$153 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Espana Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
View map of Sant Pau, 9-11, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
22 reviews
On our way to the cruise

This is a fantastic little hotel only 150yrds off Las Ramblas and another 20yrds to the metro.... See full review

  • Lucretia S.
  • Jan 5, 2015
Pleasantly surprised

We were very happy with our room and the location of the hotel could not be better. A block away... See full review

  • Onny and pappah
  • Sep 25, 2014
The Espaa Hotel is a 4* hotel can be found in Barcelonas historical centre, conveniently located next to Las Ramblas and the Gran Teatre del Liceu. It is considered an architectural masterpiece of Catalan modernism. Originally decorated at the beginning of the 20th century by Lluis Domenech i Montaner , it has been completely refurbished and provides an optimal design and comfort, offering an exquisite and personalised service.
The Espaa Hotel first opened in 1859 under the name Fonda de Espaa and was later refurbished by the well known modernist architect, Lluis Domenech i Montaner with the help of Eusebi Arnau and Ramon Casas. The new design earned the recognition of Barcelonas City Council who, in 1904 awarded the architect with an Honorary Diploma, naming the hotel the establishment with the best artistic-ornamental decor. Our terrace bar and pool is open from May to October.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Espana Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Espana Hotel Barcelona Rooms

STANDARD - HOTEL
Standard

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.1 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.1 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.2 mi
  • El Raval: 0.2 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.1 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.1 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.2 mi
  • El Raval: 0.2 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.3 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.3 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.3 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.3 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.3 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.3 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.4 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.4 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.4 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.4 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.4 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.5 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.5 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Espana Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 22
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucretia S.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

On our way to the cruise

This is a fantastic little hotel only 150yrds off Las Ramblas and another 20yrds to the metro. Beautiful modern rooms in a centuries old building, even showing showing the original mosaic floors behind illuminated glass. Also a very cool fifth floor patio bar and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimjh0
Business
Lake Oswego, OR
Jun 23, 2014

Excellent location

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was a nice/clean place. The best part about this hotel is the location. It's located just a few minutes walk away from the Placa Catalyuna to get on the tourist bus if you want. Also, it's right next to a subway station, so you can get around pretty much where you want very conveniently. Also, it's not facing the main street, so there is less street noise. Service was OK. We had a broken hair dryer. It took 2 calls and talking to them in person at the lobby to get replaced. Other than that, we had no issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lexigirl523
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Nov 13, 2013

Always a pleasure

This was our second time at this hotel and it was another very good experience. Clean, modern, excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kuhndog
Business
Naperville
Oct 22, 2013

Loved it!

I could go into detail but it's easier to say that I loved everything about this hotel. Architecture, decor, room design, amenities, location, staff, restaurants. No complaints. Will recommend hotel to others and will go back again. I LOVE Barcelona. Suits me just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to La Flauta Restaurant Address: Aribau 23 Barcelona. Great food, sangria at affordable prices. Great atmosphere as well. 1.8 miles from hotel.

Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barcelona lover
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Feb 10, 2012

Family vacation before a cruise

This is a great place to stay. Right off of las ramblas you can walk to everything. Food, entertainment and plenty of shopping. This hotel is very modern but quiet and very clean. Yes there are "hookers" at the opposite end of the block. But there is really no reason to go down there and I found they were never near the hotel. Stayed before Mediterrean cruise with husband and two teenagers because it was only about 10 minutes from the cruise port. We got two rooms because getting a room for four in Europe is next to impossible. You can walk to corte ingles, la bouqoria and everything Barcelona has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Corte Ingles at the end of Las Ramblas. 8 floors of shopping heaven!

Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
houston
Apr 19, 2011

Nice but noisy

This is a nice/ok hotel. The staff is nice enough but they did tell us to take the subway to the Picasso museum when it's easier and faster to get there by walking. Also, the rooms are sooooo tiny. Two twin beds side by side in a tiny room gets a little claustrophobic but the updates are nice... too bad they were still underway at the time I stayed there. So there was construction noise from early in the am to around 5-6pm. The free mini bar, btw, is just two bottles of water and two bottles of pineapple juice. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You're right in the middle of the all the good shopping in this town! There are great stores all around Las Ramblas which is literally outside the door of this hotel

Back to menu Return to top