$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

4 stars
View map of Avinguda Roma, 2-4, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms Wished I'd Stayed Longer!
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 6, 2010

Good Price, Location, Service & View

Okay, I tried to keep this short but couldn't! This was a great hotel especially for the price, don't let the outside exterior fool you! Our reservations stated it was the Expo Hotel on C/Mallorca, 1-23, so that was a little confusing, we were actually looking for that name. "Expo" is on the hotel but in small lettering and there are two Expo's right next to each other, one with a pool on top, that wasn't ours. Although our on-line pictures did show a pool that we could see waiting for the elevator inside of OUR Expo, in the end we never had time for the pool. The name you will spot easier is "Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya" you can actually see the Sants Station from the hotel or vice versa if you take the train from the airport, which is actually convenient if you don't have too much luggage. We took the Metro/Renfe to get around everyday, except on a Saturday night when we went clubbing. Check-in was fast and we actually checked in two hours early with no problem, same with checkout. The hotel was a great location, close to Sants station and not far from shopping and restaurants if you like to walk "maybe 15-20 blocks" for serious shopping, (also, for serious shopping if you take the tour bus you can always jump off when you see the shopping area you are interested in and jump back on later, don't forget to ask when the last bus runs, we didn't miss the last one, but for you serious shoppers there are so many shops it can easily happen, but this a great way to see where you might want to spend the day shopping), everything else was close, there are small neighborhood shops in the area if you are adventurous. We had a GREAT view from the 14th floor "Rm 1404". We never ate there so can't tell you about the food, although the love of my life had a delicious chocolate mousse cake waiting for him when we returned from celebrating his birthday in Paris. It was a very nice surprise and don't tell but we couldn't resist trying it, even after it sat out overnight for a whole day. The room was clean and cleaned daily, had to request extra towels daily, they probably now think Americans are obsessed with towels! The hotel staff "[...] to be exact" was very helpful and friendly. Overall the Hotel was great and would stay there again without hesitation! **Also for 1st time International travelers, regarding the BCN Airport, BEWARE if you are or are not a spanish speaker you really need to Pay Attention and look out for Gate Changes at the airport, they don't announce them in English not sure if they do in Spanish or French, we had several last minute gate changes and a delayed flight that remained delayed on the monitors in the waiting areas, all the way up until our actual flight was boarding, so be very diligent about making sure your flight is listed on your assigned boarding gate monitor***. We had two connecting flights there and back from Wisconsin. So overall the Hotel was great! [...] Ok I'm a rambler but, I do hope this was helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tour bus of the city on day one if you get there early enough, that way you get a layout of the city and find out what you want to see or do later in your stay. The tour bus stop was right near the Sants Station and you pay right there at a little booth, 22 euros. This was in September 2010, 10th-17th visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
boston, ma
May 29, 2011

Great hotel

- beautiful hotel rooms with great view - staff very helpful - close to biggest train station in barcelona, which makes transportation really easy - only negative is that there is not much to do in the immediate area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fam3l3na
Business
Plano TX
Aug 10, 2011

perfect location

taxis are expensive so being close to the train station was perfect, but it's close enough to walk to some places too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AvaD
Business
New York
Oct 17, 2011

Excellent Staff

The staff went out of their way to help. The location is right across from the train station and need a taxi to the Old town area. But the service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Santa Maria del Mar church is a must see! The Gotic Barri is awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeandJess
Business
State College, PA
Nov 2, 2011

Grand View

Great view of the city from room and top floor restaurant, excellent/friendly/HELPFUL staff, close to the metro and bus station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Short metro ride to La Ramblas (the main tourist street for shopping, dining, and night life) Becareful not to rely on the metro after 1130 pm on week nights. Use a taxi its worth the money to get back to the hotel safe and sound.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CandaceC
Business
New Jersey
May 23, 2012

First trip to Spain

We enjoyed this hotel very much. The hotel sits right across from Sants station which has connections to anywhere in the city. We even caught the train to penedes for a wine tour from there. The staff was professional. My only concern is that the housekeeper came into our room when we had the do not disturb sign up. Besides that everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RLorenzo
Business
Texas
Jul 3, 2012

Good hotel, Amenities Incorrectly advertised

Hotel is excellent. Breakfast is very good and the view from the restaurant is breathtaking. Very close to a main train/subway station. Internet was advertised on this website as free but the hotel did not think so. Eventually they gave it to me as a courtesy but said the online agency is wrong. Do not expect a concierge service if you are a tourist. Location is central but not in the tourist area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rmedome
Business
Connecticut, USA
Aug 13, 2012

Good value

Very nice staff. Beautiful rooms and views of Montjuic. Poor location, if not for the metro being right across the street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sweetypari
Business
uk
Mar 21, 2013

getaway

very helpful staff nice location good room very good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gashead
Business
Munich, Germany
Jun 20, 2013

Excellent location for getting around Barcelona

Transport links and ease of getting this hotel make it a must for a weekend break. The helpfull and friendly staff along with the quality of food served from the panoramic restaurant make my choice of hotel very easy for the next visit to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top