$106 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 4, 2014 Check-out: Dec 6, 2014

Expo Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
Mallorca, 1-23, Explotacion Hotelera Expo Sa, Barcelona, 08014
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
38 reviews
GOOD LOCATION

was here with my family for 2 night April 7th and 8th, room is clean, staff are friendly , location... See full review

  • YH TAN
  • Apr 12, 2014
Good Location

Very Good Location, I used this hotel last night I was in Spain closer to the airport and city... See full review

  • Vampyrlicious
  • Nov 6, 2013
Expo Hotel is specially designed to provide maximum comfort and functionality. Located just a few steps from the central Sants railway station and the fair grounds (Fira Barcelona), this hotel is also only a few minutes from the famous Avenida Diagonal, Barcelona's financial and commercial centre. Plaza Catalunya is a 5 minute journey by local train. The hotel offers the Stop'n'Rest zone, a casual 3-in-1 dining area that is a combination of reading corner, snack bar and restaurant, outdoor swimming pool (open May to September), 9 meetings rooms and parking. All of the 423 rooms in the Expo Hotel Barcelona are of very good size, right up from the 184 standard rooms and 26 individual rooms to the 213 executive bedrooms. The impressive facilities include a rooftop swimming pool, terrace with stunning panoramic views out over the city, banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, doctor on call, dry cleaning, free Internet access - wireless, laundry service - at cost, lift/ elevator, lobby, non-smoking rooms, parking facilities - at cost, reception, restaurant, room service - at cost, safe deposit box, smoke-free hotel, solarium, swimming pool - outdoor.

Hotel Map

41.3787 2.1424
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona El Prat Airport.
Area description
This stylish, modern 4-star hotel has a prime location in one of Barcelona's most important business centres, near the Barcelona Sants train station and the Montjuic exhibition centre. It's very close to the city's historic centre, the hotel's convenient location means it has good access to Barcelona's fast, efficient public transport network, as well as the city's major roads. The hotel is located just off one of Barcelona's main thoroughfares, Avenida Diagonal, which cuts through the financial and commercial heart of the city. Two kilometres away you will find the cultural centre, based around La Rambla and Plaza Catalunya, where Modernism meets Gothic and runs down to the coast.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Expo Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Expo Hotel Barcelona Rooms

Superior Room
Room with two twin beds or one double bed, it's especially designed to meet the needs of your professional activities. The hotel offers elegant decoration in bright and spacious rooms. The room offers air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, free Wireless internet access, laundry service, mini bar - at cost, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, room service - at cost, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Room
Room with two twin beds (double bed on request)fully equipped to offer the highest comfort and functionality. The room has elegant design with warm tones. With personalised service, the hotel will make sure that you feel just like at home. The room offers air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, free Wireless Internet access, laundry service, mini bar - at cost, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, room service - at cost, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.1 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.4 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.6 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.6 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.7 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.8 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.8 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.1 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.4 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.6 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.6 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.7 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.8 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.8 mi
  • Palau Nacional: 0.9 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.9 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 1 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 1 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 1 mi
  • Camp Nou: 1 mi
  • Nou Camp Stadium: 1 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 1 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 1.1 mi
  • FC Barcelona Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 1.1 mi
  • Barcelona Olympic Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Palau Blaugrana: 1.2 mi
  • Anella Olimpica: 1.2 mi
  • Palau Sant Jordi: 1.2 mi
  • Estadi Olímpic Lluís Companys: 1.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Montjuïc: 1.3 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 1.3 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • El Raval: 1.3 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 1.3 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 1.4 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 1.4 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 1.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 1.4 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 1.4 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 1.4 mi

Dining

Stop'n' Rest Zone
Fancy a bite to eat or a snack? At Stop'n'Rest you will find a casual 3-in-1 dining area that is a combination of reading corner, snack bar and restaurant. It has been created so that you can have something to eat at your own pace and in your own way surrounded by quality, comfort, and sharp design. It's a space designed to be used any day of the week, fitting in with your needs. An example of how we are trying to meet the needs of our guests at the Expo Hotel Barcelona.
La Terraza BCN Urban Club
Discover a fresh concept in La Terraza BCN Urban Club. An open-air space designed for you to switch off and be carried away by your senses. Guests can enjoy tasty gourmet burguers and a wide variety of cocktails, all surrounded by the stunnings views of the city. * Open from 11am to 1am. * Kitchen open all day. * Access from the 9th floor. * Seasonal - terms would vary depending on weather conditions.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have 9 multipurpose meeting rooms at your disposal, which can be adapted for various layouts and capacities. You will have the support of our highly advanced audiovisual and technical equipment, and a group of professionals with an acute attention to detail. Audiovisual equipment: * Computers (laptops or desktops) * Screen * Overhead projectors * Video projectors * T.V. and video * Printers * Spotlights * Megaphone (up to 2 microphones) with the option of a sound system * Flip Chart

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Expo Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colleen and Scott
Business
Orlando, Fl
Sep 26, 2012

Ask for detailed charges........

