$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 31, 2014 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

4 stars
Avinguda Roma, 2-4, Barcelona, 08014
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
58 reviews
should be a 5 star hotel

Well, my husband and i had taken a train from Madrid to Barcelona...when we arrived at the station... See full review

  • Catana
  • Oct 3, 2014
Amazing anniversary break!

I can only say that this hotel surpassed my expectations, having read all the good reviews and... See full review

  • icklebella
  • Sep 28, 2014
Unwind at this stylish high-rise with spectacular city vistas
Dazzling views stretch from the 23 floors of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya. This high-rise located a stone’s throw from Barcelona’s central Sants station has sophisticated rooms with Wi-Fi and shower and tub combos in the en-suite bathrooms. The panoramic top-floor restaurant serves Catalan cuisine paired with 360-degree vistas. The minimalist Eclectick Bar offers all-day food and cocktails and ambient music come nighttime. The on-site spa (fees apply) showcases massage rooms, Turkish bath, sauna, solarium, hydro-massage and a fitness center.
Highlights
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in rooms
  • Panoramic restaurant and bar
  • Spa with Turkish bath, sauna and fitness center
  • Prime location beside Sants train station
Rooms

All 272 rooms and suites at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya showcase a seamless fusion of comfort, style and functionality. Each capacious unit comes with an elegant palette of earth colors, heaps of natural light and marvelous city views. Dark wood furniture, colorful modern art and cream-colored marble floors grace the contemporary guest rooms. Bathrooms are equipped with showers and bathtubs. Trimmings include CD players, safes and wide-screen TVs. Wi-Fi, laundry and 24-room service are also available (fees apply).

Features

The basement spa and fitness center at Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya offers two massage treatment rooms, a wet area, sauna, Turkish bath and hydro-massage pool. Guests pay a fee to enter the spa. Children under 16 are not allowed access to the pool. The second-floor business center provides Internet access, scanner, printer, copier and fax. Seven meeting rooms on the premises feature state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment. The 100-person auditorium has a large plasma screen. On the 23rd floor, Restaurant Visual pairs top Mediterranean cuisine with panoramic views of Barcelona. At Eclectik lounge bar, food is served from 1 p.m. till 1 a.m. daily. Ambient music and fantastic views make Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya a great spot for a nightcap.  

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (6.6 mi/10.7 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Sants Estacio (on the L3 and L5 lines)
  • Barcelona’s main train station, Sants, 50 meters away
Attractions
  • Plaza de Espana (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Plaza Catalunya (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Las Ramblas (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Picasso Museum (2 mi/ 3.2 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
Business
  • Seven state-of-the-art meeting rooms
  • Well-equipped business corner
  • 100-person auditorium

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya Rooms

Attic Room
Located on the upper floors of the Hotel to provide excellent views of the city. Luxury bedding for a deep sleep, with our unforgettable pillows. Bathrobe and slippers are included
Executive Room
Our executive rooms are a perfect fusion between comfort and funcionality to ensure a pleasant stay. * Air conditioning * Heating * Wide screen TV * Satellite channels * Direct dial telephone * Minibar * Safe * Bathrom with bath, shower and hairdryer * 24 hour room service * Double telephone line for connecting your personal computer * Bathrobe * Coffee and tea service in your room
Standard Room
Room with one twin bed is designed to guarantee you maximum comfort. The room is elegantly decorated in earth colors with natural light and offer exceptional views over all four cardinal points of the city. The room offers air conditioning, heating, Internet access -at cost, room service -at cost, iron/ ironing board, safe in room, bathroom amenities, CD player, laundry service -at cost, telephone, color TV, mini bar -at cost, modem/ data port connection -at cost, disabled facilities, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, ensuite/ private bathroom, hairdryer and radio.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.1 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.2 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.5 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 0.6 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.6 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.7 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.8 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.9 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.9 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.1 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.2 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.3 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.5 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 0.6 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.6 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.7 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.8 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.9 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.9 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 0.9 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 1 mi
  • Palau Nacional: 1 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 1 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 1 mi
  • Camp Nou: 1 mi
  • Nou Camp Stadium: 1 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 1 mi
  • FC Barcelona Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 1.1 mi
  • Palau Blaugrana: 1.2 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 1.2 mi
  • Barcelona Olympic Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Anella Olimpica: 1.2 mi
  • Estadi Olímpic Lluís Companys: 1.2 mi
  • Palau Sant Jordi: 1.2 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 1.3 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 1.3 mi
  • El Raval: 1.3 mi
  • Montjuïc: 1.3 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 1.3 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 1.4 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 1.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 1.4 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 1.4 mi
  • Via Augusta: 1.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya provides the perfect solution for making your events or meetings in Barcelona a real success thanks to our strategic location, our versatile spaces and the experience and imagination of our team of professionals. We have a fully-equipped auditorium for 100 attendees with all the comforts and for covering any need, besides 7 multi-purpose rooms with partitions that will be the perfect solution for your meetings. Only at the Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya will you have the option of providing the strength, focus and personality that your event requires with the option of personalizing a whole hotel floor with your image. With inspiration, the aid of our great team of professionals and culmination of the event at the Visual restaurant with the city at your feet, we'll turn your dream event into a reality - a unique experience with the best views of Barcelona that all of the attendees will remember.

