$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

4 stars
View map of Avinguda Roma, 2-4, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
66 reviews
Great hotel!

Great hotel, price was ok. Very helpful and friendly staff. A little overpriced considering... See full review

  • TravelzAlot
  • Apr 6, 2015
Wonderful hotel!

Gran Torre Catalunya in Barcelona, Spain, was a wonderful place to stay. It was centrally located -... See full review

  • William Y.
  • Feb 28, 2015
Unwind at this stylish high-rise with spectacular city vistas
Dazzling views stretch from the 23 floors of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya. This high-rise located a stone’s throw from Barcelona’s central Sants station has sophisticated rooms with Wi-Fi and shower and tub combos in the en-suite bathrooms. The panoramic top-floor restaurant serves Catalan cuisine paired with 360-degree vistas. The minimalist Eclectick Bar offers all-day food and cocktails and ambient music come nighttime. The on-site spa (fees apply) showcases massage rooms, Turkish bath, sauna, solarium, hydro-massage and a fitness center.
Highlights
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Panoramic restaurant and bar
  • Spa with Turkish bath, sauna and fitness center
  • Prime location beside Sants train station
Rooms

All 272 rooms and suites at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya showcase a seamless fusion of comfort, style and functionality. Each capacious unit comes with an elegant palette of earth colors, heaps of natural light and marvelous city views. Dark wood furniture, colorful modern art and cream-colored marble floors grace the contemporary guest rooms. Bathrooms are equipped with showers and bathtubs. Trimmings include CD players, safes and wide-screen TVs. Wi-Fi, laundry and 24-room service are also available (fees apply).

Features

The basement spa and fitness center at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya offers two massage treatment rooms, a wet area, sauna, Turkish bath and hydro-massage pool. Guests pay a fee to enter the spa. Children under 16 are not allowed access to the pool. The second-floor business center provides Internet access, scanner, printer, copier and fax. Seven meeting rooms on the premises feature state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment. The 100-person auditorium has a large plasma screen. On the 23rd floor, Restaurant Visual pairs top Mediterranean cuisine with panoramic views of Barcelona. At Eclectik lounge bar, food is served from 1 p.m. till 1 a.m. daily. Ambient music and fantastic views make Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya a great spot for a nightcap.  

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (6.6 mi/10.7 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Sants Estacio (on the L3 and L5 lines)
  • Barcelona’s main train station, Sants, 50 meters away
Attractions
  • Plaza de Espana (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Plaza Catalunya (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Las Ramblas (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Picasso Museum (2 mi/ 3.2 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
Business
  • Seven state-of-the-art meeting rooms
  • Well-equipped business corner
  • 100-person auditorium

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Rooms

Attic Room
Located on the upper floors of the Hotel to provide excellent views of the city. Luxury bedding for a deep sleep, with our unforgettable pillows. Bathrobe and slippers are included
Executive Room
Our executive rooms are a perfect fusion between comfort and funcionality to ensure a pleasant stay. * Air conditioning * Heating * Wide screen TV * Satellite channels * Direct dial telephone * Minibar * Safe * Bathrom with bath, shower and hairdryer * 24 hour room service * Double telephone line for connecting your personal computer * Bathrobe * Coffee and tea service in your room
Standard Room
Room with one twin bed is designed to guarantee you maximum comfort. The room is elegantly decorated in earth colors with natural light and offer exceptional views over all four cardinal points of the city. The room offers air conditioning, heating, Internet access -at cost, room service -at cost, iron/ ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, CD player, laundry service -at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar -at cost, modem/ data port connection -at cost, disabled facilities, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, hairdryer and radio.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.1 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.2 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.5 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 0.6 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.6 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.7 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.8 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.9 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.9 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.1 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.2 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.5 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 0.6 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.6 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.7 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.8 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.9 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.9 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.9 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 1 mi
  • Palau Nacional: 1 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 1 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 1 mi
  • Camp Nou: 1 mi
  • Nou Camp Stadium: 1 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 1 mi
  • FC Barcelona Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 1.1 mi
  • Palau Blaugrana: 1.2 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 1.2 mi
  • Barcelona Olympic Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Anella Olimpica: 1.2 mi
  • Estadi Olímpic Lluís Companys: 1.2 mi
  • Palau Sant Jordi: 1.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 1.3 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 1.3 mi
  • El Raval: 1.3 mi
  • Montjuïc: 1.3 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 1.3 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 1.4 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 1.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 1.4 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 1.4 mi
  • Via Augusta: 1.4 mi

