$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 13, 2015 Check-out: Feb 16, 2015

Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

5 stars
Via Laietana, 30, Barcelona, 08003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
40 reviews
Spain Getaway

My overall experience at this hotel was good. Very Friendly staff; they speak English, Spanish and... See full review

  • lostangels01
  • Sep 3, 2014
XMAS getaway

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The amenities were wonderful..except for the... See full review

  • IESR
  • Jan 3, 2014
A classy throwback to the roaring 1920s with style and perks aplenty

Inside a beautifully renovated 1920s building at the heart of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter, the plush Grand Hotel Central delivers avant-garde style in its light-flooded rooms and suites. The infinity-edge rooftop pool offers panoramic city views, as does the sleek Skybar. Famed chef Ramon Freixa (who has two coveted Michelin stars in his name) heads up the excellent Avalon Restaurant & Cafe onsite. The wellness suite and fitness center complete the four-star picture.

Highlights
  • Panoramic views from the infinity-edge rooftop pool
  • Top restaurant with renowned chef Ramon Freixa at the helm
  • Private massage room and state-of-the-art fitness center
  • Cocktails at the rooftop Skybar
Rooms

The air of subdued elegance pervades all 147 rooms and suites at Grand Hotel Central Barcelona. With excellent soundproofing, each of the high-ceilinged units is a sanctuary from the hectic Gothic Quarter. The large windows provide plenty of natural light and excellent views. The decor is chic and avant-garde, sporting a soft grey, brown and cream color theme. Count on a full spectrum of luxury amenities including hydro-massage showers, free non-alcoholic mini bars, 100% Egyptian cotton sheets and ergonomic bathroom slippers. High-speed Internet service is available (fees apply), as is 24-hour laundry and room service.

Features

Next door to the cathedral at the heart of the Gothic Quarter, Grand Hotel Central has a premier location for avid sightseers. The head-to-toe redo of 1920s building resulted in a gorgeous blend of classic original details and up-to-the-minute touches. The infinity-edge swimming pool area is a prime spot for a summer dip and a leisurely lounge.  At the ground-floor Avalon Restaurant & Café, feted chef Ramon Freixa concocts creative Mediterranean fusion cuisine. The rooftop showcases two standouts: the infinity-edge pool and the Skybar, a prime spot for cocktails. Wireless Internet is free to use in the public areas of Grand Hotel Central. Massages are available in the Wellness Suite. The high-tech fitness center offers a full range of workout facilities plus free water and towels.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.9 mi/12.8 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Jaume 1 (on the L4 line)
Attractions
  • Picasso Museum (.1 mi/.2 km)
  • Las Ramblas (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Plaza Catalunya (.4 mi/.6 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (1.2 mi/2 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Central Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Grand Hotel Central Barcelona Rooms

Junior Suite
From 38 sqm, Views to ancient wall, Free access to the Thermal Suite, 45 circuit (under request), Welcome gift and late check out (depending on availability, please ask reception), Fully equipped Nespresso coffee machine (with capsuls) and daily ice supply, Complimentary tea and infusions set.King size bed (2 x 2 mts), Large bathroom with independent bathtub and walk-in shower, Loewe TV from 40 with more than 100 international TV channels, Media Hub (to plug all your devices to the high quality image & sound TV set), Free broadband WIFI.
Central Twin
From 24 sqm, Two beds 2 x 1 mts, Complimentary tea and infusions set, Fully equipped minibar, Free broadband WIFI, Free shoe cleaning service, Toiletries by Gilchrist & Soames, Loewe TV from 32 with more than 100 international TV channels, Media Hub (to plug all your devices to the high quality image & sound TV set.
Central Double
From 24 sqm,King Size bed (2 x 2 mts), Complimentary tea and infusions set, Fully equipped minibar, Free broadband WIFI, Free shoe cleaning service, Toiletries by Gilchrist & Soames, Loewe TV from 32 with more than 100 international TV channels, Media Hub (to plug all your devices to the high quality image & sound TV set.
Superior Twin
From 28 sqm, Two beds (2 x 1 mts), Fully equipped Nespresso coffee machine (with capsuls), Complimentary tea and infusions set. Loewe TV from 32 with more than 100 international TV channels, Media Hub (to plug all your devices to the high quality image & sound TV set), Free broadband WIFI, 4 pillows and 100% Egyptian cotton sheets.
Superior Double
From 28 sqm, King size bed (2 x 2 mts), Fully equipped Nespresso coffee machine (with capsuls), Complimentary tea and infusions set. Loewe TV from 32 with more than 100 international TV channels, Media Hub (to plug all your devices to the high quality image & sound TV set), Free broadband WIFI, 4 pillows and 100% Egyptian cotton sheets.
Deluxe City View
From 30m2, Views to ancient wall, Late check out (depending on availability, please ask reception), King size bed (2 x 2 mts), Fully equipped Nespresso coffee machine (with capsuls), Complimentary tea and infusions set. Loewe TV from 32 with more than 100 international TV channels, Media Hub (to plug all your devices to the high quality image & sound TV set), Free broadband WIFI.
Triple Room
From 28 sqm, Three beds, Fully equipped Nespresso coffee machine (with capsuls), Complimentary tea and infusions set. Loewe TV from 32 with more than 100 international TV channels, Media Hub (to plug all your devices to the high quality image & sound TV set), Free broadband WIFI, 4 pillows and 100% Egyptian cotton sheets.
Family Room
Private space is, without doubt, one of the trends of modern luxury in city hotels. Our Master Suite offers a glamorous proposal of amenities and service with two separate spaces that allow our privileged guests to have their own private lounge with comfortable sofas separated from the bedroom. Its also the perfect room to enjoy the city as a family with its two separate areas where you can accommodate your children

