$306 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2015 Check-out: Sep 22, 2015

Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

5 stars
View map of Via Laietana, 30, Barcelona, 08003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
suffolk,va
Oct 13, 2009

Great Hotel

We were there to see Barcelona. We arrived 3 hours early but hotel checked us in no problem. They advised us since we were there only 2 days the best places to go see and even arranged transportation to those places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is a short walk from everything. Beach is close, shopping is close and the old city is directly across the street.

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lostangels01
Couples
Los Angeles
Sep 3, 2014

Spain Getaway

My overall experience at this hotel was good. Very Friendly staff; they speak English, Spanish and Catalan. Rooms were a great size, shower/bath could use a full closed shower door, only has half( water would get on the bathroom floor, very easily could slip and hurt yourself). Need more US channels, spent my time watching CNN. Room service menu could use a little more items on it. WiFi at the pool did not work the entire week i was there but in my room it worked great. Love my street view, but a little noisy for the 4th floor with the cars and mopeds driving by. The infinity pool was amazing and the view was great. Location of the hotel is very central and close to a lot of tourist areas, metro one block away literally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bilbao Berria, Tapas restaurant by the Cathedral. Ate there like 3-4 times. Great selection of Tapas, and very friendly staff. They do get busy, be patient.

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wailani
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
May 1, 2014

Great Location! Stylish!

Loved the location and the rooftop pool. Also appreciated the food and options of restaurant and bar. The room was small but nicely equipped. We did have a problem with the shower flooding the bathroom(just bad design), but otherwise don't have complaints. We would stay here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
ireland
Nov 8, 2010

Quality hotel in ideal area

Great hotel with very smart rooms although they could be a little bigger. Staff were super friendly. Location hard to beat would recommend and stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrsP
Friends
London
Apr 19, 2011

Dark, but lovely

The hotel was centrally located within easy walking distance of the gothic quater, Born, Las Ramblas (horrible) and the lovely harbour and beach. The staff were really helpful. We had a loft room with extra bed. It had a big walk in shower with extra bath/shower next door. Huge main bed, plenty of storage. The mini bar is stocked with water, orange juice, coke and cava and is refilled each day free of charge! We also got 3 yummy mini muffins each day aswell - a lovely touch. The rooftop pool area is really cool with plenty of sunbeds - the pool itself was freezing but refreshing! The interior of the hotel is really dark - a bit strange but not a problem. Breakfast is pricey but buffet so you can fill up for the day. All in all a really good base for exploring lovely Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The bus from the airport to the hotel was 5 euros each and drops you about a 10 min easy walk from the hotel - taxi is about 33 euros.

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aussie889
Couples
Geneva, Switzerland
Jan 2, 2012

Great hotel in a great location

The hotel is located in a great location very close to the subway and touristy areas. It is a short walk to many different great restaurants around the area. The staff is really nice and helpful and the hotel is modern and clean. A great place to stay when in Barcelona!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NJ Mare
Couples
Küsnacht, Switzerland
Jan 24, 2012

Romantic Weekend

Great location. Took bikes to beach which is 5 minutes. Right in the Gothic section so food and shopping was superb. Hotel has a pool bar on the roof with fantastic views of Barcelona. It was too cold to swim but we were able to lie out in the sun by the pool and read our books. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A fish restaurant, local, non tourist..called Barcelona. Great food and friendly staff. Need to book ahead and ask for directions...off the tourist path by the waterfront.

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr and mrs 65
Couples
London, UK
Apr 2, 2012

enjoyable

We enjoyed the stay at the Grand Central along with the attention of the reception staff. however the restaurant service has a lot to be improved upon. Bookings commenced at 8.30pm onward. This is far to late for guests staying who prefer and earlier meal and bed ,fresh and ready for another days sight seeing.Once seated at 8.30pm we then waited until gone 9pm for our order to be taken, once received, the meal was very poor standard for a highly recommended restaurant. The staff and Reception were notified of this..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Endowomyn
Business
Des Moines, IA, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Great Staff

I was there for business and pleasure trip. At the last minute needed to add another person and it was no hassle. The staff were great about attending to needs and giving great instructions on how to get anywhere. Our only problem was climate control; the room was too warm. Breakfast was good but repetitive; dinner at the hotel was outstanding. In room frig contained water and and other non alcoholic drinks at no added cost. It was too cool to use the pool but the rooftop area was wonderful just to view the city!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Central Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fishy1
Couples
Wilmslow Cheshire
May 30, 2012

Nice Hotel

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel immensely, couple of things to note however, the room we had (superior king) was facing main road 4th floor a bit noisy and decor very sparse, also the rooftop bar was extremely nice but drinks very expensive, we paid 24euros about £20 for 2 Mojito's, you will pay around 5 euros each around town!!! (you live and learn). The location of this hotel was excellent, the name says it all (Central) we were able to walk everywhere down to the coast and up to the Sagrada familiar, tip for a really nice (but slightly pricey) restaurant "7 Portes" down the bottom of Via Leitana towards the marina across main road and left under the shop arches, fantastic food and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

7 Portes restaurant, try the lazy mans paella delicious.

Back to menu Return to top