$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 29, 2015

Expo Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
View map of Mallorca, 1-23, Explotacion Hotelera Expo Sa, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
40 reviews
Awesome!

Great hotel! 3 minute walk away from the main metro station. AND they have EGGS!! If you've stayed... See full review

  • Adrianne
  • Jul 3, 2015
Great hotel in a great location

Stayed as a party of 8. Excellent location just a 2 minute walk to Sants train station. Good choice... See full review

  • Donna O.
  • Jun 1, 2015
Expo Hotel is specially designed to provide maximum comfort and functionality. Located just a few steps from the central Sants railway station and the fair grounds (Fira Barcelona), this hotel is also only a few minutes from the famous Avenida Diagonal, Barcelona's financial and commercial centre. Plaza Catalunya is a 5 minute journey by local train. The hotel offers the Stop'n'Rest zone, a casual 3-in-1 dining area that is a combination of reading corner, snack bar and restaurant, outdoor swimming pool (open May to September), 9 meetings rooms and parking. All of the 423 rooms in the Expo Hotel Barcelona are of very good size, right up from the 184 standard rooms and 26 individual rooms to the 213 executive bedrooms. The impressive facilities include a rooftop swimming pool, terrace with stunning panoramic views out over the city, banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, doctor on call, dry cleaning, free Internet access - wireless, laundry service - at cost, lift/ elevator, lobby, non-smoking rooms, parking facilities - at cost, reception, restaurant, room service - at cost, safe deposit box, smoke-free hotel, solarium, swimming pool - outdoor.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Expo Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Expo Hotel Barcelona Rooms

Superior Room
Room with two twin beds or one double bed, it's especially designed to meet the needs of your professional activities. The hotel offers elegant decoration in bright and spacious rooms. The room offers air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, free Wireless internet access, laundry service, mini bar - at cost, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, room service - at cost, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Room
Room with two twin beds (double bed on request)fully equipped to offer the highest comfort and functionality. The room has elegant design with warm tones. With personalised service, the hotel will make sure that you feel just like at home. The room offers air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, free Wireless Internet access, laundry service, mini bar - at cost, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, room service - at cost, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.1 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.4 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.6 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.6 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.7 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.8 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.8 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.1 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.4 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.6 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.6 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.7 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.8 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.8 mi
  • Palau Nacional: 0.9 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.9 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 1 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 1 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 1 mi
  • Camp Nou: 1 mi
  • Nou Camp Stadium: 1 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 1 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 1.1 mi
  • FC Barcelona Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 1.1 mi
  • Barcelona Olympic Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Palau Blaugrana: 1.2 mi
  • Anella Olimpica: 1.2 mi
  • Palau Sant Jordi: 1.2 mi
  • Estadi Olímpic Lluís Companys: 1.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Montjuïc: 1.3 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 1.3 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • El Raval: 1.3 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 1.3 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 1.4 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 1.4 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 1.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 1.4 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 1.4 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 1.4 mi

Dining

Stop'n' Rest Zone
Fancy a bite to eat or a snack? At Stop'n'Rest you will find a casual 3-in-1 dining area that is a combination of reading corner, snack bar and restaurant. It has been created so that you can have something to eat at your own pace and in your own way surrounded by quality, comfort, and sharp design. It's a space designed to be used any day of the week, fitting in with your needs. An example of how we are trying to meet the needs of our guests at the Expo Hotel Barcelona.
La Terraza BCN Urban Club
Discover a fresh concept in La Terraza BCN Urban Club. An open-air space designed for you to switch off and be carried away by your senses. Guests can enjoy tasty gourmet burguers and a wide variety of cocktails, all surrounded by the stunnings views of the city. * Open from 11am to 1am. * Kitchen open all day. * Access from the 9th floor. * Seasonal - terms would vary depending on weather conditions.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have 9 multipurpose meeting rooms at your disposal, which can be adapted for various layouts and capacities. You will have the support of our highly advanced audiovisual and technical equipment, and a group of professionals with an acute attention to detail. Audiovisual equipment: * Computers (laptops or desktops) * Screen * Overhead projectors * Video projectors * T.V. and video * Printers * Spotlights * Megaphone (up to 2 microphones) with the option of a sound system * Flip Chart

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Expo Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 40
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pommie
Business
Australian
Oct 17, 2012