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.1 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.1 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.1 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.1 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.1 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.1 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.1 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.1 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.1 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.1 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Textiles and Fashion: 0.2 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.2 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.2 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.2 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.2 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Mar: 0.2 mi
  • Chocolate Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Sant Pere: 0.3 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.3 mi
  • La Ribera: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.3 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.3 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.3 mi
  • Passeig del Born: 0.3 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 0.3 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.3 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.4 mi
  • Castell dels Tres Dragons: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.4 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.4 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.4 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.4 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.4 mi

Dining

THE GALLERY
Our art space perfect for private events.
AVALON
AVALON Restaurant is managed by the prestigious chef Ramon Freixa, selected as the best chef in the country a few years ago and internationally recognised for his imagination and talent. Breakfast or dinner become an opportunity to enjoy fresh, Mediterranean dishes with just the right measure of fun and imagination. All of this in a warm and modern space that simply invites you to enjoy a dining experience using your 5 senses any time of day. As Ramn Freixa says "I have been wanting to mix the best of our cuisine with flavours, techniques and products from other lands for a long time. This is how AVALON came about".
CITY BAR
The stylish the City Bar offering all day dining including salads, sandwiches and a wide cocktail menu surrounded by good music in a relaxing atmosphere.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
At Grand Hotel Central, we have thought of every last detail to ensure your event is a complete success. From private dinning to business meeting for up to 70 people, our collection of four comfortable meeting rooms, all fully equipped with the latest technology, together with our spectacular rooftop terrace & infinity pool provide a discreet and exclusive venue for meetings, conferences and corporate entertaining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.9
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S and B
Business
Iowa USA
Dec 10, 2010

Wonderful Hotel, great location!

We loved everything about this hotel...we would stay here again in a second!!!! This hotel is in the perfect location...close to the metro, we walked everywhere though!! The hotel's breakfast is wonderful and one would not even need to have lunch after enjoying this meal. Our room was very clean and quite large. The staff was very friendly and most helpful!! We stayed for 6 nights and loved every minute of it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ireland
Nov 8, 2010

Quality hotel in ideal area

Great hotel with very smart rooms although they could be a little bigger. Staff were super friendly. Location hard to beat would recommend and stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kuta Beach
Business
Houston, Texas
Sep 22, 2010

A definate jewel in Barcelona

We came in the day before a cruise and to our surprise our room was ready at 9 AM. The rooms are modern and very clean. The desk managemnet was very helpful with advice for things to see and where to eat. We had breakfast buffet included in our package [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to the 7 Portals Restaurant a few blocks from the marina. It is an old established place and has excellent paella. Great wine selection and friendly waitors. Not touristy like the restarants at the marina.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 20, 2010

