$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Espana Hotel Barcelona

4 stars
Sant Pau, 9-11, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
20 reviews
Pleasantly surprised

We were very happy with our room and the location of the hotel could not be better. A block away... See full review

  • Onny and pappah
  • Sep 25, 2014
Great stayu

The hotel was actually very easy to find, the room was ready even though we were early, and the... See full review

  • rural resident
  • Aug 27, 2014
The Espaa Hotel is a 4* hotel can be found in Barcelonas historical centre, conveniently located next to Las Ramblas and the Gran Teatre del Liceu. It is considered an architectural masterpiece of Catalan modernism. Originally decorated at the beginning of the 20th century by Lluis Domenech i Montaner , it has been completely refurbished and provides an optimal design and comfort, offering an exquisite and personalised service.
The Espaa Hotel first opened in 1859 under the name Fonda de Espaa and was later refurbished by the well known modernist architect, Lluis Domenech i Montaner with the help of Eusebi Arnau and Ramon Casas. The new design earned the recognition of Barcelonas City Council who, in 1904 awarded the architect with an Honorary Diploma, naming the hotel the establishment with the best artistic-ornamental decor.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Espana Hotel Barcelona also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Espana Hotel Barcelona Rooms

STANDARD - HOTEL
Standard

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.1 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.1 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.2 mi
  • El Raval: 0.2 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.1 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.1 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.1 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.1 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.1 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.2 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.2 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.2 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.2 mi
  • El Raval: 0.2 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.3 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.3 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.3 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.3 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.3 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.3 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.3 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.3 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.3 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.4 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.4 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.4 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.4 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.4 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.4 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.5 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.5 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (20)

Ratings and reviews for Espana Hotel Barcelona

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 20
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barcelona lover
Sacramento, CA, USA
Feb 10, 2012

Family vacation before a cruise

This is a great place to stay. Right off of las ramblas you can walk to everything. Food, entertainment and plenty of shopping. This hotel is very modern but quiet and very clean. Yes there are "hookers" at the opposite end of the block. But there is really no reason to go down there and I found they were never near the hotel. Stayed before Mediterrean cruise with husband and two teenagers because it was only about 10 minutes from the cruise port. We got two rooms because getting a room for four in Europe is next to impossible. You can walk to corte ingles, la bouqoria and everything Barcelona has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Corte Ingles at the end of Las Ramblas. 8 floors of shopping heaven!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EDY P BKLYN
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Nov 20, 2014

Great Hotel Perfect Location

The location is down a small street off of the LaRambla. We had a bit a an issue finding it only because La Rambla is quite busy. The location cannot be beat Walking distance to almost everything. The roof top bar is fun. The decor is amazing throughout the hotel. I loved it so much that it will be my go to place. It's not cheap but if you want to splurge it's worth it. Would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Onny and pappah
Business
W. Bloomfield, Michigan
Sep 25, 2014

Pleasantly surprised

We were very happy with our room and the location of the hotel could not be better. A block away from Las Ramblas and easy access to restaurants and transportation. Front desk personnel was very friendly and breakfast was excellent, although we didn't know about this option when we made the reservation. It is a small hotel but with all that you need to make your stay very comfortable. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rural resident
Business
Elko, Nevada
Aug 27, 2014

Great stayu

The hotel was actually very easy to find, the room was ready even though we were early, and the staff very helpful. It was very close to La Rambla where so many shops/crafts/restaurants were located. Staff were very helpful in getting us to the sites to see. Breakfast was especially nice, with great choices for every appetite. Absolutely beautiful hotel; immaculate room. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss the fountain/light show at the Spanish plaza at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimjh0
Business
Lake Oswego, OR
Jun 23, 2014

Excellent location

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. It was a nice/clean place. The best part about this hotel is the location. It's located just a few minutes walk away from the Placa Catalyuna to get on the tourist bus if you want. Also, it's right next to a subway station, so you can get around pretty much where you want very conveniently. Also, it's not facing the main street, so there is less street noise. Service was OK. We had a broken hair dryer. It took 2 calls and talking to them in person at the lobby to get replaced. Other than that, we had no issues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lexigirl523
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Nov 13, 2013

Always a pleasure

This was our second time at this hotel and it was another very good experience. Clean, modern, excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canadian army retired
Business
Ottawa Ontario Canada
Nov 7, 2013

Espana hotel Barcelona

We stayed at the above mentioned hotel for a total of 3 days. Its a beautiful hotel, recently renovated. We found the staff very helpful and always ready to accommodate you. The room was very charming and very clean. The hotel is located in La Rambla, are very touristy area of Barcelona. No need for cabs, everything is a 2 minute walk from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If your in Spain you must see the Flamcenco dancers. We found Flamenco Tablao a short 5 minute walk fro the Hotel. The meal is buffet style, after diner they bring you to the theater and we saw an excellent Flacenco show. The dancers were very intense! Excellent show

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canadian army retired
Business
Ottawa Ontario Canada
Nov 5, 2013

Barcelona November 2013

Excellent hotel, well located on the Rambla. The service, the room was exceptional. I recommend this hotel for anyone planning a trip to Barcelona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kuhndog
Business
Naperville
Oct 22, 2013

Loved it!

I could go into detail but it's easier to say that I loved everything about this hotel. Architecture, decor, room design, amenities, location, staff, restaurants. No complaints. Will recommend hotel to others and will go back again. I LOVE Barcelona. Suits me just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to La Flauta Restaurant Address: Aribau 23 Barcelona. Great food, sangria at affordable prices. Great atmosphere as well. 1.8 miles from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One eyed scouser
Business
UK
Jul 15, 2013

Interesting ambiance close to the bustle

The amenities of the hotel were good and the staff were helpful and friendly. The modernista architecture is an experience on itself. We couldn't get in to the restaurant, but were steered to a nice little place close by. Turn right for the Opera House and the Ramblas, turn left for the Barri Xines, two very different experiences, especially at night, straight ahead for the wonderful Boqueria food market, great for breakfast too. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Boqueria market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Espana Hotel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AASF
Business
Fort Myers Florida
Jul 12, 2013

Hotel near Las Ramblas

This hotel is ideally located off Las Ramblas in the old section of Barcelona. the staff are excellent, and the amenities are great. There is a nice breakfast available on the first floor and wonderful a bar on the roof. We felt that we'd done very well in selecting this hotel I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top