$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

Confortel Almirante

4 stars
Via Laietana, 42, Barcelona, 08003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
32 reviews
Great location, good price.

Located on on of the main avenues leading to the harbor and in the middle of the Gothic... See full review

  • Erik J
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great stay for 3 nights. Perfect Location!

Very comfortable and reasonably priced stay. Location was absolutely perfect - walking distance to... See full review

  • MadMen20
  • Mar 3, 2014
Stay super-central at this sleek Gothic Quarter hideout

The main drawing card of Confortel Almirante is its location in the midst of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter, a buzzing neighborhood with numerous attractions. The surrounding area may be ancient but the renovated building that houses the hotel packs in a variety of up-to-the-minute trappings. The interiors feature contemporary design with bold colors and comfortable furniture. All the rooms come with free Wi-Fi. There's an Internet corner onsite. The on-premise fitness center is small but well-equipped.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi in all the rooms and throughout the hotel
  • Top location at the heart of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter
  • Small fitness center on the premises
Rooms

All of the 86 rooms at Confortel Almirante sport a fresh contemporary look, heaps of natural light and a full array of luxe amenities. Free in-room perks include Wi-Fi, bottled water and a choice of pillows. Room service (limited to Telepizza) and laundry are available for a fee. The 79 standard rooms offer all of the above while the three suites offer extra space. Three rooms are adapted for visitors with disabilities.

Features

The location of Confortel Almirante, steps from Las Ramblas at the heart of the Gothic Quarter, steals the show. Many of Barcelona's attractions sit within easy walking distance. All of the hotel's 86 units are modern, well-equipped and complete with free Wi-Fi and bottled water as an added benefit. Facilities include a coffee bar in the lobby, an Internet station and a small fitness center. The 24-hour reception can arrange car rental (fees apply) and exchange currency. The fashionable Born district next door to Confortel Almirante provides a plethora of eating and drinking options.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.9 mi/12.8 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Jaume 1 (on the L4 line)
Attractions
  • Picasso Museum (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Plaza Catalunya (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Las Ramblas (.3 mi/.6 km)
  • Plaza de Espana (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (2 mi/3.3 km)
Business
  • 40-person meeting room with latest high-tech perks
  • Free wireless Internet throughout

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Confortel Almirante also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Confortel Almirante Rooms

Standard Room
Rooms are well equipped with comfortable and contemporary furnishings in warm colors. They all offer free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, free safety deposit box, flat screen TV 19 ", satellite TV, air conditioning, central heating and direct dial telephone. Spacious bathrooms equipped with hairdryer and all amenities required for a pleasant stay.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museu Diocesà: 0 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.1 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.2 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.2 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.2 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.1 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.2 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.2 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.2 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 0.3 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Textiles and Fashion: 0.3 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 0.3 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.3 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.3 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.3 mi
  • Chocolate Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.3 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.3 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria del Mar: 0.4 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.4 mi
  • Sant Pere: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.4 mi
  • Passeig del Born: 0.4 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Arc de Triomf: 0.4 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.4 mi

Dining

Breakfast Room
Enjoy Buffet Breakfast at our modern and cozy restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Confortel Almirante

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Fl
May 9, 2010

Do not stay here

Extemely noisey, Old TV that worked poorly, uncomfortable beds, no pillow cases, no alarm, no radio, lack of towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Colorado
May 4, 2010

Average

Shower door didn't fit well on tub which caused water to get on floor. Would have liked to have a coffee pot in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

El cafe D'en Victor near the Catherdal Plaza had excellent food. Located Just a block or so from the hotel. The Hop on Hop off Trolley was located just across the street from hotel. Hotel location was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Mar 16, 2010

Great location

The location was perfect!! We wandered around Barros Gothic all day- and were able to drop things off. Very close to the metro station. We asked for blankets( which we did not get) but for the price- and the stay - this was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Mar 11, 2010