Great hotel

Really nice linens on the bed, thick towels, large bathroom, very comfortable. Very helpful and friendly staff, we had a small problem with the key to our room and it was fixed immediately. Fantastic rooftop bar with a small pool makes a nice afternoon siesta. Everything was very clean and housekeeping impeccable. Staff also helped us make reservations as our Spanish/Catalan not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best tapas places nearby are Taller de Tapas and Cal Pep. They eat dinner late, expect most places to open about 8 at the earliest. Ate breakfast at the hotel only once, pretty expensive but very nice buffet. Skip the coffee in Europe, just get espresso or cappuccino, much better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MReaves
Business
Oviedo, FL
Sep 6, 2010

Great place to stay

The hotel location was ideal for shopping, sightseeing and dining. We were able to walk to most everything right from the hotel front door, the hotel staff was responsive and polite (they gave us an excellent restaurant suggestion), the rooms are super neat and clean (I'm very picky that way), the beds are actually comfortable and the breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant, Avalon Cafe, provided a really delicious buffet with a great spread of hot and cold breakfast items, including cappuccino! Despite it's central location in the city, our room on the 3rd floor was quiet. I would definitely stay there again during our next trip to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Aug 19, 2010

the Grand Hotel

We stayed in Barcelona for two days. This was a very nice hotel and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Even though it wasn't on La Rambla, it was still quite noisy at night. The breakfast was very good, and the room was very clean. The only strange thing was that we couldn't get a queen bed, we were given two twins put together, which was a little inconvenient. Overall, this was a very nice hotel, and we would recommend it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr CPA
Business
Keller, TX
Aug 11, 2010

Very Trendy

Hotel had a very contermporary feel. Hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Part of the reason we booked this hotel was for the infinity pool on the roof however, the couple of times we went up there it was too crowded to enjoy. The hotel was very noisy. Breakfast was impressive with fresh juices and a large selection. Not a bad experience, but not what we were expecting for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is only a short walk to the metro station that takes you to the beaches (but beware that clothing is very optional on all of the beaches we visited).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale, AZ
Aug 1, 2010

Great location in Barcelona

Nice modern hotel in great location. Right across from the Cathedral Plaza. Fantastic rooftop pool at night. Really nice breakfast included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Catalina
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 13, 2010

Wonderful staff, location, hotel!

I have traveled a lot, and this was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. The staff could not have been nicer and more attentive, they were very multi-lingual--I saw one desk person switch from english to spanish to french without missing a beat. They honestly made me feel welcome, and that they were happy to see me in their establishment. And if you are a design lover this is the hotel for you! The combined beauty and functionality of the design was spectacular. It had a real "Barcelona" feel, as Barcelona is such a design forward city. And the staff seemed to be sincerely proud of it. The rooftop pool was a great place to hang out on hot afternoons, have a cool drink, and look out over the city. The only problem was that once I was at the pool, I didn't want to leave. The hotel is very centrally located to the Bari Gotic and the Born neighborhoods, so it was easy to find my way around and then come back for a break. I hardly used my metro card as almost everything was within a 10 to 15 minute walk. When I did use the metro, it was easy, since there are two stations a very short distance from the hotel. Since this was my first time in Barcelona, it was a great home base. I also had a massage with Carolina while I was there, the spa was a lovely little room and the massage was great, I was feeling exhausted mid-week, and it was a great rejuvenator. I highly recommend it. Overall I can not recommend the hotel enough, and I intend to stay there when I return. It may be a bit pricey for some travelers, I am often a budget minded traveler myself. If you are wondering if it is worth it--it really is!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 9, 2010

Modern hotel in perfect location

We had a wonderful stay at the Grand Hotel Central. The location is perfect for strolling through El Born or the Gothic area. The style is elegant and modern, maybe even a little much for me (I prefer real bathroom doors that actually close, instead of semi-transparent panes of glass). The staff was extremely helpful, locating towels, reservations, and such. The rooftop pool is amazing with great views of the city. We definitely enjoyed a few rounds of Cava up there. Perfect for an afternoon siesta. Breakfasts were included, and quite good in the Avalon restaurant downstairs. There is a free mini-bar in the room that included bottled water, soda, and a chocolate bar. Overall, it's a on the pricey side, but we found it worth it for our stay in Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the marketplace nearby, or at least wander through. It was incredible. The seafood counters are incredible if you get there early enough.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top