Barcelona Universal Hotel ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$72
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Mar 2, 2016 Check-out: Mar 3, 2016

Best Stay in Barcelona

Would recommend Fri, Jul 25, 2014
The hotel was EXCELLENT!! Centrally located, right across the street from the METRO, which can take you anywhere in the city, including the funicular to Monjuic. The room was always clean, fresh, hardwood floors. Staff were helpful in giving directions and offering to keep our luggage when the room wasnt ready (before Check in). Pool was refreshing on the rooftop with a bar. In room safe, fridge, very modern. I would stay here again, no doubts! And for those nate light snacks, eats next door at A LA TURUC, for some kabobs.

Shopping hint

Take the L2 subway to sagrada familia. ABout 5 stops. takes you directly there but purchase your ticket in advance, because if you buy at the door you will have to wait an hour in the long hot sun.

| LOS ANGELES Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Fantastic city break

Would recommend Wed, Jul 23, 2014
Great hotel in good location with easy access to beach, old town and airport. Staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to assist. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and we are more than happy to recommend it.

| London Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Awesome location

Would recommend Mon, Jul 7, 2014
We were in Barcelona for a vacation and had a great time with Barcelona Universal. The location is very good and safe, very close to the metro station, walking distance to Las Ramblas and The Gothic Quarter. Although Plaza Catalunya would be a more favorable location, this was good too. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff is very helpful for sharing information on places around and how to get there.

Attractions

Park Guell is a must visit..

| San Jose, California Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great weekend trip

Would recommend Wed, Jul 2, 2014
Hotel is situated 5 mins from the ramblas and was perfect for the weekend

Dining

Find the place de ravel for great place to eat

| Barcelona Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Convenient and comfortable hotel

Would recommend Wed, Jun 25, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay in Barcelona Universal for 5 nights. It is very convenient to go anywhere from there. The staff are very helpful especially when we suffered from a theft on the subway. The hotel helped us with telephone service in contacting credit cards etc. What missing is a hot water pot. I love hot way for tea wherever I stay in a hotel.

Time saver

save time and be safe

| Los Angeles Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great vacation

Would recommend Tue, Jun 17, 2014
This hotel is centrally located, close to public transportation. Hotel is a few blocks away from Las Ramblas, within walking distance of the gothic neighborhood and the cathedral. It is also close to the Plaza Cataluna. There are many restaurants around the hotel where you can get a meal for a decent price. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was of adequate size and the bed was comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

Dining

I highly recommend having lunch at La Boqueria Market. The seafood is amazing. Note that the market closes at 5 pm.

| New York, New York Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

good for city break

Would recommend Sat, Jun 7, 2014
A good all round experience. Helpful staff and quiet room. Lovely shower!

| Oxford Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

It doesn't get any better!

Would recommend Thu, Jun 5, 2014
We were only in Barcelona for one day and the management hooked me up with a private (English speaking) tour guide who showed us all of Barcelona and then got us to our cruise ship on time!

| Durbin, ND, USA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

great hotel

Would recommend Sat, May 24, 2014
The room we got was 8 floor the view was nice, the bed was big,Helped each question Orientation, The only thing that they need to improve is to add hard egg and more cheese and Vegetables the fruit are great. The roof with the view and the swimming pool are great. The location close to every thing.

| Isreal Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great Hotel in great location

Would recommend Tue, May 20, 2014
Stayed at Hotel Barcelona Universal for 4 nights and we werent disappointed. We got a good deal, much cheaper than the cost advertized on the hotel website. Location is superb, the hotel is literally outside the metro station, which in my opinion is a wonderful thing to have for visiting tourists. Staff were very friendly, approachable and always willing to help. This helped us a lot in getting our bearings as this was our first visit to Barcelona. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the bustling La Ramblas Avenue and only a 10 - 15 minute bus ride to the beach. Rooms were very clean and exactly as advertised on the hotel website. My only slight negative would be the beds which were two twins rather than a king size bed hence the 4 star rating otherwise i would have given a 5 star review.

Dining

Restaurants just before the Barceloneta Beach have amazing seafood at literally half the price of most tourists areas. Stay away from Port Olimpic unless you have over €100 to spend on a meal per head.

| London Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5