$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Expo Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
Mallorca, 1-23, Explotacion Hotelera Expo Sa, Barcelona, 08014
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
38 reviews
GOOD LOCATION

was here with my family for 2 night April 7th and 8th, room is clean, staff are friendly , location... See full review

  • YH TAN
  • Apr 12, 2014
Good Location

Very Good Location, I used this hotel last night I was in Spain closer to the airport and city... See full review

  • Vampyrlicious
  • Nov 6, 2013
Expo Hotel is specially designed to provide maximum comfort and functionality. Located just a few steps from the central Sants railway station and the fair grounds (Fira Barcelona), this hotel is also only a few minutes from the famous Avenida Diagonal, Barcelona's financial and commercial centre. Plaza Catalunya is a 5 minute journey by local train. The hotel offers the Stop'n'Rest zone, a casual 3-in-1 dining area that is a combination of reading corner, snack bar and restaurant, outdoor swimming pool (open May to September), 9 meetings rooms and parking. All of the 423 rooms in the Expo Hotel Barcelona are of very good size, right up from the 184 standard rooms and 26 individual rooms to the 213 executive bedrooms. The impressive facilities include a rooftop swimming pool, terrace with stunning panoramic views out over the city, banquet facilities, bar, business center, conference facilities, currency exchange, doctor on call, dry cleaning, free Internet access - wireless, laundry service - at cost, lift/ elevator, lobby, non-smoking rooms, parking facilities - at cost, reception, restaurant, room service - at cost, safe deposit box, smoke-free hotel, solarium, swimming pool - outdoor.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Expo Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Expo Hotel Barcelona Rooms

Superior Room
Room with two twin beds or one double bed, it's especially designed to meet the needs of your professional activities. The hotel offers elegant decoration in bright and spacious rooms. The room offers air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, free Wireless internet access, laundry service, mini bar - at cost, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, room service - at cost, safe in room and telephone.
Standard Room
Room with two twin beds (double bed on request)fully equipped to offer the highest comfort and functionality. The room has elegant design with warm tones. With personalised service, the hotel will make sure that you feel just like at home. The room offers air conditioning, balcony / terrace, bathroom amenities, cable / satellite TV, color TV, ensuite / private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, free Wireless Internet access, laundry service, mini bar - at cost, non-smoking rooms, pay TV, room service - at cost, safe in room and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.1 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.4 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.6 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.6 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.7 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.8 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.8 mi
  • Parc de l'Espanya Industrial: 0.1 mi
  • Barcelona Sants railway station: 0.1 mi
  • Dona i Ocell: 0.2 mi
  • Plaza de Espanya: 0.4 mi
  • Fran Daurel Foundation: 0.6 mi
  • Carrer de Sants: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Fran Daurel: 0.6 mi
  • Fira de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Les Corts: 0.6 mi
  • CaixaForum: 0.6 mi
  • Plaza Espanya: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Pavilion: 0.7 mi
  • Poble Espanyol: 0.7 mi
  • Piscines Bernat Picornell: 0.8 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.8 mi
  • Palau Nacional: 0.9 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.9 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 1 mi
  • Sants Rail Station: 1 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 1 mi
  • Camp Nou: 1 mi
  • Nou Camp Stadium: 1 mi
  • Museu i Centre d’Estudis de l’Esport Dr Melcior Colet: 1 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 1.1 mi
  • FC Barcelona Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 1.1 mi
  • Barcelona Olympic Stadium: 1.2 mi
  • Palau Blaugrana: 1.2 mi
  • Anella Olimpica: 1.2 mi
  • Palau Sant Jordi: 1.2 mi
  • Estadi Olímpic Lluís Companys: 1.2 mi
  • University of Barcelona: 1.2 mi
  • Montjuïc: 1.3 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 1.3 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • El Raval: 1.3 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 1.3 mi
  • Museu del Modernismo Catala: 1.4 mi
  • Rambla de Catalunya: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 1.4 mi
  • Fundación Francisco Godia: 1.4 mi
  • Carrer de Pelai: 1.4 mi
  • Coliseum: 1.4 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 1.4 mi
  • Fundació Antoni Tàpies: 1.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We have 9 multipurpose meeting rooms at your disposal, which can be adapted for various layouts and capacities. You will have the support of our highly advanced audiovisual and technical equipment, and a group of professionals with an acute attention to detail. Audiovisual equipment: * Computers (laptops or desktops) * Screen * Overhead projectors * Video projectors * T.V. and video * Printers * Spotlights * Megaphone (up to 2 microphones) with the option of a sound system * Flip Chart

