$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

4 stars
View map of Avinguda Roma, 2-4, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MovingWAtoCA
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Sep 11, 2014

Helpful staff, convenient location, nice hotel!

The front desk staff was really friendly and helpful. We were given free drinks at the nice hotel bar, and the room was good as well. Only downside is it's not in the heart of the city really, but easy to catch the nearby subway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lourdes A
Business
Hayward california
Aug 12, 2014

Grand torre

Excellent location. staff helpfull breakfast buffet is excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sky walker
Business
Ireland
Aug 4, 2014

Great hotel, will stay again.

Great hotel and very helpful and kind staff. Definitely will recommend this hotel,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff2
Business
Stanford, CA
Jul 22, 2014

Big Hotel Near Sants Station

The staff was very good to us. The room was clean and reasonably spacious. The location was not as god as we thought, never having been to Barcelona. Most of the interesting "tourist" stuff was a few miles away, but easily accessible by Metro, but it took stair-climbing and walking to get there. Also, we were surprised to find there was no pool. Breakfast was an "extra," not included in the room rate, although it was a fine buffet for about 13 Euros/person/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Guell park is a popular attraction, but it is weird. It was a long walk from the Metro, and even the tourist buses can't get too close because it is on the side of a hill. They charge for the "Monuments" area, which contains the Gaudi-designed stuff. But you have to buy your tickets well in advance -- we had a 2.5-hour wait. And you might think there are other things to see in the park, but there are no maps of the place, only one free bathroom with a 15-minute wait for women, and one little snack bar. Suggest you buy tickets on-line in advance and either bring a lunch or buy it at a restaurant outside the park.

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lourdes A
Business
Hayward california
Jun 18, 2014

Nice location

Clean comfortable and convenient location. Staff is pleasant. Food is good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rsniter
Business
Bay Area
Jun 4, 2014

Love the Torre Catalunya, best value and wonderful hotel

The staff is so friendly, train station across the street. Supermarket minutes walk. View from the 23rd floor restaurant is amazing. The breakfast is totally worth it 13 Euro but the quality and selection is top notch and again the view. I booked this hotel after reading reviews and I am so happy I did! Hi to Musa at the front desk and Pablo the bell men and all the wonderful staff at TC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Purplekorn
Business
San Francisco, California
Mar 8, 2014

Great location

A excellent hotel next to the station Barcelona-Sants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mauricio papi
Business
Miami
Nov 12, 2013

LOVED THE SERVICE AND THE ROOMS!!!

I had been traveling throughout Europe for a month, and stayed at 7 different hotels by then, in several countries. Just when I had given up on finding a decent hotel and reset my expectations to low levels, I discovered this hotel. Not only its location is convenient to any other point of the city, right across the train station, but you feel the difference at the moment you interact with the front desk staff. They are very pleasant, polite, helpful and considered. They truly make you feel welcome and show a genuine desire to ensure you have a pleasant stay. When I entered the room, wouuu! An amazing view of the city; lots of closet space; a bed so comfortable you don’t want to get up; and a big bathroom also with a view. This had the feeling of an Executive Suite but at an incredible low price of $139/night. OMG! Compared to the $400/night lousy hotels in France and Germany, this was hard to believe. And the breakfast… Out of this world: lots of buffet choices, with a variety of fresh fruits, juices, meats, cheeses, and even superior champagne for your mimosas. I can’t say enough of this place without sounding like a commercial. I even cancelled my trip to Madrid to enjoy Barcelona for 3 more days. Interesting how a hotel could influence your impression of a city. I definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to stay again on my next visit to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisu7
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Nov 5, 2013

excellent accomodations

We arrived as weary travelers, and upgraded (very reasonably) to a corner room on the 12th floor with incredible views of Barcelona. Friendly staff, Very modern, spa-like bathroom---all around a great stay. The hotel is right across the street from the train station and bus connections. Only slight down-side---it is a bit farther out from places we would have chosen to walk---but very accessible for bus/taxi travel anywhere in the city. A great find!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KitKat68
Business
UK
Oct 2, 2013

Good base for exploration

Great location just a few minutes walk from Sants station. Reception staff friendly and helpful. We stayed in larger dual aspect room with bath and separate shower. Room clean but furniture tired and had seen better days. Pool out of action on weekend of stay so swimmies remained dry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Girona only 37 minutes away by high speed train definitely worth a visit.

Back to menu Return to top