Espana Hotel Barcelona ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$124
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 17, 2016 Check-out: Feb 18, 2016
4.4 /5
Overall score
94%
Would recommend
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Deluxe Double - Courtyard View
  • Size: 258 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Standard Double
  • Size: 226 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

The Espaa Hotel is a 4* hotel can be found in Barcelonas historical centre, conveniently located next to Las Ramblas and the Gran Teatre del Liceu. It is considered an architectural masterpiece of Catalan modernism. Originally decorated at the beginning of the 20th century by Lluis Domenech i Montaner , it has been completely refurbished and provides an optimal design and comfort, offering an exquisite and personalised service.
The Espaa Hotel first opened in 1859 under the name Fonda de Espaa and was later refurbished by the well known modernist architect, Lluis Domenech i Montaner with the help of Eusebi Arnau and Ramon Casas. The new design earned the recognition of Barcelonas City Council who, in 1904 awarded the architect with an Honorary Diploma, naming the hotel the establishment with the best artistic-ornamental decor. Our terrace bar and pool is open from May to October.

Recommendations for you

Barcelo Raval

★★★★
Guest score 4.1 / 5
$95
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$111
Guest score 4.4 / 5
$198
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$87

Eurostars Ramblas

★★★★
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$80

Bagues Hotel Barcelona

★★★★★
Guest score 4.4 / 5
$180

Amenities

Featured

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Concierge
  • Pet friendly
  • Elevators

Activities

  • Outdoor pool
  • Solarium

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • Business center
  • Laundry service
  • In-Room Safe
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities
  • Conference facilities

Internet

  • Free internet in room

Transportation

  • Airport shuttle

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

4.4 /5 Overall score

94% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 4.2/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.5/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.6/5
  • Comfort: 4.1/5
  • Location: 4.8/5
  • Value: 4.1/5

Great Staff and Location

Would recommend Fri, Nov 6, 2015
Hotel is in a great location just off of Las Ramblas. Staff were very helpful. Room was very clean, and comfortable. Did not hear any noise at all. Be sure to check out the fireplace in the Bar area. would definitely stay here again.

| Chandler Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Excellent location!

Would recommend Mon, Sep 28, 2015
This hotel was perfect for our stay. It is not exactly 5 stars, but what it lacks in amenities it more than makes up in location. The staff is excellent and the room was very comfortable. I would recommend to anyone who wants a great experience visiting Barcelona.

| Hurleyville Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Honeymoon trip

Would recommend Sat, Sep 26, 2015
The hotel was amazing. The location was in the heart of the old city and the Metro was very close. The staff was very helpful with directions and digestions of places to see.

| Clemmons Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

great spot!

Would recommend Mon, Jan 12, 2015
great location and staff close to everything! the staff was very helpful and transportaton was just down the block.... highly recommend this spot!!!!

| Bronx Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

On our way to the cruise

Would recommend Mon, Jan 5, 2015
This is a fantastic little hotel only 150yrds off Las Ramblas and another 20yrds to the metro. Beautiful modern rooms in a centuries old building, even showing showing the original mosaic floors behind illuminated glass. Also a very cool fifth floor patio bar and pool.

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great Hotel Perfect Location

Would recommend Thu, Nov 20, 2014
The location is down a small street off of the LaRambla. We had a bit a an issue finding it only because La Rambla is quite busy. The location cannot be beat Walking distance to almost everything. The roof top bar is fun. The decor is amazing throughout the hotel. I loved it so much that it will be my go to place. It's not cheap but if you want to splurge it's worth it. Would recommend to anyone.

| Boca Raton, FL Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Pleasantly surprised

Would recommend Thu, Sep 25, 2014
We were very happy with our room and the location of the hotel could not be better. A block away from Las Ramblas and easy access to restaurants and transportation. Front desk personnel was very friendly and breakfast was excellent, although we didn't know about this option when we made the reservation. It is a small hotel but with all that you need to make your stay very comfortable. We would definitely go back.

| W. Bloomfield, Michigan Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great stayu

Would recommend Wed, Aug 27, 2014
The hotel was actually very easy to find, the room was ready even though we were early, and the staff very helpful. It was very close to La Rambla where so many shops/crafts/restaurants were located. Staff were very helpful in getting us to the sites to see. Breakfast was especially nice, with great choices for every appetite. Absolutely beautiful hotel; immaculate room. Highly recommend.

Attractions

Don't miss the fountain/light show at the Spanish plaza at night.

| Elko, Nevada Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Excellent location

Would recommend Mon, Jun 23, 2014
Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was a nice/clean place. The best part about this hotel is the location. It's located just a few minutes walk away from the Placa Catalyuna to get on the tourist bus if you want. Also, it's right next to a subway station, so you can get around pretty much where you want very conveniently. Also, it's not facing the main street, so there is less street noise. Service was OK. We had a broken hair dryer. It took 2 calls and talking to them in person at the lobby to get replaced. Other than that, we had no issues.

| Lake Oswego, OR Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Always a pleasure

Would recommend Wed, Nov 13, 2013
This was our second time at this hotel and it was another very good experience. Clean, modern, excellent location.

| Miami, FL, USA Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Gran Teatre del Liceu 0 mi
La Rambla 0.1 mi
Palau Güell 0.1 mi
Plaça del Rei 0.1 mi
Plaça Reial 0.1 mi
Ciutat Vella 0.1 mi
La Boqueria 0.1 mi
Teatre Principal 0.2 mi
Santa Maria del Pi 0.2 mi
Old Hospital de la Santa Creu 0.2 mi
National Library of Catalonia 0.2 mi
Barcelona Wax Museum 0.2 mi
Ancient synagogue 0.2 mi
Esglesia de Betlem 0.2 mi
El Raval 0.2 mi
Escola de la Llotja 0.3 mi
Centre d'Art Santa Mònica 0.3 mi
Placa Sant Felip Neri 0.3 mi
Plaça Sant Jaume 0.3 mi
Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya 0.3 mi
Sant Pau del Camp 0.3 mi
Carrer del Carme 0.3 mi
Casa de l’Ardiaca 0.3 mi
Barcelona Cathedral 0.3 mi
Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona 0.3 mi
Montjuïc funicular 0.3 mi
Temple of Augustus 0.3 mi
Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce 0.3 mi
Església de Sants Just i Pastor 0.4 mi
Royal Square 0.4 mi
Palau Reial Major 0.4 mi
Chapel of Santa Ágata 0.4 mi
Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art 0.4 mi
City Hall 0.4 mi
Columbus Monument 0.4 mi
Font de Canaletes 0.4 mi
Maritime Museum 0.4 mi
Casa Martí 0.4 mi
Hemp Museum Gallery 0.4 mi
Teatre Poliorama 0.4 mi
Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona 0.4 mi
Santa Anna Church 0.4 mi
Portal de l'Àngel 0.5 mi
Museu Frederic Marès 0.5 mi
Museu Diocesà 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

$124
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 17, 2016 Check-out: Feb 18, 2016