$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Expo Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
View map of Mallorca, 1-23, Explotacion Hotelera Expo Sa, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Expo Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SN128
Business
Waukegan, IL
Jun 21, 2013

Great location with good price

We went to Barcelona for MotoGP at Circuit de Catalunya. We picked this hotel because of its location and reasonable price. Close to both Metro and commuter train stations makes it convenient to go to the track in Montmelo and tourist attractions in Barcelona. We didn't eat at the hotel, becuase variety of food can be found close by at more reasonable prices. Check out Passeig de Antoni (street name) just a half a mile from the hotel for variety of food including tapas and paellas. Will stay here again. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Placa de les Arenes - Shopping center/ Movie theater/ Dining/ 360 panoramic view of Barcelona. 3/4 of a mile-walk from Hotel Expo. Only one euro to take an elevator up to the top to check out 360 panoramic view of the city. Located next to Joan Miro Park. Pick up gelato from there and have it in the park!

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelling for work
Business
UK
Jun 1, 2013

Clean, pleasant hotel

The first room we were checked in to (on the 9th floor) was small and not up to 4* standard. The room also didn't have wifi so we asked to move, and were given a room on the 6th floor. This was much larger with much better facilities, though still a 'standard' room. My rating of the hotel would have been lower had we not been moved to the new room as the room on the 9th floor was rather tired-looking as well as small. We found staff very variable in attitude and helpfulness too. The hotel is well placed for the metro and Sants train station, and is in walking distance of the Placa Espanya. The hotel has a small pool on the roof, but unfortunately this is only open until 5pm, and it would have been nice to be able to use it later than that. There is a nice terrace bar/ cafe (although pricey).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
12ax7
Business
Cleveland, USA
Apr 16, 2013

Hotel Expo Barcelona

This is an excellent business hotel, very close to Barcelona Sants train station and the metro. The room and public areas were very clean. It is large hotel, but the staff were extremely helpful. The hotel has a nice lounge floor, and there are several cafes and restaurants across the street. The price was quite reasonable as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Jim
Business
France
Mar 5, 2013

excellent location for station

Excellent location, smooth service, just a bit disappointed no tea-making facilities in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Dallas T
Business
dallas , texas , usa
Jan 29, 2013

Mr. W

This is an ok hotel but I am an American and I definitely dont find it 4 stars . The biggest problem is that there is nothing around this location save a supermkt and the train and metro lines . The hotel is equidistant btween the two . Those who say it is close to the metro ,ect. fail to state that it is at least 1/4 mile from the hotel to getting on the trains . Thus try this 4x per day or 6x coz you hve to do it everytime u go somewhere and I like the trains . Its just a lotta walking.....REMEMBER..nothing else in the area .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

food not bad in the Sants train station...basically sandwiches but good ones and this is the only thing I would eat in the area save shoping at the supermkt..

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pooja
Business
London
Jan 2, 2013

Good getaway

Good hotel and the breakfast was good.Room clean . Metro & train stations are near hotel .Room service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Macb
Business
Blackpool, UK
Dec 2, 2012

Barcelona Chill Out

We have stayed at this hotel previously.We think It is in an excellent location for getting around Barcelona due to the excellent subway system and is just a short walk from Saints train station. You can also get on the train from the airport taking you to Saints train station which is far cheaper than getting a taxi. Worth buying a T10 ticket for around 10 euros for 10 trips on the subway. We found the hotel very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. We ate in the bar a couple of times and the food was good. The only down side to this hotel but we think is outweighed by the service and location is the bed mattresses. Both my wife and I found them uncomfortable resulting in sore backs each morning. If you like shopping the Roca Village trip is worth a visit. It's not very large but is a very nice outlet village.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Hop on hop off tour buses so you can stop off at one or more of the shopping areas and just hop back on the next bus.

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pommie
Business
Australian
Oct 17, 2012

Get with the times

On arrival I was greeted by a very nice,helpful man.I was booked in for 1night only,but decided later to book in for another,I mensioned this to the clerk who told me I would have to come down in the morning to sign another contract.The next day I saw a girl on the desk who told me I would have free wifi nothing about breakfast,I paid 10euro's for my first and decided to give it a miss the next day I found out on leaving it came with the room and was told I had to pay for a room service.Get with the times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colleen and Scott
Business
Orlando, Fl
Sep 26, 2012

Ask for detailed charges........

Everything was good here. The breakfast buffet was a good deal if you book the night before. The only down side was I didn't care for the hot section, which included eggs, "bacon", and some sort of sausage. I loved the cold section which made it worth it. Cold section included fresh fruits that were very sweet, cold cuts of ham and poultry and cheeses. There were toasters for your selection of bread. Pastries were ok. The distance to and from the train station was a short walk which was very convenient for the trip to and from the airport. I would recommend to get on the metro from the Terragon location, it seemed to be a shorter walk than if you went thru the train station. I loved our room #867, but the only complaint is that I booked executive online, paid the extra fee, was asked about the executive room when I got to the hotel which I said "yes, executive" and was going to be charged extra when I was checking out. When I was told the balance due, I asked for a detail of the charges and that is when I noticed the extra charges again which I was told for the upgrade to executive. When I told the hotel representative that I already paid for the executive room online, he reluctantly took off the charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arena de Barcelona is a short distance (you can see from the corner on the street the Expo is on). This mall has many different restaurants or "fast food" places but our fav was on the top floor, Mussol. Excellent food no matter what you order. Had dinner there 3 nights. Another tip, BCN card! So worth it!!! Ok one more, do not take USD traveler's checks! Only one bank BBVA in the centre (north of the Rambla - across from the fountains) will cash them, maximum of $1000. and charged 24 Euros up front and the exchange rate was a rip. I paid for excursions already which was 1.25 exchange rate but was charged 1.30 at the bank.

Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
becky.cali
Business
Santa Monica, CA, USA
Jul 20, 2012

Easy to overlook, but a gem in Barcelona

I've been to Barcelona 5 times now and typically have stayed in boutique hotels that were quite pricey. Now that I know the Bcn layout, I went with Expo Hotel because it was right across the street from Sants Estacio and I was coming in by train. Not only are the rooms comfortable, the staff is very nice and friendly, but you cannot beat the location! From Sants Estacio you can take any day-trip train (like Girona) or you can take the train to the Airport. The metro stop Tarragona (green line) literally a 3 min walk from the hotel, takes you straight to the Ramblas (Liceu stop) and you can connect to any other line very easily. I highly recommend this hotel! A wonderful value, great amenities (the rooftop bar is very nice) and one of the best locations you will find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're keen on visiting the Estadio FCB (Barcelona Soccer Team stadium), it's only a 30 min walk from the hotel. Go to google maps and seek walking directions betwen these two places: Point A: Sants Estació, Barcelona, Espanya Point B: Estadi del FC Barcelona, Carrer d'Arístides Maillol, Barcelona, Spain

Back to menu Return to top