Dining

Visual Restaurant
Can you imagine starting and ending the day with Barcelona at your feet? Discover the best-kept secret in Barcelona on the top floor of the hotel. At the Visual restaurant, the highest 360 roof lounge restaurant in Barcelona, you can enjoy anything from a top full breakfast that will give you the energy for a full day, to a unique visual and gastronomic experience in the city so that you can keep on discovering Barcelona from a height. Don't forget to enjoy a cocktail as you watch the sun go down over the "Ciudad Condal" - a magical moment that you will want to share.
Eclectick Bar
During your visit, take a rest at the Eclectik Bar beside the hotel lobby - a modern and exclusive space for guests, with a quiet atmosphere and personalized service, where you can enjoy an excellent coffee on the terrace or a delicious selection of snacks. And you can also stay constantly connected thanks to free high-speed WiFi throughout the hotel.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya provides the perfect solution for making your events or meetings in Barcelona a real success thanks to our strategic location, our versatile spaces and the experience and imagination of our team of professionals. We have a fully-equipped auditorium for 100 attendees with all the comforts and for covering any need, besides 7 multi-purpose rooms with partitions that will be the perfect solution for your meetings. Only at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya will you have the option of providing the strength, focus and personality that your event requires with the option of personalizing a whole hotel floor with your image. With inspiration, the aid of our great team of professionals and culmination of the event at the Visual restaurant with the city at your feet, we'll turn your dream event into a reality - a unique experience with the best views of Barcelona that all of the attendees will remember.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 66
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 8, 2011

Not worth the money

After 2 weeks in Spain, we came back to Barcelona for one night and had an early flight out. I am so thankful that we did not spend more than a day here. The bed was sooo uncomfortable. One of the worst nights of sleep we had. Also, the whole room lights up when the bathroom light is turned on which is really annoying in the middle of the night! The location wasn't great. The metro station was across the street, but not really within walking distance to anything good. We spent a week in Barcelona at the beginning of our trip and I am thankful that it was not in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, California
Apr 6, 2011

Fantastic hotel for the price

Hotel's location couldn't be better. Central location to all city's attractions and transportation, shopping, etc. Staff was so helpful it was a great experience. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lathrup Village
Sep 28, 2008

We stayed for 4 nights at ...

We stayed for 4 nights at the Torre Catalunya at the end of a cruise. We found the location, steps from the Sants train & metro station, very convenient, especially for catching the airport bus (only 4 euros per person). The staff was friendly & accommodating, the room was large, the bathroom was huge, & the breakfast buffet on the 23rd floor was bountiful. The major drawback for us was the too-firm beds. Other unpleaseant surprises were the dearth of entertainment programming in English (all 4 English channels were News/Finance even though there were entertainment channels in Spanish, Catalan, French, Italian, Arabic, Chinese, etc.), & the lack of 24-hour room service (except for ice delivery since all the ice machines were broken).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A Hyper-market within a block of the hotel has groceries in the basement & a cafeteria plus general merchandise on the ground floor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gingarden
Business
San Francisco
Oct 20, 2009

Roomy but not close to the action

Room is very spacious compared with the other 2 hotels I stayed at in Barcelona. Bathroom was extremely nice, but, a weird lighting setup where the bedroom lights come on if you use the bathroom which is awkward when you use the bathroom while your roomate is sleeping. But, it is a metro ride away from Las Ramblas and Placa Catalunya where the action is is. It is within walking distance to Placa Espana and the Magic Fountains. Staff is helpful and nice. Bed was extremely uncomfortable and beddings were stiff. I was unable to sleep. It is right across the street from the main train station (Sants) so its convenient to travelers who are taking the train. There is 15 minutes of free internet, then you pay. The breakfast (which I did not purchase) was unbelieveably expensive ($20 euro).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro station Tarragona is only a block away and will drop you off at Las Ramblas/Barri Gothis/Port Vell without a transfer on the L3 Train. Trains seem to come every 5 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms Wished I'd Stayed Longer!
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 6, 2010

