$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Expo Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
View map of Mallorca, 1-23, Explotacion Hotelera Expo Sa, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Expo Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Macb
Blackpool, UK
Dec 2, 2012

Barcelona Chill Out

We have stayed at this hotel previously.We think It is in an excellent location for getting around Barcelona due to the excellent subway system and is just a short walk from Saints train station. You can also get on the train from the airport taking you to Saints train station which is far cheaper than getting a taxi. Worth buying a T10 ticket for around 10 euros for 10 trips on the subway. We found the hotel very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. We ate in the bar a couple of times and the food was good. The only down side to this hotel but we think is outweighed by the service and location is the bed mattresses. Both my wife and I found them uncomfortable resulting in sore backs each morning. If you like shopping the Roca Village trip is worth a visit. It's not very large but is a very nice outlet village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Hop on hop off tour buses so you can stop off at one or more of the shopping areas and just hop back on the next bus.

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ipg12
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Apr 15, 2012

No-frills hotel that still feels fancy

I was surprised how inexpensive the rooms were for a 4-star hotel. When we arrived there though, we found out that it's because every little extra costs a small fee. The regular room that I booked was very spartan, but for only 5 Euro we upgraded to an "executive" room which was very nice and comfortable. Internet, breakfast, the office center, and even the room safe cost a few euro extra, which is annoying if you need those things, but keeps the cost down if you end up not wanting them. Overall, it was very pleasant. Every room has balcony access for some fresh air, and the hotel is blocks away from two metro stations, the rail station, and the 5-Euro Aerobus to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk from the hotel to Plaça Espanya, and continue walking through the two big brick towers toward the hill ahead of you. Up that hill, at the top of the stairs infront of the museum, is an amazing view of Barcelona.

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AndeeC
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Good

The staff was rather friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean, but we did have an issue with noise complaints from our neighbors which I would gather was due to the thin walls as opposed to us having an excessive noise level. The only downfall was that we were charged for purchasing from the minibar because wrappers were left behind by the previous guests. This incident did make me question how thoroughly the hotel room was cleaned prior to our arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely recommend the pizza place right across the street. Not only is the proximity to the hotel a major selling point but the waiters were extremely friendly, the food was good, the sangria was amazing, and the desserts were the cherry on top.

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Jul 7, 2011

Relaxing

We really enjoy our stay at the hotel. The employees were extremely helpful. They tried to make our stay in a family kind of ambient. The breakfast was super and we enjoy the terrace on the 10th floor. This trip was fantastic and the accommodations were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott Pilgrim
Business
Berkeley, CA
Jun 15, 2011

Average city hotel

We stayed at Expo Hotel for one night in June. We booked it under the premise that it was a nice 4* hotel in a nice location. The hotel presents itself well - nice, moden lobby, with competent staff that can speak multiple languages. However, the room doesn't quite share the modern look of the lobby and would fit a 3* hotel better than a 4* one. Nonetheless, it is still clean and confortable. Another thing that was particularly striking was the fact that the hotel's pricing scheme resembles that of a low-cost EasyJet-hotel, rather than a 4* one. Meaning, everything is priced: internet (which you have to pay by the hour/day, and it is good for one user only, not one room), breakfast, etc. Location if fairly good: close to the Tarragona metro station and a 15-minute walk to Gran Via. I have stayed at other 4* hotels in Barcelona and can say that the Expo Hotel is below par. I would only go there if I got a really low rate, as it is more of a 3* hotel than a 4* one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES
May 23, 2011

Nice lobby, mediocre rooms.

Convenient location relative to the Trains / metro. But the "Executive Rooms" look nothing like the picture, don't be deceived. Nothing terribly wrong with them, but they were definitely not 4 stars... more like 2.5 stars. Staff + lobby are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient if you're trying to catch the train the next morning to the airport.

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
g!
Business
gemany
Feb 21, 2011

I love Barcelona

The staff was great. Antonio is wonderful! The place was clean and the food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro and main train station is across the street.

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
g!
Business
gemany
Feb 21, 2011

I love Barcelona

The staff was great. Antonio is wonderful! The place was clean and the food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro and main train station is across the street.

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrownMagic
Business
Mildenhall, UK
Feb 1, 2011

Pretty Nice Hotel

From the airport my friends and I took a cab to the hotel and it cost about 25 Euro. The drive was about 20 minutes, so it wasn't bad. When arriving at the hotel the staff was very nice and it helped that they spoke English. If you plan on staying at this hotel I recommend paying the extra money to upgrade to an Executive bedroom. The Executive bedroom was very nice and clean. The only downside I would say is that the bed was pretty stiff and the comforter could have been nicer. Overall I would recommend this hotel to friends. It's very close to the tube, but my friends and I found it easier to take cabs everywhere. The hotel is with in walking distance to a few nice sights, but it will cost you about 15 Euro for a cab ride to the nicer Bars/Clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Dress to Impress! The better you dress, the better they will treat you. I went to a club and it seemed like the bouncer raised the age limit just for my friends because they didn't dress as nice as myself and others.

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrownMagic
Business
Mildenhall, UK
Feb 1, 2011

Pretty Nice Hotel

From the airport my friends and I took a cab to the hotel and it cost about 25 Euro. The drive was about 20 minutes, so it wasn't bad. When arriving at the hotel the staff was very nice and it helped that they spoke English. If you plan on staying at this hotel I recommend paying the extra money to upgrade to an Executive bedroom. The Executive bedroom was very nice and clean. The only downside I would say is that the bed was pretty stiff and the comforter could have been nicer. Overall I would recommend this hotel to friends. It's very close to the tube, but my friends and I found it easier to take cabs everywhere. The hotel is with in walking distance to a few nice sights, but it will cost you about 15 Euro for a cab ride to the nicer Bars/Clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Dress to Impress! The better you dress, the better they will treat you. I went to a club and it seemed like the bouncer raised the age limit just for my friends because they didn't dress as nice as myself and others.

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ProWorldTraveler
Business
Long Island, NY
Jan 26, 2011

Barcelona was Great!

It was nice, very clean, excellent food. One of the most friendly staffs I've encountered

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top