$115 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samin
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 25, 2014

Convenient and comfortable hotel

We really enjoyed our stay in Barcelona Universal for 5 nights. It is very convenient to go anywhere from there. The staff are very helpful especially when we suffered from a theft on the subway. The hotel helped us with telephone service in contacting credit cards etc. What missing is a hot water pot. I love hot way for tea wherever I stay in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

save time and be safe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panchita New York
Business
New York, New York
Jun 17, 2014

Great vacation

This hotel is centrally located, close to public transportation. Hotel is a few blocks away from Las Ramblas, within walking distance of the gothic neighborhood and the cathedral. It is also close to the Plaza Cataluna. There are many restaurants around the hotel where you can get a meal for a decent price. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was of adequate size and the bed was comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend having lunch at La Boqueria Market. The seafood is amazing. Note that the market closes at 5 pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sanjatay
Business
Oxford
Jun 7, 2014

good for city break

A good all round experience. Helpful staff and quiet room. Lovely shower!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jayjayt
Business
Durbin, ND, USA
Jun 5, 2014

It doesn't get any better!

We were only in Barcelona for one day and the management hooked me up with a private (English speaking) tour guide who showed us all of Barcelona and then got us to our cruise ship on time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tsofi
Business
Isreal
May 24, 2014

great hotel

The room we got was 8 floor the view was nice, the bed was big,Helped each question Orientation, The only thing that they need to improve is to add hard egg and more cheese and Vegetables the fruit are great. The roof with the view and the swimming pool are great. The location close to every thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abs1983
Business
London
May 20, 2014

Great Hotel in great location

Stayed at Hotel Barcelona Universal for 4 nights and we werent disappointed. We got a good deal, much cheaper than the cost advertized on the hotel website. Location is superb, the hotel is literally outside the metro station, which in my opinion is a wonderful thing to have for visiting tourists. Staff were very friendly, approachable and always willing to help. This helped us a lot in getting our bearings as this was our first visit to Barcelona. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the bustling La Ramblas Avenue and only a 10 - 15 minute bus ride to the beach. Rooms were very clean and exactly as advertised on the hotel website. My only slight negative would be the beds which were two twins rather than a king size bed hence the 4 star rating otherwise i would have given a 5 star review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants just before the Barceloneta Beach have amazing seafood at literally half the price of most tourists areas. Stay away from Port Olimpic unless you have over €100 to spend on a meal per head.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golfing mom
Business
South Yorkshire
May 10, 2014

city break

Good location for sightseeing. Staff in reception very helpful and had a good understanding of English. One down side (maybe not to some), there wasn't any tea/coffee making facilities. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If going to see the Sagrada Familia and you want to go inside, book online prior to going to avoid queuing for tickets in the blazing sun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb n Phill
Business
England
May 8, 2014

4 night break for couple

Hotel is modern and spotless. Helpful, friendly staff. Small rooftop pool with great views of the city. Lots of bathroom goodies more akin to higher star hotel. On second floor so we had a terrace which was lovely to sit out on (no view but nice to have patio door open for fresh air in room rather than air con on). Fridge in room and safe which you need in Barcelona as you take bare minimum money or valuables out with you. We had breakfast included in our room rate and it was fantastic. All freshly prepared on a buffet that was constantly filled up. Would recommend hotel for an evening meal as well. Had one of best steaks ever. Tube station right outside hotel but only 10 min walk to La Rambla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the evening buffet. Help yourself to starters, then we had an amazing steak with all the trimmings and help yourself to desert off the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim77
Business
Maine
Feb 23, 2014

Barcelona in February

The weather was springlike! We had sunny days with a light breeze, temperatures in the high 50's each day. We were comfortable in a light coat and a scarf for when a breeze kicked up by the water. The hotel was clean and the staff was wonderful! We loved the location, safe, convenient to subway stop, ATM, restaurants and a short walk to Barcelona cathedral and the wonderful La Boqueria market. We loved the palace Guell which again was an easy 10 minute walk. Take a walk around the Gothic Quarter, lots of winding, more narrow streets with little shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Elche restaurant for delicious paella at a very reasonable price. A friend who lives in that area said it was the best around. Check it out at www.elcherestaurant.es

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poli Prof
Business
Utah
Feb 14, 2014

Well located and comfortable

The hotel is modern and the staff kind and efficient. The location was only a few blocks from La Rambla and right next to a metro station. .My wife and I had a very comfortable stay. The wi-fi was good although we were asked to renew our connection on a regular basis. The in-room safe was an added bonus. We skipped the 16 euro breakfast at the hotel in favor of eating at local restaurants. Our trip was a combination of work and pleasure. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the T 10 metro pass which is much more economical than purchasing indiviidual tickets. The Barcelona metro system is clean, fast, and efficient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top