Everything was good here. The breakfast buffet was a good deal if you book the night before. The only down side was I didn't care for the hot section, which included eggs, "bacon", and some sort of sausage. I loved the cold section which made it worth it. Cold section included fresh fruits that were very sweet, cold cuts of ham and poultry and cheeses. There were toasters for your selection of bread. Pastries were ok. The distance to and from the train station was a short walk which was very convenient for the trip to and from the airport. I would recommend to get on the metro from the Terragon location, it seemed to be a shorter walk than if you went thru the train station. I loved our room #867, but the only complaint is that I booked executive online, paid the extra fee, was asked about the executive room when I got to the hotel which I said "yes, executive" and was going to be charged extra when I was checking out. When I was told the balance due, I asked for a detail of the charges and that is when I noticed the extra charges again which I was told for the upgrade to executive. When I told the hotel representative that I already paid for the executive room online, he reluctantly took off the charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arena de Barcelona is a short distance (you can see from the corner on the street the Expo is on). This mall has many different restaurants or "fast food" places but our fav was on the top floor, Mussol. Excellent food no matter what you order. Had dinner there 3 nights. Another tip, BCN card! So worth it!!! Ok one more, do not take USD traveler's checks! Only one bank BBVA in the centre (north of the Rambla - across from the fountains) will cash them, maximum of $1000. and charged 24 Euros up front and the exchange rate was a rip. I paid for excursions already which was 1.25 exchange rate but was charged 1.30 at the bank.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pooja
Business
London
Jan 2, 2013

Good getaway

Good hotel and the breakfast was good.Room clean . Metro & train stations are near hotel .Room service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Jim
Business
France
Mar 5, 2013

excellent location for station

Excellent location, smooth service, just a bit disappointed no tea-making facilities in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
12ax7
Business
Cleveland, USA
Apr 16, 2013

Hotel Expo Barcelona

This is an excellent business hotel, very close to Barcelona Sants train station and the metro. The room and public areas were very clean. It is large hotel, but the staff were extremely helpful. The hotel has a nice lounge floor, and there are several cafes and restaurants across the street. The price was quite reasonable as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling for work
Business
UK
Jun 1, 2013

Clean, pleasant hotel

The first room we were checked in to (on the 9th floor) was small and not up to 4* standard. The room also didn't have wifi so we asked to move, and were given a room on the 6th floor. This was much larger with much better facilities, though still a 'standard' room. My rating of the hotel would have been lower had we not been moved to the new room as the room on the 9th floor was rather tired-looking as well as small. We found staff very variable in attitude and helpfulness too. The hotel is well placed for the metro and Sants train station, and is in walking distance of the Placa Espanya. The hotel has a small pool on the roof, but unfortunately this is only open until 5pm, and it would have been nice to be able to use it later than that. There is a nice terrace bar/ cafe (although pricey).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SN128
Business
Waukegan, IL
Jun 21, 2013

Great location with good price

We went to Barcelona for MotoGP at Circuit de Catalunya. We picked this hotel because of its location and reasonable price. Close to both Metro and commuter train stations makes it convenient to go to the track in Montmelo and tourist attractions in Barcelona. We didn't eat at the hotel, becuase variety of food can be found close by at more reasonable prices. Check out Passeig de Antoni (street name) just a half a mile from the hotel for variety of food including tapas and paellas. Will stay here again. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Placa de les Arenes - Shopping center/ Movie theater/ Dining/ 360 panoramic view of Barcelona. 3/4 of a mile-walk from Hotel Expo. Only one euro to take an elevator up to the top to check out 360 panoramic view of the city. Located next to Joan Miro Park. Pick up gelato from there and have it in the park!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ornage
Business
tel aviv
Jun 23, 2013

A very good hotel for the price

We were a family with 3 kids and enjoyed the hotel a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants across the street from the hotel (on the main entrance side) are all reasonable. Also, there's a supermarket around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weidli
Business
Illinois
Jul 15, 2013

Great location

The staff was outstanding. They went out of their way to help me with a computer issue. 9th floor is definitely noisy I recommend you stay on a different level. The bar is right above 9th floor. Otherwise terrific place with a great breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping center has a good choice of restaurants on top level with great views of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blather
Business
Reading UK
Jul 24, 2013

Sants location Expo

lovely hotel - pool is smaller than photos make out but its fine for getting a cool dip after a catching a few rays on the top deck location wise its brilliant for the main station ( and underground) - you can see it straight out of the station ;) theres also another underground within a couple of mins walk ( taragonna ) close to the montjuc park fountains ( a must see on a summer evening ) and a tower shaped shopping centre with nice restaurants on top - but not much else - however the good underground links make it accessible to the rest of the city :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jayemess
Business
Malvern, England
Jul 27, 2013

A Great Hotel

This is our second visit to this hotel. The view from the 9tgh floor is great, the rooftop terrace and swimming pool are great, the rooms are air-conditioned and very comfortable and they are efficiently cleaned daily. The staff are especially marvellous, courteous, kind and friendly and the prices are very reasonable. It is very close to a main station, Sants Estacio, and the metro, and is only a short walk to the Magic Fountains and other well-known tourist sites. I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a 10-trip metro ticket for 9.8 euros - you can go anywhere in Barcelona, even to the airport, on less than 1 euro per journey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top