a really delicious buffet with a great spread of hot and cold breakfast items, including cappuccino! Despite it's central location in the city, our room on the 3rd floor was quiet. I would definitely stay there again during our next trip to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Aug 19, 2010

the Grand Hotel

We stayed in Barcelona for two days. This was a very nice hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Even though it wasn't on La Rambla, it was still quite noisy at night. The breakfast was very good, and the room was very clean. The only strange thing was that we couldn't get a queen bed, we were given two twins put together, which was a little inconvenient. Overall, this was a very nice hotel, and we would recommend it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr CPA
Business
Keller, TX
Aug 11, 2010

Very Trendy

Hotel had a very contermporary feel. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Part of the reason we booked this hotel was for the infinity pool on the roof however, the couple of times we went up there it was too crowded to enjoy. The hotel was very noisy. Breakfast was impressive with fresh juices and a large selection. Not a bad experience, but not what we were expecting for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is only a short walk to the metro station that takes you to the beaches (but beware that clothing is very optional on all of the beaches we visited).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 1, 2010

Great location in Barcelona

Nice modern hotel in great location. Right across from the Cathedral Plaza. Fantastic rooftop pool at night. Really nice breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Catalina
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 13, 2010

Wonderful staff, location, hotel!

I have traveled a lot, and this was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. The staff could not have been nicer and more attentive, they were very multi-lingual--I saw one desk person switch from english to spanish to french without missing a beat. They honestly made me feel welcome, and that they were happy to see me in their establishment. And if you are a design lover this is the hotel for you! The combined beauty and functionality of the design was spectacular. It had a real "Barcelona" feel, as Barcelona is such a design forward city. And the staff seemed to be sincerely proud of it. The rooftop pool was a great place to hang out on hot afternoons, have a cool drink, and look out over the city. The only problem was that once I was at the pool, I didn't want to leave. The hotel is very centrally located to the Bari Gotic and the Born neighborhoods, so it was easy to find my way around and then come back for a break. I hardly used my metro card as almost everything was within a 10 to 15 minute walk. When I did use the metro, it was easy, since there are two stations a very short distance from the hotel. Since this was my first time in Barcelona, it was a great home base. I also had a massage with Carolina while I was there, the spa was a lovely little room and the massage was great, I was feeling exhausted mid-week, and it was a great rejuvenator. I highly recommend it. Overall I can not recommend the hotel enough, and I intend to stay there when I return. It may be a bit pricey for some travelers, I am often a budget minded traveler myself. If you are wondering if it is worth it--it really is!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top