$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Confortel Barcelona

4 stars
View map of Ramon Turro, 196 - 198, Esquina Llacuna, Barcelona, 08005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Confortel Barcelona

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Confortel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CSB1
Business
LA CA to Charlotte NC
Sep 7, 2012

Comfortable Hotel Close to Beach

My wife and I stayed here in early September for a quick beach getaway of just 3 days. We found the location great a very short walk to a nice beach and just on the corner of the local Ramblas where there are many bars, restaurants, groceries etc. Close to the L4 metro which takes you to the gothic area in 10 to 15 minutes. The hotel staff were good, the restaurant staff excellent and food good as well. Pool is small but nice. Gym very small but you are so close to the beach why not run there? Bed comfortable, room large and clean although a little bare looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Recommend getting a taxi to this hotel from airport as we did both train/ metro and taxi. The taxi cost 27E but got us to airport in 30 minutes. The metro while cheaper took over 1.5 hours all in all which is time we could of used on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJJM
Business
dublin ireland
Jul 9, 2012

Great bed in a the right location

Stayed 6 nights at end June 2012. Spacious room with a seriously comfortable bed (not always thecase) in an indeal location for the neach and all Barcelona sighs. Ramblas Poblenau around the corner for breakfast (cafe republic). lunch (racodeltaulat) and dinner. Boagatell beach is less than 5 minutes or just take the sun from the 8th floro roof terrace. Use the metro from Llanau or bus 36. Staff were helpful and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lunch at racodeltaulat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slcya
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Apr 5, 2012

Would stay again without question

Had a wonderful stay. City center is easily accessible by tour bus stop three block away or the metro train two blocks away. Arriving by car was a little tricky as the streets are one way. I upgraded the room to the 7th floor and was worth the extra 10 euros. The quality of the food at breakfast was the best I had traveling throughout Europe for the two weeks I was there. The staff was friendly, spoke good English, and very helpful. Would definitely stay again. Barcelona was a blast! Can't wait to revisit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ajc77
Business
washington, dc
Apr 1, 2012

A Gem

I read the reviews here before I booked the hotel and I'm happy I did both! The hotel in situated in a neighborhood undergoing contruction, but it was a great price for such a modern, boutique-style hotel. I was in Barcelona for a workshop and most of our meetings took place in the heart of the city, so it was not a bad distance to travel on a daily basis, especially with the metro nearby. The staff were especially nice! My flight came in early and I'd called to see if they had early check-in. They didn't, but to my surprise, they had a room ready when we got there! The room is powered by your hotel key, you have to put it in a slot once you walk into the room or nothing will work. I loved the decor; very minimal, but upscale. The free wi-fi was very helpful! I wish I could've seen more of the amenities (pool, executive center, etc) but I was out and about in the city. The next time I come to Barcelona, I'll definitely be staying here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yelen4ick
Business
Chicago
Jan 26, 2012

Great location

Hotel was really nice and clean, very close to the ocean and to the center of the city. We got to see everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Barcelona

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
paperprofit1
Business
California
Oct 12, 2011

What a nice surprise!

I have been in Barcelona before, but I saw something completely new and very nice. I was not expecting a truly modern hotel in the midtown Barcelona, surrounded by a neighborhood with a traditional character that you hope to see in Europe. This was it! My wife and I strolled for an hour or two, selected a cafe and had the best prepared cappuccino. The internet service was flawless, and the parking was safe and well protected underground. Having free internet is always a big plus, but when they threw in the water from the minibar, I was sold! I can't think of anything negative to say. I know where to go next time I visit Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 4, 2011

Not great for the money, but ok overall.

Nice modern look, free internet, good A/C. And it was only two blocks from the beach. But virtually no amenities for $260 Euros a night! No washcloth, no Kleenex, no in-room coffe, no free breakfast, no airport transport. Even the nice staff could not make me return at the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 11, 2011

Decent Hotel. Friendly Staff

The hotel is very modern and not cheap looking like most modern hotels. The staff was very friendly. The location is great. Only a few blocks from the beach, and one block from a nice promenade. The view from the hotel is very nice, and it has a nice pool/solarium in the terrace. The only thing I didn't like was the lack of common amenities such as ice machine or an iron. They do provide stuff that other hotels don't like a free mini bar (just mineral water, of course) I really liked staying in a residential neighborhood rather than the tourist part of time, I felt more like I got to experience the culture. When eating near the hotel for instance, people speak in catalan, and the food is very authentic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Although the closest metro station is Llacuna, the Poblanau station is only 1 block further, but you get to walk in a nice promenade with many shops including groceries, clothing, bakeries, etc. There is nothing between the hotel and the Llacuna metro station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Barcelona

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
US-EU
Business
Amsterdam
Mar 30, 2011

newly renovated, cool but less cozy

The hotel location was ok, but not great; as it is close to the beach and close to the metro; however the distance to the nearest tourist attraction is not walkable, so no evening promenades in the neighborhood. The front-desk personnel was very nice and helpful, but their computers in the business center needs a thorough cleaning as they run slower than 1997 computers. Also the wireless internet is not working as it should, no capability to connect via iPhone and iPad (did not try the laptop).There is a nice terrace on the 8th floor, from where one can admire the sea while sipping on a sangria, but it's not that spacious.The rooms are clean, but have laminate on the floor, and I really like the carpet feel.Overall a nice hotel, but it's worth only with some discounts [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do no dine in the olympic port, it's a rip-off.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Barcelona

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barcelona>Madrid for sure!
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Mar 26, 2011

Comfortel Barcelona great value

The hotel was about 3 blocks from the beach, great location right next to ¨la rambla¨which basically just has a bunch of shops and tasty places to eat. Room was a good size, spacious and very modern. Only downfall was that you´re about a 45 min walk from the city center where all the tours start however, theres a metro about a block or 2 away from the hotel and its only a few stops to get to the center. Id definately stay there again, esp with the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taxis are abundent and parked outside every corner...i made the mistake of using taxis everywhere i went and it became costly. definately look into getting a metro card and taking the subway into the city center. MUCH CHEAPER, but if it´s nice out and you feel like walking back from the city center, itll take you about 45 min but its a nice walk and you pass a lot of touristic sites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top