$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sg-devon
Couples
Devon
Oct 12, 2013

Just as described

Spotlessly clean. Very helpful, friendly Reception staff. Lovely meal and service in the restaurant. Convenient location for all of Barcelona as Metro station is just outside .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AndyCherry
Couples
Northwest Uk
Sep 26, 2013

Honeymoon

Great hotel for amenities and location. Metro is clean and safe, 10 metres from hotel entrance. Staff honoured our e-mail request for front facing and high room. Looked after our bags while we went out for 3 hours before check in. Staff helpful. Breakfast's were plentiful and lots of options. Overall great hotel and facing the iconic 1992 olympic high diving board . Used Aerobus (T2) from airport, first stop is Espanya Plaza. Get T10 metro ticket to save £.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Placa Reial, great place to eat with loads of choice, not a picture board menu in sight, and just off the busy Touristy Rambla's

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJR2
Family
New York
Sep 21, 2013

Great Stay

We were very impressed with the hotel for the money paid. It was a very good value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

When booking the tourist bus in Barcelona, book at the hotel and receive a discount from normal prices.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Becky66
Couples
Southampton, UK
Sep 17, 2013

OK stay

Ok hotel, staff pleasant, decor modern. 'double bed' very small. No full length mirror, room small. Noise from street loud, however I was prepared for this from having read other reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not eat on Rambler, £18 for a sangria and a beer. Lots of lovely eateries/bars a lot cheaper on streets/areas a very short walk away.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suskin
Family
Farnham, Surrey
Aug 31, 2013

A great hotel for a short break

This hotel is very well placed for access to many tourist activities. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The decor of the hotel is very nice indeed. Unfortunately we had a room with no natural light which was a bit strange and did not encourage spending any time there. On our first day when we returned to it in the late afternoon we found the beds still unmade. The included breakfast was vey good and plentiful. If we stayed there again we would ask for a room with a real window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the cafes next to the hotel, they are a rip off. Better to eat at a good restaurant used by locals. Much better value

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler Trip Organizer
Family
Ruston, Louisiana
Jun 27, 2013

Thieves work at this hotel

I folded and stored our complete itinerary in a plastic bag in the room which also contained some food items. The cleaning service took the paperwork from inside the bag and left the food. We reported the loss to staff who acted like they were not concerned. I contacted the police who came to the hotel, and the staff told them that they knew nothing about the theft. My traveling companion and I were very distraught. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barcelona is fun
Couples
USA
Jun 1, 2013

Vacation

Nice hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and food recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Virginia Cruisers
Couples
Fredericksburg, VA
May 30, 2013

Wonderful Experience

We selected this hotel for our short stay in Barcelona following a cruise. This hotel was complete as advertised. We arrived early (0800) and were offered the option of waiting for a room with a view or accepting one without. Knowing we didn't plan on spending much time in the room, we elected a room with no view. By American standards the room is small, however by European standards the room is fairly large. It had a safe, ample closet space, a wet bar with refrigerator and chips, a desk area, small bench, king size bed and bathroom with full tub, toilet and bidet. Our particular rate also included buffet breakfast which was lovely. Our only disappointment was in the guests staying in the room next door who felt it was OK to come in loud and drunk at 2AM. Im sure everyone in the hotel heard them! The hotel is centrally located with the metro station right out front. We choose to walk everywhere and were able to reach every site we choose to see. Overall, our stay was wonderful. Not only would we recommend this hotel to a friend, we would stay here again ourselves!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
r and r
Couples
Hershey, PA, USA
May 22, 2013

First time to Barcelona

This hotel is conveniently located to a Metro station and walking distance to popular sights in the city. Staff was helpful and the breakfast was a buffet with a large selection of food. The rooftop pool and solarium were very scenic. Rooms were modern, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DaveJ
Friends
England
May 12, 2013

4 Day break

The Universal is a great hotel. Very centrally located and adjacent to the efficient metro system. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much bother, The hotel is very clean and all public rooms were kept tidy. the bathrooms were very hygienic and the free toiletries very useful. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a two day pass from the hotel as soon as you arrive

Back to menu Return to top