Get with the times

On arrival I was greeted by a very nice,helpful man.I was booked in for 1night only,but decided later to book in for another,I mensioned this to the clerk who told me I would have to come down in the morning to sign another contract.The next day I saw a girl on the desk who told me I would have free wifi nothing about breakfast,I paid 10euro's for my first and decided to give it a miss the next day I found out on leaving it came with the room and was told I had to pay for a room service.Get with the times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Dallas T
Business
dallas , texas , usa
Jan 29, 2013

Mr. W

This is an ok hotel but I am an American and I definitely dont find it 4 stars . The biggest problem is that there is nothing around this location save a supermkt and the train and metro lines . The hotel is equidistant btween the two . Those who say it is close to the metro ,ect. fail to state that it is at least 1/4 mile from the hotel to getting on the trains . Thus try this 4x per day or 6x coz you hve to do it everytime u go somewhere and I like the trains . Its just a lotta walking.....REMEMBER..nothing else in the area .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

food not bad in the Sants train station...basically sandwiches but good ones and this is the only thing I would eat in the area save shoping at the supermkt..

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MyDogPal
Business
Raleigh,NC, USA
Jul 19, 2013

overnighter

Not bad. Clean, good location, right price for an overnight stay. Staff was helpful. Not the biggest room, but the A/C worked well, and was worth the 80$ price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jjjrmy
Business
Oviedo, Florida
Nov 5, 2013

just okay

The lobby was very nice but the room not so much. Would not say this is 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tour bus

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES
May 23, 2011

Nice lobby, mediocre rooms.

Convenient location relative to the Trains / metro. But the "Executive Rooms" look nothing like the picture, don't be deceived. Nothing terribly wrong with them, but they were definitely not 4 stars... more like 2.5 stars. Staff + lobby are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient if you're trying to catch the train the next morning to the airport.

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Jun 10, 2010

first time

Hotel was ok not four star but was at a great location with a helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Puerto De Santa Maria, Spain
Sep 7, 2009

Barcelona

I flew into Barcelona at the Pratt Airport. The location was very convenient....if you knew where to get off the train at. It is located directly outside the Sants Estacion. When I checked in........my first thought was that the outside facade of the building was not that of a four star hotel. The inside of the lobby had been freshly renovated. When I checked in to my hotel room, however, I was not so happy. First of all the room I paid for on Orbitz was about the level that I would have expected from a two star or a bad three star in Spain. I immediately went down to the lobby and asked for an upgrade. I was happy to find out that an upgrade was only 8 euros per night. The room was much more to my liking....and was that of a decent four star. I did not like that you had to pay for the internet. I became very frustrated when my internet password didn't work on two occasions, causing me to have to go back downstairs to the lobby twice. Then my room key quit working twice. The rooms did however have an excellent view of the lights of Montjuic. Everything you would want to see such as the Las Ramblas, Barri Gotica, and Sagra Familia was within 5 to 7 euros for a taxi ride. I was impressed by the multi lingual staff. Each section of staff seemed to have a person that could speak up to three languages including Russian, English, Spanish, French, Catalunyan, and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Machiko
Business
Maidenhead, UK
Sep 30, 2014

Bathroom

Shower cubic is too small and there is no shelf to put my cosmetics items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a train between the airport and Barcelo Sants station where is close to the hotel. It takes 15 minutes only to get the hotel from airport and fare is cheaper than airport bus. Saving time and money.

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
becky.cali
Business
Santa Monica, CA, USA
Jul 20, 2012

Easy to overlook, but a gem in Barcelona

I've been to Barcelona 5 times now and typically have stayed in boutique hotels that were quite pricey. Now that I know the Bcn layout, I went with Expo Hotel because it was right across the street from Sants Estacio and I was coming in by train. Not only are the rooms comfortable, the staff is very nice and friendly, but you cannot beat the location! From Sants Estacio you can take any day-trip train (like Girona) or you can take the train to the Airport. The metro stop Tarragona (green line) literally a 3 min walk from the hotel, takes you straight to the Ramblas (Liceu stop) and you can connect to any other line very easily. I highly recommend this hotel! A wonderful value, great amenities (the rooftop bar is very nice) and one of the best locations you will find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're keen on visiting the Estadio FCB (Barcelona Soccer Team stadium), it's only a 30 min walk from the hotel. Go to google maps and seek walking directions betwen these two places: Point A: Sants Estació, Barcelona, Espanya Point B: Estadi del FC Barcelona, Carrer d'Arístides Maillol, Barcelona, Spain

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gertg
Business
Billings, Mt
Sep 9, 2013

great location to train station

Staff very friendly, rooms clean and great location to train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top