$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 21, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
112 reviews
Great hotel before a cruise

We loved this hotel!! The location was perfect! It was very quiet but just a couple of blocks from... See full review

  • Wind1953
  • Nov 21, 2014
Recent Trip To Barcelona

Barcelona Universal is a real 4 star hotel. It's central location makes it easy to get to the major... See full review

  • WS Chuck 2
  • Aug 14, 2014
Its proximity to the Rambla, and to the Fira de Barcelona and the Palau de Congresses, trade fair and conference centers, has made of the Barcelona Universal Hotel a city-wide point of reference as both a tourism and business-oriented hotel since its opening in 2001 (refurbished in 2012).The Barcelona Universal Hotel has 167 rooms, all with soundproofing, climate control, satellite TV, mini-bar and safe. The hotel also offers 3 suites with private terrace and Jacuzzi. Enjoy the gym, the outdoor pool, and the solarium, which offers extraordinary views of Barcelona. The hotel also has 4 fully equipped conference rooms, a special floor of rooms that can be used as personal offices, private parking and a Business Center with free internet access (broadband and Wireless). All the guests of the hotel can use free of charge our WIFI technology available from all areas and rooms of the hotel. Also there are some computers with internet access that can be used also free of charge by our guests if they do not bring their own laptop. Discover Las Ramblas placed just a few steps from the hotel, or go for a stroll along Port Vell, through the Gothic Neighborhood and explore the Liceu Opera House, the Catalan Music Palace, the Cathedral, the Magic Fountains of Montjuic, the Caixa Forum, the Grec Theater, Poble Espanyol, the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion or the Olympic Stadium. The strategic location of the hotel between the World Trade Center and the Fira de Barcelona Montjuic-1, near the Palau de Congresses, trade fair and conference centers, makes it a key spot for business activities in the city. This excellent location also gives guests easy access to Sants Estaci, the major bus and train station, where guests can catch trains to the airport, hop on the metro, or catch the cable car to Montjuic. Amenities are Banquet facilities, Business centre, Concierge, Conference facilities, Currency exchange, Disabled facilities, Doctor on call, Dry cleaning, Gym / Fitness facilities, Internet access-High-Speed, Internet access-Wireless, Laundry service, Lift / Elevator, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Parking facilities-at cost, Reception, Room service, Safe deposit box in the rooms (free of charge), Solarium and Swimming pool-outdoor. All of the hotel's stylish and contemporary rooms are well equipped, with all the modern comforts and facilities guests' need in a restful, relaxing base. Whether guests are exploring the region as a tourist, visiting the area on business or attending a conference, the comfortable, peaceful rooms provide a relaxing haven. In addition to the listed facilities, all rooms are equipped with double glazed windows, individual climate controls, a heated towel rack, a welcome kit and a full-length mirror. Hotel Registration Number: HB-004114

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelona Universal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

Universal Room - Free WIFI (1 or 2 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.
Universal Triple - Free WIFI (3 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms, much larger than Universal Roomm with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.5 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.5 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.6 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 0.6 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 0.6 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 0.7 mi
  • World trade centre and Moll de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.7 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Montjuïc Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are 4 meeting rooms (under request directly to the hotel). Also, on the 9th floor there is a lobby that clients can use free of charge for small meetings.

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant offers full breakfast buffet in the morning and a salads buffet for dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super dad with fastidious family
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 30, 2011

Super experience and great service

We found the hotel nice, clean and very comfortable. It has a modern appeal and great staff. The director personally took time to speak with us and help us with information, tips to go sightseeing, streets to avoid, and find our way around the city. The shower in the bathroom was a pleasure to be under after a long tiring day. They delivered hot water in a kettle for us to make our own special spicy tea at no charge! They are quite considerate of foreign nationals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a very conveniently located hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 1, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

nice room good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Mar 29, 2011

Good except location

Friendly staff and nice clean room. The location was somewhat inconvenient as it was 3o minute walk through not the nicest parts of town to get to the more central parts of town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA
Mar 27, 2011

Convenient location and great price

The metro station is just outside the hotel and that made it very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eugene K.
Business
New York City
Feb 24, 2011

Convinient location, clean rooms

Good location relative to all the places you might want to see in the city. 5 min walk brings to the city center, Miro park and museum or promenade. Rooms are clean. As minuses I can mention: The neighborhood is more of a working class place. Restaurant is not worth eating there. King bed was simply 2 beds put together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KStone
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 21, 2011

Almost a 5 Star

The hotel overall was outstanding! There is literally a metro stop 20 steps from the front door, and you're a 10 minute walk to one of the double-decker bus tour stops. The hotel was extremely clean with great service and we were right in the heart of a trendy area with 3 theaters within 100 yards. The room comes equipped with an audio surround system that plays soothing tunes in the bedroom and bathroom. The only things preventing the hotel from getting 5 stars were: 1) The rooms did not come with irons and ironing boards, you have to request them at the front desk and they'll come and get them back an hour or two later; 2) The were no true king size beds, there were two twin mattresses pushed together with a pad on top. Overall I would rate the hotel at a 4.7 and I will definitely stay there for my next trip to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The front desk personnel have a list of restaurants within two blocks walk that have Spanish and English menus and outstanding service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Duck
Business
Southern Maryland
Feb 12, 2011

Pleasant suprise

Very efficient service, clean modern decoration, spotless house keeping, very convenient to the sights and transportation. A great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penny mom of a Barcelona student
Business
New Salisbury, IN
Feb 9, 2011

Great hotel room, but check your bill

The hotel room gave us more than I expected. I really liked the wood & marble floors. Everything was exceptionally clean and fresh smelling. The air conditioning worked well when we needed it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was the best. We used the metro & bus system to get anywhere we wanted to go. It was easy & efficient. The only downside to the hotel experience was that they tried to charge us items from the mini bar that we didn't use. It took 3 different arguments to get that taken off our bill. Hopefully it won't show up on our Visa card later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our hotel was very close to lots of dining areas. The portions were large and we were able to share many items. The best was the "American breakfast" at most restaurants close by. Enough for two. I do suggest finding the places where locals go to eat. We had the best seafood at a place that we just happened upon. We visited a couple of places I had researched on line and they were very disappointing. The local food critic said you had to go to 7 Portes. You really don't. It was my biggest disappointment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bamaguy
Business
Decatur, AL
Feb 6, 2011

Barcelona Universal Hotel - 1/21-22/2011

The Barcelona Universal was very clean and modern. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet that was included in our rate (normally 15 euros pp). They also had 2 computers with free internet in the lobby. The hotel location at the subway/metro being just out the front door was very handy. Our room was 803 and we could hear some traffic but it wasn't bothersome. We had a great stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the bay end of Las Ramblas or a short subway ride to the Catalan Plaza end. Be sure to see the Magic Fountains of Montjuic which is a long walk or short subway ride from the Paral-lel metro station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
Jan 10, 2011

Barcelona Universal

This hotel was perfectly located for walking, taking the Metro, train, or busses. The staff gave excellent directions - they usually printed out details for us. The rooms were clean, large and modern. Any requests were handled in a very timely manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Barcelona Card is a very good buy, and will give you unlimited rides on the Metro or busses, along with discounts to many attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top