$73 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Expo Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
View map of Mallorca, 1-23, Explotacion Hotelera Expo Sa, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Expo Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott Pilgrim
Business
Berkeley, CA
Jun 15, 2011

Average city hotel

We stayed at Expo Hotel for one night in June. We booked it under the premise that it was a nice 4* hotel in a nice location. The hotel presents itself well - nice, moden lobby, with competent staff that can speak multiple languages. However, the room doesn't quite share the modern look of the lobby and would fit a 3* hotel better than a 4* one. Nonetheless, it is still clean and confortable. Another thing that was particularly striking was the fact that the hotel's pricing scheme resembles that of a low-cost EasyJet-hotel, rather than a 4* one. Meaning, everything is priced: internet (which you have to pay by the hour/day, and it is good for one user only, not one room), breakfast, etc. Location if fairly good: close to the Tarragona metro station and a 15-minute walk to Gran Via. I have stayed at other 4* hotels in Barcelona and can say that the Expo Hotel is below par. I would only go there if I got a really low rate, as it is more of a 3* hotel than a 4* one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES
May 23, 2011

Nice lobby, mediocre rooms.

Convenient location relative to the Trains / metro. But the "Executive Rooms" look nothing like the picture, don't be deceived. Nothing terribly wrong with them, but they were definitely not 4 stars... more like 2.5 stars. Staff + lobby are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient if you're trying to catch the train the next morning to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
g!
Business
gemany
Feb 21, 2011

I love Barcelona

The staff was great. Antonio is wonderful! The place was clean and the food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro and main train station is across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrownMagic
Business
Mildenhall, UK
Feb 1, 2011

Pretty Nice Hotel

From the airport my friends and I took a cab to the hotel and it cost about 25 Euro. The drive was about 20 minutes, so it wasn't bad. When arriving at the hotel the staff was very nice and it helped that they spoke English. If you plan on staying at this hotel I recommend paying the extra money to upgrade to an Executive bedroom. The Executive bedroom was very nice and clean. The only downside I would say is that the bed was pretty stiff and the comforter could have been nicer. Overall I would recommend this hotel to friends. It's very close to the tube, but my friends and I found it easier to take cabs everywhere. The hotel is with in walking distance to a few nice sights, but it will cost you about 15 Euro for a cab ride to the nicer Bars/Clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Dress to Impress! The better you dress, the better they will treat you. I went to a club and it seemed like the bouncer raised the age limit just for my friends because they didn't dress as nice as myself and others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ProWorldTraveler
Business
Long Island, NY
Jan 26, 2011

Barcelona was Great!

It was nice, very clean, excellent food. One of the most friendly staffs I've encountered

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
loveland, ohio
Jun 30, 2010

Very nice and worked great for me.

Staff always helpful, friendly and informed. Next to metro stop so traveling anywhere was easy. If you're a walker, it's even better, since the walk to all the tourist areas is pleasant and safe (and great exercise). Managed to blow a fuse in my room (plugged in converter the wrong way). Maintenance staff was up to fix it less than 10 minutes after I called the front desk and told them the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Jun 10, 2010

first time

Hotel was ok not four star but was at a great location with a helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cardsharx2
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 8, 2010

Great location!

Great location and an overall fantastic hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
[*] Man
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ
Sep 22, 2009

Nice Hotel

This hotel was very clean and I felt safe. It is only 5 blocks from the Plaza Espanya. However, it is about a good 15 blocks (30 min walk) from the Plaza Catalunya -- the more famous Plaza. Also, the hotel is one block from the Barcelo Sants train stop, so there is easy access to the airport (no need for a costly cab ride!). Just note the pool is a bit smaller than it is portrayed in the picture. Otherwise I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a giant mini-mart right around the corner from the hotel where you can buy snacks and any items you may have forgotten to take on your trip. Also note that all souvenir shops are run by Indians and you can negotiate on prices. Most of the time you can get them down to 50% of what they are asking for. Just start to walk away and they come back with a lower price. For example, I got a shirt that was marked 11.90 Euro for only 6 Euro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Puerto De Santa Maria, Spain
Sep 7, 2009

Barcelona

I flew into Barcelona at the Pratt Airport. The location was very convenient....if you knew where to get off the train at. It is located directly outside the Sants Estacion. When I checked in........my first thought was that the outside facade of the building was not that of a four star hotel. The inside of the lobby had been freshly renovated. When I checked in to my hotel room, however, I was not so happy. First of all the room I paid for on Orbitz was about the level that I would have expected from a two star or a bad three star in Spain. I immediately went down to the lobby and asked for an upgrade. I was happy to find out that an upgrade was only 8 euros per night. The room was much more to my liking....and was that of a decent four star. I did not like that you had to pay for the internet. I became very frustrated when my internet password didn't work on two occasions, causing me to have to go back downstairs to the lobby twice. Then my room key quit working twice. The rooms did however have an excellent view of the lights of Montjuic. Everything you would want to see such as the Las Ramblas, Barri Gotica, and Sagra Familia was within 5 to 7 euros for a taxi ride. I was impressed by the multi lingual staff. Each section of staff seemed to have a person that could speak up to three languages including Russian, English, Spanish, French, Catalunyan, and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top