Fantastic - Highly Recommend

This hotel has an amazing location. You are a few minutes walking distance from basically anything and everything. There are 2 close metros stops to get to FC Barcelona, Montjuic, Sagrada Familia, you name it. The Catedral is one block up, one block over. I recommend checking out Bilboa Barria by the Catedral for tapas and drinks. Rosa Negra is about a block away and has inexpensive, delicious Raspberry Mojitos. I do not recommend El Reloj or H3 (El Reloj Grupo restaurants - total rip off and rude). McCarthy's downstairs is awesome if you want to hit up an Irish Pub. Barceloneta and Port Vell are about a 10 minute walk and beautiful. Go to CDLC, no questions asked. Grab a mango mojito and lounge outside. Walk the boardwalk and see the sand scuptors do their thing. Back to Confortel Almirante - The staff is very helpful and accomodating. They have a free computer station downstairs which is super helpful for staying in touch with home. Fitness Center is alright, but we walked so much we didn't even think about going in there. Breakfast is incredibly expensive so we never ate there. The Cappuchino chain has good coffee and pastries for breakfast. The room was a good size, has a desk, if you can - request a terrace. They are great for wine at night. Very sound proof (we were on the top floor though). Nice size beds, hair dryer in the bathroom, good shower. All around - a good hotel room. Not overly fancy or anything, but cool modern furnishings and style. Whether you go with Confortel Almirante or not, stay in this area. Barri Gotic is AMAZING for getting around. It's a great bang for your buck. Raval is apparently less safe. I never felt uncomfortable in this area, everyone was frendly. I think staying here really made our trip that much better. Oh and the free 6 water bottles every day - perfection. It doesn't sound like a big deal but water isn't free in Spain and you will need it. Housekeeping is also great and the room is always spotless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Local calls are not free. I asked and was told they were but they were not.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
just jenn
Business
DFW, Tx.
Jan 17, 2010

Excellent Location

I have never stayed in Barcalona before,the hotel was state of the art, clean & very mondern the room was extremly small but we spent little time in our room. It's a great location(1block) from the square several shops, resaurants and enterinment. The port was a short cab ride as well as the statidum. I would defentley stay here again or recomend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the tour buses a one day pass takes you all over Barcelona they have 3 different routs that run every 10min so you can save on cab far. Get on and off anywhere you like then catch the next one when you need to get back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 14, 2009

Great location

After an 8 hour flight,I was unable to check in for 7 hours! I was told repeatedly to come back in a couple more hours. Because of the great location I was able to kill time exploring the city which was great. I was then given a smoking room and had to wait again for a non smoking room. The hotel was listed as a four star but it was more like a fancy motel. I still had a great trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're waiting on your room go have a cafe con leche anywhere and relax, you're on vacation!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Jun 5, 2009

Very modern and excellent location

The location of the hotel made things easy. We walked to the hotel (12 minutes) from Plaza Cataluña where the airport bus A 1 stops. The Cathedral and the Gothic quarter are very near to the hotel. We could check in before noon and the hotel personnel was nice. The hotel decoration is very modern making it attractive even though it is a small building with small rooms. The buffet breakfast was varied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel RN
Business
Philadelphia , PA
May 20, 2009

Perfect!!

This is a cute boutique hotel with amazing staff and in a great location. I cannot say enough about the staff. The housekeeping was great and the views from the rooms were fantastic. We stayed for 8 nights and they upgraded our room to the top floor with a private balcony. I would really recommend the 8th floor. Location: right near Barcelona Cathedral and b/t two metro stops. 5 min walk to the main plaza, but worth being away from the constant traffic. Restaurant next door and those just blocks away were fantastic!! We would going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If traveling in Barcelona, get the T10pass from the metro. This gives you ten rides that we used and it was a savings. Thanks Rick Steves!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mowa
Business
new york
May 16, 2009

Short

good for this price. free mini bar = 6 botels of water per day...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping, dining and nightlife... all short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KCW
Business
Austin, TX
May 8, 2009

Barcelona 5/4/09

Rooms were very small, in fact I think our Cabin on the cruise was bigger. We stayed two nights, received clean towels but not sheets and trash cans were not emptied. If there was a Mini- bar they forgot our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top