Dining

Visual Restaurant
Can you imagine starting and ending the day with Barcelona at your feet? Discover the best-kept secret in Barcelona on the top floor of the hotel. At the Visual restaurant, the highest 360 roof lounge restaurant in Barcelona, you can enjoy anything from a top full breakfast that will give you the energy for a full day, to a unique visual and gastronomic experience in the city so that you can keep on discovering Barcelona from a height. Don't forget to enjoy a cocktail as you watch the sun go down over the "Ciudad Condal" - a magical moment that you will want to share.
Eclectick Bar
During your visit, take a rest at the Eclectik Bar beside the hotel lobby - a modern and exclusive space for guests, with a quiet atmosphere and personalized service, where you can enjoy an excellent coffee on the terrace or a delicious selection of snacks. And you can also stay constantly connected thanks to free high-speed WiFi throughout the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Kandlstorfer
Business
Germany
Jul 25, 2010

Birthday Get-away!

Hotel is convenient to all major attractions and shopping.. Hypermart is next door to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris Fig
Business
New York, NY, USA
May 9, 2012

Great Location next to major train station hub

The location is perfect. It's so easy to get around Barcelona by train, and this hotel is right next to one of the major hubs. Getting to and from the airport is easy as well by taking the R2 train. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are comfortable, clean, and spacious for a European hotel. We were on the 16th floor and had fabulous unobstructed view of Barcelona. My wife and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Purchase the T-10 pass for the Barcelona Metro if you plan on taking the metro everywhere. It's 92 cents a fare compared to a regular fare of 2 Euros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas777
Business
Cork Ireland
May 23, 2012

Safety Caution

Bathroom floor very slippery when wet-I almost fell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location to train station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeremy4953
Business
cleveland ohio
Jun 19, 2013

great location and great hotel

we chose this hotel as it is right across from the sants station making it easy for the early flight home. However it is also very close to the metro so you can get around town very easily. The front desk service could not have been any better and our stay there was great. would recomend to anyone going to barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

take the metro to licue station on the green line and walk the rambles for food, shopping and fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Briabutton
Business
Perth
Jul 11, 2013

Lovely birthday treat

We had a lovely spacious room on the 10th floor with a fantastic bathroom. The location was great for us, there was plenty to do in the evenings nearby (don't miss the magic fountains) also the restaurant Visual, is amazing, both the food and the views. There are 2 Metro stations nearby so it's easy to get anywhere else in the city. We will definately be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisu7
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Nov 5, 2013

excellent accomodations

We arrived as weary travelers, and upgraded (very reasonably) to a corner room on the 12th floor with incredible views of Barcelona. Friendly staff, Very modern, spa-like bathroom---all around a great stay. The hotel is right across the street from the train station and bus connections. Only slight down-side---it is a bit farther out from places we would have chosen to walk---but very accessible for bus/taxi travel anywhere in the city. A great find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mauricio papi
Business
Miami
Nov 12, 2013

LOVED THE SERVICE AND THE ROOMS!!!

I had been traveling throughout Europe for a month, and stayed at 7 different hotels by then, in several countries. Just when I had given up on finding a decent hotel and reset my expectations to low levels, I discovered this hotel. Not only its location is convenient to any other point of the city, right across the train station, but you feel the difference at the moment you interact with the front desk staff. They are very pleasant, polite, helpful and considered. They truly make you feel welcome and show a genuine desire to ensure you have a pleasant stay. When I entered the room, wouuu! An amazing view of the city; lots of closet space; a bed so comfortable you don’t want to get up; and a big bathroom also with a view. This had the feeling of an Executive Suite but at an incredible low price of $139/night. OMG! Compared to the $400/night lousy hotels in France and Germany, this was hard to believe. And the breakfast… Out of this world: lots of buffet choices, with a variety of fresh fruits, juices, meats, cheeses, and even superior champagne for your mimosas. I can’t say enough of this place without sounding like a commercial. I even cancelled my trip to Madrid to enjoy Barcelona for 3 more days. Interesting how a hotel could influence your impression of a city. I definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to stay again on my next visit to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rsniter
Business
Bay Area
Jun 4, 2014

Love the Torre Catalunya, best value and wonderful hotel

The staff is so friendly, train station across the street. Supermarket minutes walk. View from the 23rd floor restaurant is amazing. The breakfast is totally worth it 13 Euro but the quality and selection is top notch and again the view. I booked this hotel after reading reviews and I am so happy I did! Hi to Musa at the front desk and Pablo the bell men and all the wonderful staff at TC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle WA
Jun 2, 2010

Convenient Location

Great hotel. Great customer service. Right across from the main train station, and a Metro stop. Lots of good eating options close by. Even up high, it was somewhat noisy from sirens on the streets below.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mlittle5
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 28, 2011

Excellent hotel and location!

A great place to stay if you have a flight the next day or want to be close to Sants Estacion or the Metro. The area is very lively for commuting and close to a supermercado and various restaurants. Staff was great and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top