$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Confortel Almirante

4 stars
Via Laietana, 42, Barcelona, 08003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
32 reviews
Great location, good price.

Located on on of the main avenues leading to the harbor and in the middle of the Gothic... See full review

  • Erik J
  • Jul 31, 2014
Great stay for 3 nights. Perfect Location!

Very comfortable and reasonably priced stay. Location was absolutely perfect - walking distance to... See full review

  • MadMen20
  • Mar 3, 2014
Stay super-central at this sleek Gothic Quarter hideout

The main drawing card of Confortel Almirante is its location in the midst of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter, a buzzing neighborhood with numerous attractions. The surrounding area may be ancient but the renovated building that houses the hotel packs in a variety of up-to-the-minute trappings. The interiors feature contemporary design with bold colors and comfortable furniture. All the rooms come with free Wi-Fi. There's an Internet corner onsite. The on-premise fitness center is small but well-equipped.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi in all the rooms and throughout the hotel
  • Top location at the heart of Barcelona's Gothic Quarter
  • Small fitness center on the premises
Rooms

All of the 86 rooms at Confortel Almirante sport a fresh contemporary look, heaps of natural light and a full array of luxe amenities. Free in-room perks include Wi-Fi, bottled water and a choice of pillows. Room service (limited to Telepizza) and laundry are available for a fee. The 79 standard rooms offer all of the above while the three suites offer extra space. Three rooms are adapted for visitors with disabilities.

Features

The location of Confortel Almirante, steps from Las Ramblas at the heart of the Gothic Quarter, steals the show. Many of Barcelona's attractions sit within easy walking distance. All of the hotel's 86 units are modern, well-equipped and complete with free Wi-Fi and bottled water as an added benefit. Facilities include a coffee bar in the lobby, an Internet station and a small fitness center. The 24-hour reception can arrange car rental (fees apply) and exchange currency. The fashionable Born district next door to Confortel Almirante provides a plethora of eating and drinking options.

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.9 mi/12.8 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Jaume 1 (on the L4 line)
Attractions
  • Picasso Museum (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • Plaza Catalunya (.3 mi/.5 km)
  • Las Ramblas (.3 mi/.6 km)
  • Plaza de Espana (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Sagrada Familia (2 mi/3.3 km)
Business
  • 40-person meeting room with latest high-tech perks
  • Free wireless Internet throughout

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Confortel Almirante also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Confortel Almirante Rooms

Standard Room
Rooms are well equipped with comfortable and contemporary furnishings in warm colors. They all offer free Wi-Fi, free bottled water, free safety deposit box, flat screen TV 19 ", satellite TV, air conditioning, central heating and direct dial telephone. Spacious bathrooms equipped with hairdryer and all amenities required for a pleasant stay.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museu Diocesà: 0 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.1 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.2 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.2 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.2 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Museu Diocesà: 0 mi
  • Museu Frederic Marès: 0.1 mi
  • Museo de Historia de Barcelona: 0.1 mi
  • Palau de la Música Catalana: 0.1 mi
  • Casa Martí: 0.1 mi
  • Casa de la Ciutat: 0.2 mi
  • Chapel of Santa Ágata: 0.2 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.2 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Palau Reial Major: 0.2 mi
  • Mercat Santa Caterina: 0.2 mi
  • Temple of Augustus: 0.2 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.2 mi
  • Portal de l'Àngel: 0.2 mi
  • Santa Anna Church: 0.2 mi
  • Església de Sants Just i Pastor: 0.2 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.2 mi
  • Picasso Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Carrer de Montcada: 0.3 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Textiles and Fashion: 0.3 mi
  • Museu Barbier-Mueller d'Art Precolombí: 0.3 mi
  • Monasterio de San Pedro de las Puellas: 0.3 mi
  • Palau de la Virreina: 0.3 mi
  • Ronda de Sant Pere: 0.3 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • El Corte Inglés: 0.3 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.3 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.3 mi
  • Chocolate Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.3 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.3 mi
  • Plaça de Catalunya station: 0.3 mi
  • Casa Calvet: 0.3 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.4 mi
  • Santa Maria del Mar: 0.4 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.4 mi
  • Sant Pere: 0.4 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.4 mi
  • Passeig del Born: 0.4 mi
  • Hemp Museum Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Arc de Triomf: 0.4 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.4 mi

Dining

Breakfast Room
Enjoy Buffet Breakfast at our modern and cozy restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Confortel Almirante

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jadestone
London
Oct 9, 2012

