$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Expo Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
Mallorca, 1-23, Explotacion Hotelera Expo Sa, Barcelona, 08014
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
44 reviews
GOOD LOCATION

was here with my family for 2 night April 7th and 8th, room is clean, staff are friendly , location... See full review

  • YH TAN
  • Apr 12, 2014
Good Location

Very Good Location, I used this hotel last night I was in Spain closer to the airport and city... See full review

  • Vampyrlicious
  • Nov 6, 2013
Expo Hotel is specially designed to provide maximum comfort and functionality. Located just a few steps from the central Sants railway station and the fair grounds (Fira Barcelona), this hotel is also only a few minutes from the famous Avenida Diagonal, Barcelona's financial and commercial centre. Plaza Catalunya is a 5 minute journey by local train. The hotel offers the Stop'n'Rest zone, a casual 3-in-1 dining area that is a combination of reading corner, snack bar and restaurant, outdoor swimming pool (open May to September), 9 meetings rooms and parking. All of the 423 rooms in the Expo Hotel Barcelona are of very good size, right up from the 184 standard rooms and 26 individual rooms to the 213 executive bedrooms. The impressive facilities include a rooftop swimming pool, terrace with stunning panoramic views out over the city, banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, doctor on call, dry cleaning, free Internet access - wireless, laundry service - at cost, lift/ elevator, lobby, non-smoking rooms, parking facilities - at cost, reception, restaurant, room service - at cost, safe deposit box - at cost, smoke-free hotel, solarium, swimming pool - outdoor.

Hotel Map

41.3787 2.1424
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona El Prat Airport.
Area description
This stylish, modern 4-star hotel has a prime location in one of Barcelona's most important business centres, near the Barcelona Sants train station and the Montjuic exhibition centre. It's very close to the city's historic centre, the hotel's convenient location means it has good access to Barcelona's fast, efficient public transport network, as well as the city's major roads. The hotel is located just off one of Barcelona's main thoroughfares, Avenida Diagonal, which cuts through the financial and commercial heart of the city. Two kilometres away you will find the cultural centre, based around La Rambla and Plaza Catalunya, where Modernism meets Gothic and runs down to the coast.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Expo Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Expo Hotel Barcelona Rooms

Executive Room
Room with one twin bed or one double bed is especially designed to meet the needs of your professional activities. The hotel offers new and modern design and elegant decoration in bright and spacious executive rooms. The room offers air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, free Wireless internet access, laundry service, mini bar - at cost, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, room service - at cost, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Room
Room with one twin bed is fully equipped to offer the highest comfort and functionality. The room has elegant design with warm tones. With personalised service, the hotel will make sure that you feel just like at home. The room offers air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, free Wireless Internet access, laundry service, mini bar - at cost, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, room service - at cost, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.1 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.4 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.6 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.6 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.7 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.8 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.8 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.1 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.4 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.6 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.6 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.7 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.8 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.8 mi
  • Palau Nacional: 0.9 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.9 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 1 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 1 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 1 mi
  • Camp Nou: 1 mi
  • Nou Camp Stadium: 1 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 1 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 1.1 mi
  • FC Barcelona Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 1.1 mi
  • Barcelona Olympic Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Palau Blaugrana: 1.2 mi
  • Anella Olimpica: 1.2 mi
  • Palau Sant Jordi: 1.2 mi
  • Estadi Olímpic Lluís Companys: 1.2 mi
  • Plaza Catalunya: 1.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Montjuïc: 1.3 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 1.3 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • El Raval: 1.3 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 1.3 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 1.4 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 1.4 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 1.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 1.4 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 1.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have 9 multipurpose function rooms at your disposal, which can be adapted for various layouts and capacities. You will have the support of our highly advanced audiovisual and technical equipment, and a group of professionals with an acute attention to detail. Audiovisual equipment: * Computers (laptops or desktops) * Screen * Overhead projectors * Video projectors * T.V. and video * Printers * Spotlights * Megaphone (up to 2 microphones) with the option of a sound system * Flip Chart

Dining

Stop'n' Rest Zone
Fancy a bite to eat or a snack? At Stop'n'Rest you will find a casual 3-in-1 dining area that is a combination of reading corner, snack bar and restaurant. It has been created so that you can have something to eat at your own pace and in your own way surrounded by quality, comfort, and sharp design. It's a space designed to be used any day of the week, fitting in with your needs. An example of how we are trying to meet the needs of our guests at the Expo Hotel Barcelona.
The Chillout Terrace
Discover a new take on relaxation on The BCN Terrace. An open-air space designed for you to switch off and be carried away by your senses. During the day, it is a choice location for meetings, entertainment, relaxation, sunbathing or having a meal. And at night, the long drinks and the chill-out sounds will be stars of the show. * Open from 11am to 1am. * Kitchen open all day. * On the 10th floor. * Seasonal - terms would vary depending on weather conditions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Expo Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StaceyMeh
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 13, 2013

Prison walls

This hotel looks great from the lobby, however our double room looked more like a prison cell than a 4 star hotel. The beds were tiny, (I'm 157 cm) they were uncomfortable and the walls and door frames were dirty and beat up. Less than impressed with this hotel. Much more like a hostel with a 4 star hotel price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pommie
Australian
Oct 17, 2012

