$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

4 stars
View map of Avinguda Roma, 2-4, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Jul 18, 2011

a lovely final evening in barcelona

My fiance and I spent one night here following our business/vacation 3-day stay in downtown Barcelona. We picked this location because it was so close to the train station, and we had an early train the following morning. While this hotel is not in the center of town, it's an easy cab ride there (only about 7 euros) if you desire to spend the evening there. The hotel is also close to a few cool spots (an old bull-fighting stadium converted into a multi-story mall, an evening fountain show). There aren't as many good restaurants near the hotel, but there are some places nearby. We ate downtown after taking a cab there. We quite enjoyed the view of the city through our room window on the 18th floor. The rooms were clean, nice, and fully equipped. There was a full room service menu with several late night items. The hotel has a bar that looked nice, but we didn't have a chance to try it out. There is also a spa on the bottom floor which you must pay to enjoy. There's a swimming pool included with the spa. The fitness center is free. Lastly, the hotel restaurant on the top floor looked quite nice. However, we didn't end up eating in the hotel as it seemed expensive- there's a cover charge just to sit in the restaurant. Overall, I was completely happy with this hotel, and I would unhesitatingly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jun 6, 2011

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

i just spent one night, and it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

A bit of a walk to attractions, but definitely manageable for those able to do it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA
May 30, 2011

Great hotel

I loved this hotel, it was very stylish in a simple way. Quiet and huge windows with open views. Loved the decor. The only thing I would recommend is some tourit information to be left in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
boston, ma
May 29, 2011

Great hotel

- beautiful hotel rooms with great view - staff very helpful - close to biggest train station in barcelona, which makes transportation really easy - only negative is that there is not much to do in the immediate area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, California
Apr 6, 2011

Fantastic hotel for the price

Hotel's location couldn't be better. Central location to all city's attractions and transportation, shopping, etc. Staff was so helpful it was a great experience. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Apr 5, 2011

Barcelona Trip

Excelñlent expirience in Barcelona, service and accomodations according to our expectatioons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mesut
Business
Switzerland
Apr 1, 2011

great! can only recomend it.

i asked for the highest available room and got one on the 17th floor. it was a great view over barcelona. if you realy want to be in the center and just walke arround, this is the right place for you. great restaurants arround like the fish restaurant arround the corner or the place called tapa tapa. just great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 8, 2011

Not worth the money

After 2 weeks in Spain, we came back to Barcelona for one night and had an early flight out. I am so thankful that we did not spend more than a day here. The bed was sooo uncomfortable. One of the worst nights of sleep we had. Also, the whole room lights up when the bathroom light is turned on which is really annoying in the middle of the night! The location wasn't great. The metro station was across the street, but not really within walking distance to anything good. We spent a week in Barcelona at the beginning of our trip and I am thankful that it was not in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oman
Nov 14, 2010

good stay

we were tourist YOu MUST ADD Break fast to the package as we had to pay 3 b/fast at high prices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 12, 2010

Good Hotel, convenient to Metro/trains

There's a lot to do in Barcelona and getting around by metro is key. The hotel is across the street which as very convenient. Staff spoke good english and had good recommendation on places to eat and day tours. [...], the bellhop, was very friendly and eager to help.We informed them that we were on our honeymoon and they were kind enough to send up a bottle of champagne.One negative comment, we did advance checkout the night before and paid the balance for charges to the room and an upgrade. However, when we were checking out the next morning, they informed us that we owed addition amount since we had an upgrade for the last night which was not added onto the bill. Our cab was waiting on us and charging while we finalized the bill. Very discouraging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the wine & cava tour offered by Catalonia Tour. Very interesting. Take snacks or have a big breakfast. Also, if you decide to buy a wine, the wine at the first stop is a better buy. The cava tour is amazing but you need to be willing to take a lot of stairs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top