$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Expo Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
View map of Mallorca, 1-23, Explotacion Hotelera Expo Sa, Barcelona, 08014

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Expo Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Jun 10, 2010

first time

Hotel was ok not four star but was at a great location with a helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Puerto De Santa Maria, Spain
Sep 7, 2009

Barcelona

I flew into Barcelona at the Pratt Airport. The location was very convenient....if you knew where to get off the train at. It is located directly outside the Sants Estacion. When I checked in........my first thought was that the outside facade of the building was not that of a four star hotel. The inside of the lobby had been freshly renovated. When I checked in to my hotel room, however, I was not so happy. First of all the room I paid for on Orbitz was about the level that I would have expected from a two star or a bad three star in Spain. I immediately went down to the lobby and asked for an upgrade. I was happy to find out that an upgrade was only 8 euros per night. The room was much more to my liking....and was that of a decent four star. I did not like that you had to pay for the internet. I became very frustrated when my internet password didn't work on two occasions, causing me to have to go back downstairs to the lobby twice. Then my room key quit working twice. The rooms did however have an excellent view of the lights of Montjuic. Everything you would want to see such as the Las Ramblas, Barri Gotica, and Sagra Familia was within 5 to 7 euros for a taxi ride. I was impressed by the multi lingual staff. Each section of staff seemed to have a person that could speak up to three languages including Russian, English, Spanish, French, Catalunyan, and more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Machiko
Business
Maidenhead, UK
Sep 30, 2014

Bathroom

Shower cubic is too small and there is no shelf to put my cosmetics items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a train between the airport and Barcelo Sants station where is close to the hotel. It takes 15 minutes only to get the hotel from airport and fare is cheaper than airport bus. Saving time and money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YH TAN
Business
Dublin Ireland
Apr 12, 2014

GOOD LOCATION

was here with my family for 2 night April 7th and 8th, room is clean, staff are friendly , location good. Wifi speed is good too. Will be back again ...... cheers !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrownMagic
Business
Mildenhall, UK
Feb 1, 2011

Pretty Nice Hotel

From the airport my friends and I took a cab to the hotel and it cost about 25 Euro. The drive was about 20 minutes, so it wasn't bad. When arriving at the hotel the staff was very nice and it helped that they spoke English. If you plan on staying at this hotel I recommend paying the extra money to upgrade to an Executive bedroom. The Executive bedroom was very nice and clean. The only downside I would say is that the bed was pretty stiff and the comforter could have been nicer. Overall I would recommend this hotel to friends. It's very close to the tube, but my friends and I found it easier to take cabs everywhere. The hotel is with in walking distance to a few nice sights, but it will cost you about 15 Euro for a cab ride to the nicer Bars/Clubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Dress to Impress! The better you dress, the better they will treat you. I went to a club and it seemed like the bouncer raised the age limit just for my friends because they didn't dress as nice as myself and others.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ipg12
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Apr 15, 2012

No-frills hotel that still feels fancy

I was surprised how inexpensive the rooms were for a 4-star hotel. When we arrived there though, we found out that it's because every little extra costs a small fee. The regular room that I booked was very spartan, but for only 5 Euro we upgraded to an "executive" room which was very nice and comfortable. Internet, breakfast, the office center, and even the room safe cost a few euro extra, which is annoying if you need those things, but keeps the cost down if you end up not wanting them. Overall, it was very pleasant. Every room has balcony access for some fresh air, and the hotel is blocks away from two metro stations, the rail station, and the 5-Euro Aerobus to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk from the hotel to Plaça Espanya, and continue walking through the two big brick towers toward the hill ahead of you. Up that hill, at the top of the stairs infront of the museum, is an amazing view of Barcelona.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
becky.cali
Business
Santa Monica, CA, USA
Jul 20, 2012

Easy to overlook, but a gem in Barcelona

I've been to Barcelona 5 times now and typically have stayed in boutique hotels that were quite pricey. Now that I know the Bcn layout, I went with Expo Hotel because it was right across the street from Sants Estacio and I was coming in by train. Not only are the rooms comfortable, the staff is very nice and friendly, but you cannot beat the location! From Sants Estacio you can take any day-trip train (like Girona) or you can take the train to the Airport. The metro stop Tarragona (green line) literally a 3 min walk from the hotel, takes you straight to the Ramblas (Liceu stop) and you can connect to any other line very easily. I highly recommend this hotel! A wonderful value, great amenities (the rooftop bar is very nice) and one of the best locations you will find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're keen on visiting the Estadio FCB (Barcelona Soccer Team stadium), it's only a 30 min walk from the hotel. Go to google maps and seek walking directions betwen these two places: Point A: Sants Estació, Barcelona, Espanya Point B: Estadi del FC Barcelona, Carrer d'Arístides Maillol, Barcelona, Spain

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colleen and Scott
Business
Orlando, Fl
Sep 26, 2012

Ask for detailed charges........

Everything was good here. The breakfast buffet was a good deal if you book the night before. The only down side was I didn't care for the hot section, which included eggs, "bacon", and some sort of sausage. I loved the cold section which made it worth it. Cold section included fresh fruits that were very sweet, cold cuts of ham and poultry and cheeses. There were toasters for your selection of bread. Pastries were ok. The distance to and from the train station was a short walk which was very convenient for the trip to and from the airport. I would recommend to get on the metro from the Terragon location, it seemed to be a shorter walk than if you went thru the train station. I loved our room #867, but the only complaint is that I booked executive online, paid the extra fee, was asked about the executive room when I got to the hotel which I said "yes, executive" and was going to be charged extra when I was checking out. When I was told the balance due, I asked for a detail of the charges and that is when I noticed the extra charges again which I was told for the upgrade to executive. When I told the hotel representative that I already paid for the executive room online, he reluctantly took off the charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Arena de Barcelona is a short distance (you can see from the corner on the street the Expo is on). This mall has many different restaurants or "fast food" places but our fav was on the top floor, Mussol. Excellent food no matter what you order. Had dinner there 3 nights. Another tip, BCN card! So worth it!!! Ok one more, do not take USD traveler's checks! Only one bank BBVA in the centre (north of the Rambla - across from the fountains) will cash them, maximum of $1000. and charged 24 Euros up front and the exchange rate was a rip. I paid for excursions already which was 1.25 exchange rate but was charged 1.30 at the bank.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pooja
Business
London
Jan 2, 2013

Good getaway

Good hotel and the breakfast was good.Room clean . Metro & train stations are near hotel .Room service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Expo Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Jim
Business
France
Mar 5, 2013

excellent location for station

Excellent location, smooth service, just a bit disappointed no tea-making facilities in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top