$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

4 stars
View map of Avinguda Roma, 2-4, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle WA
Jun 2, 2010

Convenient Location

Great hotel. Great customer service. Right across from the main train station, and a Metro stop. Lots of good eating options close by. Even up high, it was somewhat noisy from sirens on the streets below.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mlittle5
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 28, 2011

Excellent hotel and location!

A great place to stay if you have a flight the next day or want to be close to Sants Estacion or the Metro. The area is very lively for commuting and close to a supermercado and various restaurants. Staff was great and very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mesut
Business
Switzerland
Apr 1, 2011

great! can only recomend it.

i asked for the highest available room and got one on the 17th floor. it was a great view over barcelona. if you realy want to be in the center and just walke arround, this is the right place for you. great restaurants arround like the fish restaurant arround the corner or the place called tapa tapa. just great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Jul 18, 2011

a lovely final evening in barcelona

My fiance and I spent one night here following our business/vacation 3-day stay in downtown Barcelona. We picked this location because it was so close to the train station, and we had an early train the following morning. While this hotel is not in the center of town, it's an easy cab ride there (only about 7 euros) if you desire to spend the evening there. The hotel is also close to a few cool spots (an old bull-fighting stadium converted into a multi-story mall, an evening fountain show). There aren't as many good restaurants near the hotel, but there are some places nearby. We ate downtown after taking a cab there. We quite enjoyed the view of the city through our room window on the 18th floor. The rooms were clean, nice, and fully equipped. There was a full room service menu with several late night items. The hotel has a bar that looked nice, but we didn't have a chance to try it out. There is also a spa on the bottom floor which you must pay to enjoy. There's a swimming pool included with the spa. The fitness center is free. Lastly, the hotel restaurant on the top floor looked quite nice. However, we didn't end up eating in the hotel as it seemed expensive- there's a cover charge just to sit in the restaurant. Overall, I was completely happy with this hotel, and I would unhesitatingly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Thousand Oaks, CA
May 30, 2011

Great hotel

I loved this hotel, it was very stylish in a simple way. Quiet and huge windows with open views. Loved the decor. The only thing I would recommend is some tourit information to be left in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flaco Rey
Business
Solana Beach CA
Aug 31, 2009

great location,good and friendly service

Great hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, David and Inga at the Business Center, Carmen at the Spa, the lady at the reception Desk(can not remember name) they all went out of their way to help with directions and tips for the best places to eat and see. I will recommend to everybody I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to La Boqueria Market in Las Ramblas for the best and freshest seafood and fresh fruit, at a decent price for Europe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J-9
Business
Chicago
Aug 20, 2009

Stay at this Hotel!

This 4-star hotel is right off the main metro station, Barcelona Estancia. After touring the city, it was lovely to come "home" to a clean, modern, cool air-conditioned hotel. The price is more than reasonable. The beds are and bathrooms were marvelous. The Visual Restaurant has awesome views of the entire city. The staff gave us wonderful recommendations for local restaurants. They supply maps and directions for all the major sites. It is walking distance from the Magic Fountain on Sunday evenings. The metro will get you to every main attraction in Barcelona quickly and for a fraction of the price of the Tourist Bus or a Taxi. The staff at Torre Cantalunya will help you with getting familiar to the Metra system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MovingWAtoCA
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Sep 11, 2014

Helpful staff, convenient location, nice hotel!

The front desk staff was really friendly and helpful. We were given free drinks at the nice hotel bar, and the room was good as well. Only downside is it's not in the heart of the city really, but easy to catch the nearby subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
icklebella
Business
Scotland
Sep 28, 2014

Amazing anniversary break!

I can only say that this hotel surpassed my expectations, having read all the good reviews and reports I was already excited but from when we arrived till when we left the service was excellent! Hotel is located next to station to excellent links to airport and there are lots of handy shops in there too! It was out anniversary and staff went out of their way to make us feel special, a room on the 17th floor with excellence view of he city, wine and strawberries in our room and rose petals on the bed! Cleanliness was first class! We ate in the hotel and ordered room service, food was very good and reasonably priced for a hotel of this quality!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Catana
Business
Key West FL
Oct 3, 2014

should be a 5 star hotel

Well, my husband and i had taken a train from Madrid to Barcelona...when we arrived at the station the hotel was literally across the street, it was very convenient. We are smokers and when asked if we wanted a smoking room i was apprehensive because they usually smell pretty bad, but said yes.. we were put on the very top floor with the best views of Barcelona and it did not smell bad at all. The room was beautiful and spacious the bathtub could easily fit 3 people, and had a separate shower. Staff was great very friendly. We ordered room service and the food was delicious. We liked it so much, that at times we almost preferred staying in the room than sightseeing around the city. We would definitely stay here again 5 stars!!! Tell them u want a smoking room and you'll automatically be upgraded to the top floor for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top