Get with the times

On arrival I was greeted by a very nice,helpful man.I was booked in for 1night only,but decided later to book in for another,I mensioned this to the clerk who told me I would have to come down in the morning to sign another contract.The next day I saw a girl on the desk who told me I would have free wifi nothing about breakfast,I paid 10euro's for my first and decided to give it a miss the next day I found out on leaving it came with the room and was told I had to pay for a room service.Get with the times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott Pilgrim
Berkeley, CA
Jun 15, 2011

Average city hotel

We stayed at Expo Hotel for one night in June. We booked it under the premise that it was a nice 4* hotel in a nice location. The hotel presents itself well - nice, moden lobby, with competent staff that can speak multiple languages. However, the room doesn't quite share the modern look of the lobby and would fit a 3* hotel better than a 4* one. Nonetheless, it is still clean and confortable. Another thing that was particularly striking was the fact that the hotel's pricing scheme resembles that of a low-cost EasyJet-hotel, rather than a 4* one. Meaning, everything is priced: internet (which you have to pay by the hour/day, and it is good for one user only, not one room), breakfast, etc. Location if fairly good: close to the Tarragona metro station and a 15-minute walk to Gran Via. I have stayed at other 4* hotels in Barcelona and can say that the Expo Hotel is below par. I would only go there if I got a really low rate, as it is more of a 3* hotel than a 4* one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
florida
Jun 10, 2010

first time

Hotel was ok not four star but was at a great location with a helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
LOS ANGELES
May 23, 2011

Nice lobby, mediocre rooms.

Convenient location relative to the Trains / metro. But the "Executive Rooms" look nothing like the picture, don't be deceived. Nothing terribly wrong with them, but they were definitely not 4 stars... more like 2.5 stars. Staff + lobby are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient if you're trying to catch the train the next morning to the airport.

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Puerto De Santa Maria, Spain
Sep 7, 2009

Barcelona

I flew into Barcelona at the Pratt Airport. The location was very convenient....if you knew where to get off the train at. It is located directly outside the Sants Estacion. When I checked in........my first thought was that the outside facade of the building was not that of a four star hotel. The inside of the lobby had been freshly renovated. When I checked in to my hotel room, however, I was not so happy. First of all the room I paid for on Orbitz was about the level that I would have expected from a two star or a bad three star in Spain. I immediately went down to the lobby and asked for an upgrade. I was happy to find out that an upgrade was only 8 euros per night. The room was much more to my liking....and was that of a decent four star. I did not like that you had to pay for the internet. I became very frustrated when my internet password didn't work on two occasions, causing me to have to go back downstairs to the lobby twice. Then my room key quit working twice. The rooms did however have an excellent view of the lights of Montjuic. Everything you would want to see such as the Las Ramblas, Barri Gotica, and Sagra Familia was within 5 to 7 euros for a taxi ride. I was impressed by the multi lingual staff. Each section of staff seemed to have a person that could speak up to three languages including Russian, English, Spanish, French, Catalunyan, and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christianpants
Brighton, UK
Oct 11, 2013

Good location, but defo not 4 star

Nice hotel with ideal location for Tourist Bus and main train station, but upgrade to Executive was not great! Breakfast was hard work with not much fresh food out in the morning, and the pool area looked tired. Views from our executive room was not great, and you can hear traffic despite windows being closed. Great base from which to explore Barcelona, but there's not much within walking distance other than a couple of restaurants and a large shopping mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza place across the road is great!

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
florida
Jun 10, 2010

first time

Hotel was ok not four star but was at a great location with a helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MyDogPal
Raleigh,NC, USA
Jul 19, 2013

overnighter

Not bad. Clean, good location, right price for an overnight stay. Staff was helpful. Not the biggest room, but the A/C worked well, and was worth the 80$ price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
El Puerto De Santa Maria, Spain
Sep 7, 2009

Barcelona

I flew into Barcelona at the Pratt Airport. The location was very convenient....if you knew where to get off the train at. It is located directly outside the Sants Estacion. When I checked in........my first thought was that the outside facade of the building was not that of a four star hotel. The inside of the lobby had been freshly renovated. When I checked in to my hotel room, however, I was not so happy. First of all the room I paid for on Orbitz was about the level that I would have expected from a two star or a bad three star in Spain. I immediately went down to the lobby and asked for an upgrade. I was happy to find out that an upgrade was only 8 euros per night. The room was much more to my liking....and was that of a decent four star. I did not like that you had to pay for the internet. I became very frustrated when my internet password didn't work on two occasions, causing me to have to go back downstairs to the lobby twice. Then my room key quit working twice. The rooms did however have an excellent view of the lights of Montjuic. Everything you would want to see such as the Las Ramblas, Barri Gotica, and Sagra Familia was within 5 to 7 euros for a taxi ride. I was impressed by the multi lingual staff. Each section of staff seemed to have a person that could speak up to three languages including Russian, English, Spanish, French, Catalunyan, and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top