$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

4 stars
View map of Avinguda Roma, 2-4, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Thomas777
Cork Ireland
May 23, 2012

Safety Caution

Bathroom floor very slippery when wet-I almost fell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent location to train station.

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mauricio papi
Business
Miami
Nov 12, 2013

LOVED THE SERVICE AND THE ROOMS!!!

I had been traveling throughout Europe for a month, and stayed at 7 different hotels by then, in several countries. Just when I had given up on finding a decent hotel and reset my expectations to low levels, I discovered this hotel. Not only its location is convenient to any other point of the city, right across the train station, but you feel the difference at the moment you interact with the front desk staff. They are very pleasant, polite, helpful and considered. They truly make you feel welcome and show a genuine desire to ensure you have a pleasant stay. When I entered the room, wouuu! An amazing view of the city; lots of closet space; a bed so comfortable you don’t want to get up; and a big bathroom also with a view. This had the feeling of an Executive Suite but at an incredible low price of $139/night. OMG! Compared to the $400/night lousy hotels in France and Germany, this was hard to believe. And the breakfast… Out of this world: lots of buffet choices, with a variety of fresh fruits, juices, meats, cheeses, and even superior champagne for your mimosas. I can’t say enough of this place without sounding like a commercial. I even cancelled my trip to Madrid to enjoy Barcelona for 3 more days. Interesting how a hotel could influence your impression of a city. I definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to stay again on my next visit to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisu7
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Nov 5, 2013

excellent accomodations

We arrived as weary travelers, and upgraded (very reasonably) to a corner room on the 12th floor with incredible views of Barcelona. Friendly staff, Very modern, spa-like bathroom---all around a great stay. The hotel is right across the street from the train station and bus connections. Only slight down-side---it is a bit farther out from places we would have chosen to walk---but very accessible for bus/taxi travel anywhere in the city. A great find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KitKat68
Business
UK
Oct 2, 2013

Good base for exploration

Great location just a few minutes walk from Sants station. Reception staff friendly and helpful. We stayed in larger dual aspect room with bath and separate shower. Room clean but furniture tired and had seen better days. Pool out of action on weekend of stay so swimmies remained dry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Girona only 37 minutes away by high speed train definitely worth a visit.

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LS Fox
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 27, 2013

A wonderful stay...

The front desk and bell services staff were always very helpful and friendly! They also spoke English which was extremely helpful to us non-Spanish speaking Americans. The only "negatives" would be a little far from the action and even our non-smoking room smelled like smoke. Neither is enough to deter us from staying there again on a future visit. Having a/c was HUGE (Barcelona isHOTin July) & well worth the money!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Briabutton
Business
Perth
Jul 11, 2013

Lovely birthday treat

We had a lovely spacious room on the 10th floor with a fantastic bathroom. The location was great for us, there was plenty to do in the evenings nearby (don't miss the magic fountains) also the restaurant Visual, is amazing, both the food and the views. There are 2 Metro stations nearby so it's easy to get anywhere else in the city. We will definately be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gashead
Business
Munich, Germany
Jun 20, 2013

Excellent location for getting around Barcelona

Transport links and ease of getting this hotel make it a must for a weekend break. The helpfull and friendly staff along with the quality of food served from the panoramic restaurant make my choice of hotel very easy for the next visit to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jeremy4953
Business
cleveland ohio
Jun 19, 2013

great location and great hotel

we chose this hotel as it is right across from the sants station making it easy for the early flight home. However it is also very close to the metro so you can get around town very easily. The front desk service could not have been any better and our stay there was great. would recomend to anyone going to barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

take the metro to licue station on the green line and walk the rambles for food, shopping and fun.

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Freddieohio
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jun 10, 2013

Great stay at Torre Catalunya

Excellent service, great clean rooms for the price. Rooms was on 7th flr.. decent view. Good housekeeping services. Excellent Front Desk and valet staff. Did not use their restaurant as we found cheaper food elsewhere. Free wi-fi in all rooms plus a business center to print docs if needed. Directly across from Sants Estacios station. Close to Plaza Catalunya. Hotel sells tickets for the official busturistica hop on/off bus (~34 Euros/person for 2 days, 26 EU for 1 day/person). Bus stop is behind the railway station. You can get off at a tourist spot and then hop back on to your next stop. Runs from 9 am-8 pm or so. Buses have free wi-fi. Super markets and quite a few restaurants within 5-10 mins walking distance.. also a food court inside Sants station. Cab fare from Airport (~30 Euros total for two passengers+ 3 bags. note: bags are charged extra on top of trip fare).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Super markets, restaurants

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sweetypari
Business
uk
Mar 21, 2013

getaway

very helpful staff nice location good room very good service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
monkey Chicken
Business
Barcelona
Oct 4, 2012

friends getaway

On arrival to the hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Entering the room a little dissapointing, bed not made up as it shld be, dressing gowns thrown at end of bed. Beautiful views from 15th floor. It was my bday, sstaff left cake and card in the room, restaurant on 23rd floor beautiful views, great food, good staff, again staff popped open a bottle of Moet champagne n brought a cake out with a candle. Nice touch!! Spa and swimming pool amazing! Very cheap! Overall a great experience and would I go again?? Absolutely 100%, bt pls just make room look more presentable and I would be extremely thankful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you are a vegetarian, be ready to go hungry or live on margarita pizzas!!

Back to menu Return to top