$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Expo Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
View map of Mallorca, 1-23, Explotacion Hotelera Expo Sa, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Expo Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
becky.cali
Business
Santa Monica, CA, USA
Jul 20, 2012

Easy to overlook, but a gem in Barcelona

I've been to Barcelona 5 times now and typically have stayed in boutique hotels that were quite pricey. Now that I know the Bcn layout, I went with Expo Hotel because it was right across the street from Sants Estacio and I was coming in by train. Not only are the rooms comfortable, the staff is very nice and friendly, but you cannot beat the location! From Sants Estacio you can take any day-trip train (like Girona) or you can take the train to the Airport. The metro stop Tarragona (green line) literally a 3 min walk from the hotel, takes you straight to the Ramblas (Liceu stop) and you can connect to any other line very easily. I highly recommend this hotel! A wonderful value, great amenities (the rooftop bar is very nice) and one of the best locations you will find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're keen on visiting the Estadio FCB (Barcelona Soccer Team stadium), it's only a 30 min walk from the hotel. Go to google maps and seek walking directions betwen these two places: Point A: Sants Estació, Barcelona, Espanya Point B: Estadi del FC Barcelona, Carrer d'Arístides Maillol, Barcelona, Spain

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colleen and Scott
Business
Orlando, Fl
Sep 26, 2012

Ask for detailed charges........

Everything was good here. The breakfast buffet was a good deal if you book the night before. The only down side was I didn't care for the hot section, which included eggs, "bacon", and some sort of sausage. I loved the cold section which made it worth it. Cold section included fresh fruits that were very sweet, cold cuts of ham and poultry and cheeses. There were toasters for your selection of bread. Pastries were ok. The distance to and from the train station was a short walk which was very convenient for the trip to and from the airport. I would recommend to get on the metro from the Terragon location, it seemed to be a shorter walk than if you went thru the train station. I loved our room #867, but the only complaint is that I booked executive online, paid the extra fee, was asked about the executive room when I got to the hotel which I said "yes, executive" and was going to be charged extra when I was checking out. When I was told the balance due, I asked for a detail of the charges and that is when I noticed the extra charges again which I was told for the upgrade to executive. When I told the hotel representative that I already paid for the executive room online, he reluctantly took off the charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arena de Barcelona is a short distance (you can see from the corner on the street the Expo is on). This mall has many different restaurants or "fast food" places but our fav was on the top floor, Mussol. Excellent food no matter what you order. Had dinner there 3 nights. Another tip, BCN card! So worth it!!! Ok one more, do not take USD traveler's checks! Only one bank BBVA in the centre (north of the Rambla - across from the fountains) will cash them, maximum of $1000. and charged 24 Euros up front and the exchange rate was a rip. I paid for excursions already which was 1.25 exchange rate but was charged 1.30 at the bank.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pooja
Business
London
Jan 2, 2013

Good getaway

Good hotel and the breakfast was good.Room clean . Metro & train stations are near hotel .Room service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Jim
Business
France
Mar 5, 2013

excellent location for station

Excellent location, smooth service, just a bit disappointed no tea-making facilities in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
12ax7
Business
Cleveland, USA
Apr 16, 2013

Hotel Expo Barcelona

This is an excellent business hotel, very close to Barcelona Sants train station and the metro. The room and public areas were very clean. It is large hotel, but the staff were extremely helpful. The hotel has a nice lounge floor, and there are several cafes and restaurants across the street. The price was quite reasonable as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling for work
Business
UK
Jun 1, 2013

Clean, pleasant hotel

The first room we were checked in to (on the 9th floor) was small and not up to 4* standard. The room also didn't have wifi so we asked to move, and were given a room on the 6th floor. This was much larger with much better facilities, though still a 'standard' room. My rating of the hotel would have been lower had we not been moved to the new room as the room on the 9th floor was rather tired-looking as well as small. We found staff very variable in attitude and helpfulness too. The hotel is well placed for the metro and Sants train station, and is in walking distance of the Placa Espanya. The hotel has a small pool on the roof, but unfortunately this is only open until 5pm, and it would have been nice to be able to use it later than that. There is a nice terrace bar/ cafe (although pricey).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SN128
Business
Waukegan, IL
Jun 21, 2013

Great location with good price

We went to Barcelona for MotoGP at Circuit de Catalunya. We picked this hotel because of its location and reasonable price. Close to both Metro and commuter train stations makes it convenient to go to the track in Montmelo and tourist attractions in Barcelona. We didn't eat at the hotel, becuase variety of food can be found close by at more reasonable prices. Check out Passeig de Antoni (street name) just a half a mile from the hotel for variety of food including tapas and paellas. Will stay here again. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Placa de les Arenes - Shopping center/ Movie theater/ Dining/ 360 panoramic view of Barcelona. 3/4 of a mile-walk from Hotel Expo. Only one euro to take an elevator up to the top to check out 360 panoramic view of the city. Located next to Joan Miro Park. Pick up gelato from there and have it in the park!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ornage
Business
tel aviv
Jun 23, 2013

A very good hotel for the price

We were a family with 3 kids and enjoyed the hotel a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants across the street from the hotel (on the main entrance side) are all reasonable. Also, there's a supermarket around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
weidli
Business
Illinois
Jul 15, 2013

Great location

The staff was outstanding. They went out of their way to help me with a computer issue. 9th floor is definitely noisy I recommend you stay on a different level. The bar is right above 9th floor. Otherwise terrific place with a great breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping center has a good choice of restaurants on top level with great views of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blather
Business
Reading UK
Jul 24, 2013

Sants location Expo

lovely hotel - pool is smaller than photos make out but its fine for getting a cool dip after a catching a few rays on the top deck location wise its brilliant for the main station ( and underground) - you can see it straight out of the station ;) theres also another underground within a couple of mins walk ( taragonna ) close to the montjuc park fountains ( a must see on a summer evening ) and a tower shaped shopping centre with nice restaurants on top - but not much else - however the good underground links make it accessible to the rest of the city :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top