$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

4 stars
View map of Avinguda Roma, 2-4, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mesut
Couples
Switzerland
Apr 1, 2011

great! can only recomend it.

i asked for the highest available room and got one on the 17th floor. it was a great view over barcelona. if you realy want to be in the center and just walke arround, this is the right place for you. great restaurants arround like the fish restaurant arround the corner or the place called tapa tapa. just great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Diego, CA
Jan 8, 2011

Not worth the money

After 2 weeks in Spain, we came back to Barcelona for one night and had an early flight out. I am so thankful that we did not spend more than a day here. The bed was sooo uncomfortable. One of the worst nights of sleep we had. Also, the whole room lights up when the bathroom light is turned on which is really annoying in the middle of the night! The location wasn't great. The metro station was across the street, but not really within walking distance to anything good. We spent a week in Barcelona at the beginning of our trip and I am thankful that it was not in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
oman
Nov 14, 2010

good stay

we were tourist YOu MUST ADD Break fast to the package as we had to pay 3 b/fast at high prices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Austin, TX
Oct 12, 2010

Good Hotel, convenient to Metro/trains

There's a lot to do in Barcelona and getting around by metro is key. The hotel is across the street which as very convenient. Staff spoke good english and had good recommendation on places to eat and day tours. [...], the bellhop, was very friendly and eager to help.We informed them that we were on our honeymoon and they were kind enough to send up a bottle of champagne.One negative comment, we did advance checkout the night before and paid the balance for charges to the room and an upgrade. However, when we were checking out the next morning, they informed us that we owed addition amount since we had an upgrade for the last night which was not added onto the bill. Our cab was waiting on us and charging while we finalized the bill. Very discouraging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the wine & cava tour offered by Catalonia Tour. Very interesting. Take snacks or have a big breakfast. Also, if you decide to buy a wine, the wine at the first stop is a better buy. The cava tour is amazing but you need to be willing to take a lot of stairs.

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time to Europe
Friends
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 27, 2010

Lovely hotel, convenient location.

The staff was fine. Not overly friendly. Everything else was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Brussels, Belguim
Aug 29, 2010

Barcelona

Good location right next to Sants railway station and only 15 minute metro ride to Ramblas area. Rooms were excellent size. Breakfast expensive and you have to pay for using pool and fitness facilities. (6 euros). Other than that staff is friendly and a great and reasonably priced hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Iran
Aug 8, 2010

totally every thing acceptable.

Houskeeping produce very noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

it is good.

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle WA
Jun 2, 2010

Convenient Location

Great hotel. Great customer service. Right across from the main train station, and a Metro stop. Lots of good eating options close by. Even up high, it was somewhat noisy from sirens on the streets below.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gingarden
Couples
San Francisco
Oct 20, 2009

Roomy but not close to the action

Room is very spacious compared with the other 2 hotels I stayed at in Barcelona. Bathroom was extremely nice, but, a weird lighting setup where the bedroom lights come on if you use the bathroom which is awkward when you use the bathroom while your roomate is sleeping. But, it is a metro ride away from Las Ramblas and Placa Catalunya where the action is is. It is within walking distance to Placa Espana and the Magic Fountains. Staff is helpful and nice. Bed was extremely uncomfortable and beddings were stiff. I was unable to sleep. It is right across the street from the main train station (Sants) so its convenient to travelers who are taking the train. There is 15 minutes of free internet, then you pay. The breakfast (which I did not purchase) was unbelieveably expensive ($20 euro).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro station Tarragona is only a block away and will drop you off at Las Ramblas/Barri Gothis/Port Vell without a transfer on the L3 Train. Trains seem to come every 5 minutes.

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York
Sep 30, 2009

Excelent location

Great hotel. Very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top