$46 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Confortel Almirante

4 stars
Via Laietana, 42, Barcelona, 08003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
32 reviews
Great location, good price.

Located on on of the main avenues leading to the harbor and in the middle of the Gothic... See full review

  • Erik J
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great stay for 3 nights. Perfect Location!

Very comfortable and reasonably priced stay. Location was absolutely perfect - walking distance to... See full review

  • MadMen20
  • Mar 3, 2014
Stay super-central at this sleek Gothic Quarter hideout

The main drawing card of Confortel Almirante is its location in the midst of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter, a buzzing neighborhood with numerous attractions. The surrounding area may be ancient but the renovated building that houses the hotel packs in a variety of up-to-the-minute trappings. The interiors feature contemporary design with bold colors and comfortable furniture. All the rooms come with free Wi-Fi. There's an Internet corner onsite. The on-premise fitness center is small but well-equipped.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi in all the rooms and throughout the hotel
  • Top location at the heart of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter
  • Small fitness center on the premises
Rooms

All of the 86 rooms at Confortel Almirante sport a fresh contemporary look, heaps of natural light and a full array of luxe amenities. Free in-room perks include Wi-Fi, bottled water and a choice of pillows. Room service (limited to Telepizza) and laundry are available for a fee. The 79 standard rooms offer all of the above while the three suites offer extra space. Three rooms are adapted for visitors with disabilities.

Features

The location of Confortel Almirante, steps from Las Ramblas at the heart of the Gothic Quarter, steals the show. Many of Barcelona's attractions sit within easy walking distance. All of the hotel's 86 units are modern, well-equipped and complete with free Wi-Fi and bottled water as an added benefit. Facilities include a coffee bar in the lobby, an Internet station and a small fitness center. The 24-hour reception can arrange car rental (fees apply) and exchange currency. The fashionable Born district next door to Confortel Almirante provides a plethora of eating and drinking options.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.9 mi/12.8 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Jaume 1 (on the L4 line)
Attractions
  • Picasso Museum (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Plaza Catalunya (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Las Ramblas (.3 mi/.6 km)
  • Plaza de Espana (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (2 mi/3.3 km)
Business
  • 40-person meeting room with latest high-tech perks
  • Free wireless Internet throughout

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Confortel Almirante also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Confortel Almirante Rooms

Standard Room
Rooms are well equipped with comfortable and contemporary furnishings in warm colors. They all offer free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, free safety deposit box, flat screen TV 19 ", satellite TV, air conditioning, central heating and direct dial telephone. Spacious bathrooms equipped with hairdryer and all amenities required for a pleasant stay.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museu Diocesà: 0 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.1 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.2 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.2 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.2 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.1 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.2 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.2 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.2 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 0.3 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Textiles and Fashion: 0.3 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 0.3 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.3 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.3 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.3 mi
  • Chocolate Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.3 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.3 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria del Mar: 0.4 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.4 mi
  • Sant Pere: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.4 mi
  • Passeig del Born: 0.4 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Arc de Triomf: 0.4 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.4 mi

Dining

Breakfast Room
Enjoy Buffet Breakfast at our modern and cozy restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Confortel Almirante

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel RN
Business
Philadelphia , PA
May 20, 2009

Perfect!!

This is a cute boutique hotel with amazing staff and in a great location. I cannot say enough about the staff. The housekeeping was great and the views from the rooms were fantastic. We stayed for 8 nights and they upgraded our room to the top floor with a private balcony. I would really recommend the 8th floor. Location: right near Barcelona Cathedral and b/t two metro stops. 5 min walk to the main plaza, but worth being away from the constant traffic. Restaurant next door and those just blocks away were fantastic!! We would going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If traveling in Barcelona, get the T10pass from the metro. This gives you ten rides that we used and it was a savings. Thanks Rick Steves!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
just jenn
Business
DFW, Tx.
Jan 17, 2010

Excellent Location

I have never stayed in Barcalona before,the hotel was state of the art, clean & very mondern the room was extremly small but we spent little time in our room. It's a great location(1block) from the square several shops, resaurants and enterinment. The port was a short cab ride as well as the statidum. I would defentley stay here again or recomend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tour buses a one day pass takes you all over Barcelona they have 3 different routs that run every 10min so you can save on cab far. Get on and off anywhere you like then catch the next one when you need to get back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel_Nut
Business
Toronto, Ont.
May 30, 2011

Confortel Almirante

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were always clean. The hotel is in a good location for sightseeing. Overall we had a very good experience at this hotel and would recommend it to others looking to stay in Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try to dine off of the main streets as that is where there are "tourist traps".

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mel t
Business
Ireland
May 29, 2012

Great location

Near the beach, la ramblas, Cataluyna centre, perfect for bus touristic,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boris from Staten Island
Business
Saten Island, NY
Sep 7, 2012

Nice hotel in the Gothic quarters

This is a very nice hotel in the middle of the Gothic quarters, next to the one of the most beautiful cathedrals of Barcelona: The Cathedral of the Holy Cross and Saint Eulalie. Hotel is located in about 15 minutes’ walk distance from Ramblas area and 20 minutes from marina. Hotel does not provide any discount for the very expensive car parking in the area – that is why I put 4 stars for amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

1 minute walk to The Cathedral of the Holy Cross and Saint Eulalia, 15 minutes walk to marina, car parking at the corner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jadestone
Business
London
Oct 9, 2012

Good Stay

Hotel staff were efficient and helpful. Hotel was in a good position and easy walk to most of the things you want to see. Bathroom was modern as was room but a little tired.Would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LonC
Business
London
Oct 19, 2012

Central Barcelona stay

We had a lovely stay at hotel Almirante. We booked through a mobile app and received a great price! We had a top floor room with as huge terras and amazing views of the old town and Sagrada familia (I think we got an upgrade). Location of the hotel was perfect, just the room itself seemed a little dated, but that didn't matter at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nicfbam
Business
London
Feb 26, 2013

Handy helpful hotel

Very helpful staff, ( guy on reception checked website fro me re bus times and lent me his own personal phone charger) great location, nothing to complain about apart from room is quite smalll and narrow and TV didnt work so well. Very minor issues as I wasnt plannign to spend all my time in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

wonderful tapas at irati

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
markpf
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 12, 2013

Very pleased with our stay

We stayed 3 days in mid Sept. 2013, and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was helpful - checked us right in with somewhat early arrival. Our room was in the back, so very quiet, and it was larger than we anticipated. The bathroom was also surprisingly large. And everything was exceptionally clean, which really pleased us. We didn't eat at the hotel - rather we found a very nice little place around the corner for breakfast and other nice places within easy walking distance. The hotel proved to be a perfect location for first-timers to Barcelona. We did lots of walking as well as used the hop-on, hop off bus. Definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MadMen20
Business
Florence, Italy
Mar 3, 2014

Great stay for 3 nights. Perfect Location!

Very comfortable and reasonably priced stay. Location was absolutely perfect - walking distance to many places and close to metro station. Room and bathroom were both great - awesome shower! Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was also very good and only 11 Euro for a great spread of quality food and many beverages. I highly recommend this hotel if you are spending a few nights in Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top