Dining

Stop'n' Rest Zone
Fancy a bite to eat or a snack? At Stop'n'Rest you will find a casual 3-in-1 dining area that is a combination of reading corner, snack bar and restaurant. It has been created so that you can have something to eat at your own pace and in your own way surrounded by quality, comfort, and sharp design. It's a space designed to be used any day of the week, fitting in with your needs. An example of how we are trying to meet the needs of our guests at the Expo Hotel Barcelona.
La Terraza BCN Urban Club
Discover a fresh concept in La Terraza BCN Urban Club. An open-air space designed for you to switch off and be carried away by your senses. Guests can enjoy tasty gourmet burguers and a wide variety of cocktails, all surrounded by the stunnings views of the city. * Open from 11am to 1am. * Kitchen open all day. * Access from the 9th floor. * Seasonal - terms would vary depending on weather conditions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for Expo Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pooja
Business
London
Jan 2, 2013

Good getaway

Good hotel and the breakfast was good.Room clean . Metro & train stations are near hotel .Room service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Macb
Business
Blackpool, UK
Dec 2, 2012

Barcelona Chill Out

We have stayed at this hotel previously.We think It is in an excellent location for getting around Barcelona due to the excellent subway system and is just a short walk from Saints train station. You can also get on the train from the airport taking you to Saints train station which is far cheaper than getting a taxi. Worth buying a T10 ticket for around 10 euros for 10 trips on the subway. We found the hotel very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. We ate in the bar a couple of times and the food was good. The only down side to this hotel but we think is outweighed by the service and location is the bed mattresses. Both my wife and I found them uncomfortable resulting in sore backs each morning. If you like shopping the Roca Village trip is worth a visit. It's not very large but is a very nice outlet village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Hop on hop off tour buses so you can stop off at one or more of the shopping areas and just hop back on the next bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pommie
Business
Australian
Oct 17, 2012

Get with the times

On arrival I was greeted by a very nice,helpful man.I was booked in for 1night only,but decided later to book in for another,I mensioned this to the clerk who told me I would have to come down in the morning to sign another contract.The next day I saw a girl on the desk who told me I would have free wifi nothing about breakfast,I paid 10euro's for my first and decided to give it a miss the next day I found out on leaving it came with the room and was told I had to pay for a room service.Get with the times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colleen and Scott
Business
Orlando, Fl
Sep 26, 2012

Ask for detailed charges........

Everything was good here. The breakfast buffet was a good deal if you book the night before. The only down side was I didn't care for the hot section, which included eggs, "bacon", and some sort of sausage. I loved the cold section which made it worth it. Cold section included fresh fruits that were very sweet, cold cuts of ham and poultry and cheeses. There were toasters for your selection of bread. Pastries were ok. The distance to and from the train station was a short walk which was very convenient for the trip to and from the airport. I would recommend to get on the metro from the Terragon location, it seemed to be a shorter walk than if you went thru the train station. I loved our room #867, but the only complaint is that I booked executive online, paid the extra fee, was asked about the executive room when I got to the hotel which I said "yes, executive" and was going to be charged extra when I was checking out. When I was told the balance due, I asked for a detail of the charges and that is when I noticed the extra charges again which I was told for the upgrade to executive. When I told the hotel representative that I already paid for the executive room online, he reluctantly took off the charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arena de Barcelona is a short distance (you can see from the corner on the street the Expo is on). This mall has many different restaurants or "fast food" places but our fav was on the top floor, Mussol. Excellent food no matter what you order. Had dinner there 3 nights. Another tip, BCN card! So worth it!!! Ok one more, do not take USD traveler's checks! Only one bank BBVA in the centre (north of the Rambla - across from the fountains) will cash them, maximum of $1000. and charged 24 Euros up front and the exchange rate was a rip. I paid for excursions already which was 1.25 exchange rate but was charged 1.30 at the bank.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
becky.cali
Business
Santa Monica, CA, USA
Jul 20, 2012