Good Price, Location, Service & View

Okay, I tried to keep this short but couldn't! This was a great hotel especially for the price, don't let the outside exterior fool you! Our reservations stated it was the Expo Hotel on C/Mallorca, 1-23, so that was a little confusing, we were actually looking for that name. "Expo" is on the hotel but in small lettering and there are two Expo's right next to each other, one with a pool on top, that wasn't ours. Although our on-line pictures did show a pool that we could see waiting for the elevator inside of OUR Expo, in the end we never had time for the pool. The name you will spot easier is "Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya" you can actually see the Sants Station from the hotel or vice versa if you take the train from the airport, which is actually convenient if you don't have too much luggage. We took the Metro/Renfe to get around everyday, except on a Saturday night when we went clubbing. Check-in was fast and we actually checked in two hours early with no problem, same with checkout. The hotel was a great location, close to Sants station and not far from shopping and restaurants if you like to walk "maybe 15-20 blocks" for serious shopping, (also, for serious shopping if you take the tour bus you can always jump off when you see the shopping area you are interested in and jump back on later, don't forget to ask when the last bus runs, we didn't miss the last one, but for you serious shoppers there are so many shops it can easily happen, but this a great way to see where you might want to spend the day shopping), everything else was close, there are small neighborhood shops in the area if you are adventurous. We had a GREAT view from the 14th floor "Rm 1404". We never ate there so can't tell you about the food, although the love of my life had a delicious chocolate mousse cake waiting for him when we returned from celebrating his birthday in Paris. It was a very nice surprise and don't tell but we couldn't resist trying it, even after it sat out overnight for a whole day. The room was clean and cleaned daily, had to request extra towels daily, they probably now think Americans are obsessed with towels! The hotel staff "[...] to be exact" was very helpful and friendly. Overall the Hotel was great and would stay there again without hesitation! **Also for 1st time International travelers, regarding the BCN Airport, BEWARE if you are or are not a spanish speaker you really need to Pay Attention and look out for Gate Changes at the airport, they don't announce them in English not sure if they do in Spanish or French, we had several last minute gate changes and a delayed flight that remained delayed on the monitors in the waiting areas, all the way up until our actual flight was boarding, so be very diligent about making sure your flight is listed on your assigned boarding gate monitor***. We had two connecting flights there and back from Wisconsin. So overall the Hotel was great! [...] Ok I'm a rambler but, I do hope this was helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tour bus of the city on day one if you get there early enough, that way you get a layout of the city and find out what you want to see or do later in your stay. The tour bus stop was right near the Sants Station and you pay right there at a little booth, 22 euros. This was in September 2010, 10th-17th visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
boston, ma
May 29, 2011

Great hotel

- beautiful hotel rooms with great view - staff very helpful - close to biggest train station in barcelona, which makes transportation really easy - only negative is that there is not much to do in the immediate area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeandJess
Business
State College, PA
Nov 2, 2011

Grand View

Great view of the city from room and top floor restaurant, excellent/friendly/HELPFUL staff, close to the metro and bus station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Short metro ride to La Ramblas (the main tourist street for shopping, dining, and night life) Becareful not to rely on the metro after 1130 pm on week nights. Use a taxi its worth the money to get back to the hotel safe and sound.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CandaceC
Business
New Jersey
May 23, 2012

First trip to Spain

We enjoyed this hotel very much. The hotel sits right across from Sants station which has connections to anywhere in the city. We even caught the train to penedes for a wine tour from there. The staff was professional. My only concern is that the housekeeper came into our room when we had the do not disturb sign up. Besides that everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rmedome
Business
Connecticut, USA
Aug 13, 2012

Good value

Very nice staff. Beautiful rooms and views of Montjuic. Poor location, if not for the metro being right across the street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gashead
Business
Munich, Germany
Jun 20, 2013

Excellent location for getting around Barcelona

Transport links and ease of getting this hotel make it a must for a weekend break. The helpfull and friendly staff along with the quality of food served from the panoramic restaurant make my choice of hotel very easy for the next visit to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top