$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

4 stars
View map of Avinguda Roma, 2-4, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mesut
Business
Switzerland
Apr 1, 2011

great! can only recomend it.

i asked for the highest available room and got one on the 17th floor. it was a great view over barcelona. if you realy want to be in the center and just walke arround, this is the right place for you. great restaurants arround like the fish restaurant arround the corner or the place called tapa tapa. just great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 8, 2011

Not worth the money

After 2 weeks in Spain, we came back to Barcelona for one night and had an early flight out. I am so thankful that we did not spend more than a day here. The bed was sooo uncomfortable. One of the worst nights of sleep we had. Also, the whole room lights up when the bathroom light is turned on which is really annoying in the middle of the night! The location wasn't great. The metro station was across the street, but not really within walking distance to anything good. We spent a week in Barcelona at the beginning of our trip and I am thankful that it was not in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oman
Nov 14, 2010

good stay

we were tourist YOu MUST ADD Break fast to the package as we had to pay 3 b/fast at high prices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Oct 12, 2010

Good Hotel, convenient to Metro/trains

There's a lot to do in Barcelona and getting around by metro is key. The hotel is across the street which as very convenient. Staff spoke good english and had good recommendation on places to eat and day tours. [...], the bellhop, was very friendly and eager to help.We informed them that we were on our honeymoon and they were kind enough to send up a bottle of champagne.One negative comment, we did advance checkout the night before and paid the balance for charges to the room and an upgrade. However, when we were checking out the next morning, they informed us that we owed addition amount since we had an upgrade for the last night which was not added onto the bill. Our cab was waiting on us and charging while we finalized the bill. Very discouraging.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the wine & cava tour offered by Catalonia Tour. Very interesting. Take snacks or have a big breakfast. Also, if you decide to buy a wine, the wine at the first stop is a better buy. The cava tour is amazing but you need to be willing to take a lot of stairs.

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms Wished I'd Stayed Longer!
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 6, 2010

Good Price, Location, Service & View

Okay, I tried to keep this short but couldn't! This was a great hotel especially for the price, don't let the outside exterior fool you! Our reservations stated it was the Expo Hotel on C/Mallorca, 1-23, so that was a little confusing, we were actually looking for that name. "Expo" is on the hotel but in small lettering and there are two Expo's right next to each other, one with a pool on top, that wasn't ours. Although our on-line pictures did show a pool that we could see waiting for the elevator inside of OUR Expo, in the end we never had time for the pool. The name you will spot easier is "Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya" you can actually see the Sants Station from the hotel or vice versa if you take the train from the airport, which is actually convenient if you don't have too much luggage. We took the Metro/Renfe to get around everyday, except on a Saturday night when we went clubbing. Check-in was fast and we actually checked in two hours early with no problem, same with checkout. The hotel was a great location, close to Sants station and not far from shopping and restaurants if you like to walk "maybe 15-20 blocks" for serious shopping, (also, for serious shopping if you take the tour bus you can always jump off when you see the shopping area you are interested in and jump back on later, don't forget to ask when the last bus runs, we didn't miss the last one, but for you serious shoppers there are so many shops it can easily happen, but this a great way to see where you might want to spend the day shopping), everything else was close, there are small neighborhood shops in the area if you are adventurous. We had a GREAT view from the 14th floor "Rm 1404". We never ate there so can't tell you about the food, although the love of my life had a delicious chocolate mousse cake waiting for him when we returned from celebrating his birthday in Paris. It was a very nice surprise and don't tell but we couldn't resist trying it, even after it sat out overnight for a whole day. The room was clean and cleaned daily, had to request extra towels daily, they probably now think Americans are obsessed with towels! The hotel staff "[...] to be exact" was very helpful and friendly. Overall the Hotel was great and would stay there again without hesitation! **Also for 1st time International travelers, regarding the BCN Airport, BEWARE if you are or are not a spanish speaker you really need to Pay Attention and look out for Gate Changes at the airport, they don't announce them in English not sure if they do in Spanish or French, we had several last minute gate changes and a delayed flight that remained delayed on the monitors in the waiting areas, all the way up until our actual flight was boarding, so be very diligent about making sure your flight is listed on your assigned boarding gate monitor***. We had two connecting flights there and back from Wisconsin. So overall the Hotel was great! [...] Ok I'm a rambler but, I do hope this was helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tour bus of the city on day one if you get there early enough, that way you get a layout of the city and find out what you want to see or do later in your stay. The tour bus stop was right near the Sants Station and you pay right there at a little booth, 22 euros. This was in September 2010, 10th-17th visit.