Easy to overlook, but a gem in Barcelona

I've been to Barcelona 5 times now and typically have stayed in boutique hotels that were quite pricey. Now that I know the Bcn layout, I went with Expo Hotel because it was right across the street from Sants Estacio and I was coming in by train. Not only are the rooms comfortable, the staff is very nice and friendly, but you cannot beat the location! From Sants Estacio you can take any day-trip train (like Girona) or you can take the train to the Airport. The metro stop Tarragona (green line) literally a 3 min walk from the hotel, takes you straight to the Ramblas (Liceu stop) and you can connect to any other line very easily. I highly recommend this hotel! A wonderful value, great amenities (the rooftop bar is very nice) and one of the best locations you will find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're keen on visiting the Estadio FCB (Barcelona Soccer Team stadium), it's only a 30 min walk from the hotel. Go to google maps and seek walking directions betwen these two places: Point A: Sants Estació, Barcelona, Espanya Point B: Estadi del FC Barcelona, Carrer d'Arístides Maillol, Barcelona, Spain

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ipg12
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Apr 15, 2012

No-frills hotel that still feels fancy

I was surprised how inexpensive the rooms were for a 4-star hotel. When we arrived there though, we found out that it's because every little extra costs a small fee. The regular room that I booked was very spartan, but for only 5 Euro we upgraded to an "executive" room which was very nice and comfortable. Internet, breakfast, the office center, and even the room safe cost a few euro extra, which is annoying if you need those things, but keeps the cost down if you end up not wanting them. Overall, it was very pleasant. Every room has balcony access for some fresh air, and the hotel is blocks away from two metro stations, the rail station, and the 5-Euro Aerobus to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk from the hotel to Plaça Espanya, and continue walking through the two big brick towers toward the hill ahead of you. Up that hill, at the top of the stairs infront of the museum, is an amazing view of Barcelona.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AndeeC
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Good

The staff was rather friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean, but we did have an issue with noise complaints from our neighbors which I would gather was due to the thin walls as opposed to us having an excessive noise level. The only downfall was that we were charged for purchasing from the minibar because wrappers were left behind by the previous guests. This incident did make me question how thoroughly the hotel room was cleaned prior to our arrival.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely recommend the pizza place right across the street. Not only is the proximity to the hotel a major selling point but the waiters were extremely friendly, the food was good, the sangria was amazing, and the desserts were the cherry on top.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Jul 7, 2011

Relaxing

We really enjoy our stay at the hotel. The employees were extremely helpful. They tried to make our stay in a family kind of ambient. The breakfast was super and we enjoy the terrace on the 10th floor. This trip was fantastic and the accommodations were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scott Pilgrim
Business
Berkeley, CA
Jun 15, 2011

Average city hotel

We stayed at Expo Hotel for one night in June. We booked it under the premise that it was a nice 4* hotel in a nice location. The hotel presents itself well - nice, moden lobby, with competent staff that can speak multiple languages. However, the room doesn't quite share the modern look of the lobby and would fit a 3* hotel better than a 4* one. Nonetheless, it is still clean and confortable. Another thing that was particularly striking was the fact that the hotel's pricing scheme resembles that of a low-cost EasyJet-hotel, rather than a 4* one. Meaning, everything is priced: internet (which you have to pay by the hour/day, and it is good for one user only, not one room), breakfast, etc. Location if fairly good: close to the Tarragona metro station and a 15-minute walk to Gran Via. I have stayed at other 4* hotels in Barcelona and can say that the Expo Hotel is below par. I would only go there if I got a really low rate, as it is more of a 3* hotel than a 4* one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LOS ANGELES
May 23, 2011

Nice lobby, mediocre rooms.

Convenient location relative to the Trains / metro. But the "Executive Rooms" look nothing like the picture, don't be deceived. Nothing terribly wrong with them, but they were definitely not 4 stars... more like 2.5 stars. Staff + lobby are nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient if you're trying to catch the train the next morning to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top