Good Stay

Hotel staff were efficient and helpful. Hotel was in a good position and easy walk to most of the things you want to see. Bathroom was modern as was room but a little tired.Would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A Fire Sustained By Rain
Business
New York
Sep 13, 2014

Oh Dear Oh Dear Don't Stay Here

The sky was clear enough to see the stars in Barcelona, but after checking into Confortel Almirante it was hard to see why this establishment could possibly deserve any of it's supposed four stars. The hotel is well situated, the lobby looks hip and trendy, and the staff are friendly enough, but this is tired and incredibly basic place to stay at the end of the day. Everything in the room looked pretty worn out. In the bathroom I was provided with a single solitary single use sliver of soap. This place deserves one star at most.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat on the Ramblas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erik J
Business
Camarillo, California
Jul 31, 2014

Great location, good price.

Located on on of the main avenues leading to the harbor and in the middle of the Gothic neighborhood make it a great place from which to explore. We chose an inside room off of the street, and it was very quiet. Room had a safe. Very clean, but shower door did not keep water from getting the floor wet. A/C was great to have. Staff was courteous. Had breakfast one morning at their restaurant. Not much of a deal for €11- most of the fruit was from a can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the restaurant next door. Walk around the corner to the Mercado Santa Catarina. Some good restaurants there, especially the one on the corner of the market closest to the hotel- Cuines Santa Catarina. Had a great lunch and dinner there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emma D
Business
Belfast, Northern Ireland
May 25, 2014

Good short city break

The hotel is in the heart of Barcelona's lively and very beautiful Gothic Quarter. The location can not be beaten. The hotel itself is rather basic and nothing spectacular. I had a great 5 day city getaway and would love to return to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want the true Spanish cuisine experience you must try out the tapas restaurants in the Gothic Quarter. Don't be put off by the look of some of them. Go in if there are tons of locals because you will be certain to have a brilliant evening.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
usarugger
Business
Novato, California
Apr 30, 2014

Yes, I would recommend this hotel, but you get what you pay for.

Stayed one night. Room was clean but dated. Bed was very hard as are most in the hotels i stay in and the air conditioning was very weak therefore room was a bit warm at night. I didn't use room service or any other facilities within the hotel. I would say it was about what I expected for the price. No major complaints but I'm trying to nit pick a bit for this review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MadMen20
Business
Florence, Italy
Mar 3, 2014

Great stay for 3 nights. Perfect Location!

Very comfortable and reasonably priced stay. Location was absolutely perfect - walking distance to many places and close to metro station. Room and bathroom were both great - awesome shower! Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was also very good and only 11 Euro for a great spread of quality food and many beverages. I highly recommend this hotel if you are spending a few nights in Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
carldosa
Business
Barcelona, Spain
Jan 30, 2014

Very good location to stay

Everything was good, but the room smelled really bad. Requested a change in room and everything was better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
markpf
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 12, 2013

Very pleased with our stay

We stayed 3 days in mid Sept. 2013, and we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was helpful - checked us right in with somewhat early arrival. Our room was in the back, so very quiet, and it was larger than we anticipated. The bathroom was also surprisingly large. And everything was exceptionally clean, which really pleased us. We didn't eat at the hotel - rather we found a very nice little place around the corner for breakfast and other nice places within easy walking distance. The hotel proved to be a perfect location for first-timers to Barcelona. We did lots of walking as well as used the hop-on, hop off bus. Definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nicfbam
Business
London
Feb 26, 2013

Handy helpful hotel

Very helpful staff, ( guy on reception checked website fro me re bus times and lent me his own personal phone charger) great location, nothing to complain about apart from room is quite smalll and narrow and TV didnt work so well. Very minor issues as I wasnt plannign to spend all my time in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

wonderful tapas at irati

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ocomes
Business
Paris, France
Nov 26, 2012

Good location, poor room

Came with my wife to enjoy a week end in Barcelona. Location very convenient close to the Cathedral, Plaza Catalunya (buses to BCN airport) and Barrio Gotico. Our room was very, very, very small... and the bed smaller! No bath, shower only. Blind windows. Unacceptable for a ****.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best tapas on earth at El Quim de Boqueria in the middle of Boqueria Market (Ramblas, 98).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Confortel Almirante

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LonC
Business
London
Oct 19, 2012

Central Barcelona stay

We had a lovely stay at hotel Almirante. We booked through a mobile app and received a great price! We had a top floor room with as huge terras and amazing views of the old town and Sagrada familia (I think we got an upgrade). Location of the hotel was perfect, just the room itself seemed a little dated, but that didn't matter at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top