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms Wished I'd Stayed Longer!
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 6, 2010

Good Price, Location, Service & View

Okay, I tried to keep this short but couldn't! This was a great hotel especially for the price, don't let the outside exterior fool you! Our reservations stated it was the Expo Hotel on C/Mallorca, 1-23, so that was a little confusing, we were actually looking for that name. "Expo" is on the hotel but in small lettering and there are two Expo's right next to each other, one with a pool on top, that wasn't ours. Although our on-line pictures did show a pool that we could see waiting for the elevator inside of OUR Expo, in the end we never had time for the pool. The name you will spot easier is "Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya" you can actually see the Sants Station from the hotel or vice versa if you take the train from the airport, which is actually convenient if you don't have too much luggage. We took the Metro/Renfe to get around everyday, except on a Saturday night when we went clubbing. Check-in was fast and we actually checked in two hours early with no problem, same with checkout. The hotel was a great location, close to Sants station and not far from shopping and restaurants if you like to walk "maybe 15-20 blocks" for serious shopping, (also, for serious shopping if you take the tour bus you can always jump off when you see the shopping area you are interested in and jump back on later, don't forget to ask when the last bus runs, we didn't miss the last one, but for you serious shoppers there are so many shops it can easily happen, but this a great way to see where you might want to spend the day shopping), everything else was close, there are small neighborhood shops in the area if you are adventurous. We had a GREAT view from the 14th floor "Rm 1404". We never ate there so can't tell you about the food, although the love of my life had a delicious chocolate mousse cake waiting for him when we returned from celebrating his birthday in Paris. It was a very nice surprise and don't tell but we couldn't resist trying it, even after it sat out overnight for a whole day. The room was clean and cleaned daily, had to request extra towels daily, they probably now think Americans are obsessed with towels! The hotel staff "[...] to be exact" was very helpful and friendly. Overall the Hotel was great and would stay there again without hesitation! **Also for 1st time International travelers, regarding the BCN Airport, BEWARE if you are or are not a spanish speaker you really need to Pay Attention and look out for Gate Changes at the airport, they don't announce them in English not sure if they do in Spanish or French, we had several last minute gate changes and a delayed flight that remained delayed on the monitors in the waiting areas, all the way up until our actual flight was boarding, so be very diligent about making sure your flight is listed on your assigned boarding gate monitor***. We had two connecting flights there and back from Wisconsin. So overall the Hotel was great! [...] Ok I'm a rambler but, I do hope this was helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tour bus of the city on day one if you get there early enough, that way you get a layout of the city and find out what you want to see or do later in your stay. The tour bus stop was right near the Sants Station and you pay right there at a little booth, 22 euros. This was in September 2010, 10th-17th visit.

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time to Europe
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 27, 2010

Lovely hotel, convenient location.

The staff was fine. Not overly friendly. Everything else was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brussels, Belguim
Aug 29, 2010

Barcelona

Good location right next to Sants railway station and only 15 minute metro ride to Ramblas area. Rooms were excellent size. Breakfast expensive and you have to pay for using pool and fitness facilities. (6 euros). Other than that staff is friendly and a great and reasonably priced hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iran
Aug 8, 2010

totally every thing acceptable.

Houskeeping produce very noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

it is good.

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Kandlstorfer
Business
Germany
Jul 25, 2010

Birthday Get-away!

Hotel is convenient to all major attractions and shopping.. Hypermart is next door to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top