$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 27, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

4 stars
View map of Avinguda Roma, 2-4, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William Y.
Couples
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Great Hotel

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya was in a great location in Barcelona - very near both train and subway. The staff was superb giving us their best information as to how to get around to see the sites. Very easy subway system. Contrary to other reviews I have read, they did NOT try to talk us into upgrading to a higher floor nor their breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't need to pay for the breakfast buffet. There is a McDonald's in the train station on the opposite corner - just across the street. That's a decent breakfast to me! At least for a couple of days.

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister Blister
Couples
Cheshire
Jan 5, 2015

A good value 'Business Hotel'

This hotel is ideally located for the business district and is within walking distance of the Fira exhibition centre. However, for couples wanting more intimate surroundings in a more central location then this is not the hotel to choose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It takes about 45 minutes to walk into the main tourist areas of Barcelona however, it is a very pleasant route and ideal for people who want to combine sightseeing with fitness

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aimee21
Friends
Sycamore
Dec 29, 2014

Girls Trip

Great Place. Clean. Very Friendly staff. Close to public transportation. Walking distance from plaza Esypana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aimee21
Friends
Sycamore
Dec 16, 2014

Girls Trip

Great Place. Clean. Very Friendly staff. Close to public transportation. Walking distance from plaza Esypana.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Catana
Couples
Key West FL
Oct 3, 2014

should be a 5 star hotel

Well, my husband and i had taken a train from Madrid to Barcelona...when we arrived at the station the hotel was literally across the street, it was very convenient. We are smokers and when asked if we wanted a smoking room i was apprehensive because they usually smell pretty bad, but said yes.. we were put on the very top floor with the best views of Barcelona and it did not smell bad at all. The room was beautiful and spacious the bathtub could easily fit 3 people, and had a separate shower. Staff was great very friendly. We ordered room service and the food was delicious. We liked it so much, that at times we almost preferred staying in the room than sightseeing around the city. We would definitely stay here again 5 stars!!! Tell them u want a smoking room and you'll automatically be upgraded to the top floor for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
icklebella
Couples
Scotland
Sep 28, 2014

Amazing anniversary break!

I can only say that this hotel surpassed my expectations, having read all the good reviews and reports I was already excited but from when we arrived till when we left the service was excellent! Hotel is located next to station to excellent links to airport and there are lots of handy shops in there too! It was out anniversary and staff went out of their way to make us feel special, a room on the 17th floor with excellence view of he city, wine and strawberries in our room and rose petals on the bed! Cleanliness was first class! We ate in the hotel and ordered room service, food was very good and reasonably priced for a hotel of this quality!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MovingWAtoCA
Couples
Sunnyvale, CA
Sep 11, 2014

Helpful staff, convenient location, nice hotel!

The front desk staff was really friendly and helpful. We were given free drinks at the nice hotel bar, and the room was good as well. Only downside is it's not in the heart of the city really, but easy to catch the nearby subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lourdes A
Friends
Hayward california
Aug 12, 2014

Grand torre

Excellent location. staff helpfull breakfast buffet is excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sky walker
Couples
Ireland
Aug 4, 2014

Great hotel, will stay again.

Great hotel and very helpful and kind staff. Definitely will recommend this hotel,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff2
Couples
Stanford, CA
Jul 22, 2014

Big Hotel Near Sants Station

The staff was very good to us. The room was clean and reasonably spacious. The location was not as god as we thought, never having been to Barcelona. Most of the interesting "tourist" stuff was a few miles away, but easily accessible by Metro, but it took stair-climbing and walking to get there. Also, we were surprised to find there was no pool. Breakfast was an "extra," not included in the room rate, although it was a fine buffet for about 13 Euros/person/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Guell park is a popular attraction, but it is weird. It was a long walk from the Metro, and even the tourist buses can't get too close because it is on the side of a hill. They charge for the "Monuments" area, which contains the Gaudi-designed stuff. But you have to buy your tickets well in advance -- we had a 2.5-hour wait. And you might think there are other things to see in the park, but there are no maps of the place, only one free bathroom with a 15-minute wait for women, and one little snack bar. Suggest you buy tickets on-line in advance and either bring a lunch or buy it at a restaurant outside the park.

Back to menu Return to top