$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penny mom of a Barcelona student
Business
New Salisbury, IN
Feb 9, 2011

Great hotel room, but check your bill

The hotel room gave us more than I expected. I really liked the wood & marble floors. Everything was exceptionally clean and fresh smelling. The air conditioning worked well when we needed it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was the best. We used the metro & bus system to get anywhere we wanted to go. It was easy & efficient. The only downside to the hotel experience was that they tried to charge us items from the mini bar that we didn't use. It took 3 different arguments to get that taken off our bill. Hopefully it won't show up on our Visa card later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our hotel was very close to lots of dining areas. The portions were large and we were able to share many items. The best was the "American breakfast" at most restaurants close by. Enough for two. I do suggest finding the places where locals go to eat. We had the best seafood at a place that we just happened upon. We visited a couple of places I had researched on line and they were very disappointing. The local food critic said you had to go to 7 Portes. You really don't. It was my biggest disappointment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bamaguy
Business
Decatur, AL
Feb 6, 2011

Barcelona Universal Hotel - 1/21-22/2011

The Barcelona Universal was very clean and modern. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet that was included in our rate (normally 15 euros pp). They also had 2 computers with free internet in the lobby. The hotel location at the subway/metro being just out the front door was very handy. Our room was 803 and we could hear some traffic but it wasn't bothersome. We had a great stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the bay end of Las Ramblas or a short subway ride to the Catalan Plaza end. Be sure to see the Magic Fountains of Montjuic which is a long walk or short subway ride from the Paral-lel metro station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
Jan 10, 2011

Barcelona Universal

This hotel was perfectly located for walking, taking the Metro, train, or busses. The staff gave excellent directions - they usually printed out details for us. The rooms were clean, large and modern. Any requests were handled in a very timely manner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Barcelona Card is a very good buy, and will give you unlimited rides on the Metro or busses, along with discounts to many attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 8, 2011

Great hotel for the price

This isn't the nicest hotel I've been too, but not bad for the price. The location is great (about 10 min walk to Las Ramblas) and the metro station is right outside the hotel. Staff was awesome, our luggage was lost and they were very helpful, even called the airline for me. I wouldn't recommend the breakfast. We needed something quick one morning. It was good, but really overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found the best seafood restaurant! Emperador in Barceloneta. Quick metro ride, right on the water, great food and the best Sangria we could find! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rare visitor
Business
new York city
Jan 1, 2011

Very good hotel

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and most speak English very well. Staff was also very knowledgeable about activities/dining in Barcelona. They even knew that the restaurant I wanted to try didn't take reservations and recommended the best times to go to avoid lines. Hotel itself is right outside a train station which made it convenient if you were touring different places in the city. But the hotel is a lil further from la rambla than expected but getting there was easy and a good way to see some side streets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Paco Meralgo. Food is amazing but slightly pricey but well worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Dec 20, 2010

Great Price and room

Very nice hotel, close to cruise terminal about a 12 Euro cab ride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 1, 2010

Barcelona Hotel Universal

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for two nights. The room was clean and the size was adequate. Very noisy as our room was facing the major road. Neighborhood was bad but close to the center and better parts of the city. Will definitely not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
otty101
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Oct 31, 2010

Great trip, good location

The hotel was located close to Las Ramblas, Placa d'Espanya and the port, 3 of the main tourist areas of Barcelona. The staff were friendly and they spoke good english. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant as the choice on the menu was very limited, but there are plenty of nice restaurants near the hotel. The pool was not open when we were there in October, which was disappointing. Also, the bar is very small and service was slow. Overall I had a great holiday and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I would recommend doing the Open top bus tour - Bus Turistic. It was only 29euro for a 2 day ticket and i got to see the whole of Barcelona. You also get discounts for tourist attractions, dining etc with your ticket.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 2, 2010

great location, good service, small room

Location cannot be better with this price. 10 minutes walk to the harbor port and many local restaurants nearby. A little bit noisy, but that can be understood as it sits by a very busy street. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Room was cleaned every day around noon. The only complaint I have is the bed is so small. I am not sure about other rooms but the one I stayed had one "double bed". It is much smaller than the US standard full-size bed though. Yet it is supposed to fit two adults. I couldnot imagine how it can fit two people since I traveled by myself and the bed was already short for me. This might be even worse for other people since I am a female and my height is below average. Anyway, I will be happy to stay in this place next time I go to Barcelona by myself. But if I travel with a company, I will definitely pass this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Aug 31, 2010

Excellent location but noisy

Fantastic location but do not come back from the small street (c. de Nou de Rambla) at night. It isn't safe. Great staff but pool is tiny and 'fitness centre' even smaller. Fantastic bus network near hotel, much better than the tube, that will bring you everywhere including to the seaside. Easy access to Placa Espanya (and the bus to the airport) or the stunning Montjuic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just be careful, particularly at night. Pickpockets and junkies are numerous in Barcelona, particularly in La Rambla and every crowded place. Even locals told me to be careful, when they realised I was not from Barcelona so don't dress like a tourist, don't put your bag on your chair (always on your knees) and be very careful when taking some cash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top