$148 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
May 5, 2010

Perfect location

Very modern hotel with very clean rooms and excellent staff who speak English well. They are very helpful and go out their way to make sure you are happy. Hotel is right at the train station and a very short walk to La Rambla and the port.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk past La Rambla and get into old town with very small streets with great shopping and food off the main touristy La Rambla.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Duck
Business
Southern Maryland
Feb 12, 2011

Pleasant suprise

Very efficient service, clean modern decoration, spotless house keeping, very convenient to the sights and transportation. A great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rare visitor
Business
new York city
Jan 1, 2011

Very good hotel

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and most speak English very well. Staff was also very knowledgeable about activities/dining in Barcelona. They even knew that the restaurant I wanted to try didn't take reservations and recommended the best times to go to avoid lines. Hotel itself is right outside a train station which made it convenient if you were touring different places in the city. But the hotel is a lil further from la rambla than expected but getting there was easy and a good way to see some side streets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Paco Meralgo. Food is amazing but slightly pricey but well worth it

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bamaguy
Business
Decatur, AL
Feb 6, 2011

Barcelona Universal Hotel - 1/21-22/2011

The Barcelona Universal was very clean and modern. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet that was included in our rate (normally 15 euros pp). They also had 2 computers with free internet in the lobby. The hotel location at the subway/metro being just out the front door was very handy. Our room was 803 and we could hear some traffic but it wasn't bothersome. We had a great stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the bay end of Las Ramblas or a short subway ride to the Catalan Plaza end. Be sure to see the Magic Fountains of Montjuic which is a long walk or short subway ride from the Paral-lel metro station.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Odyssey Seeker
Business
New York, NY
Mar 8, 2010

Good value, pleasant stay

A quiet, clean and comfortable hotel that represents a good value. Subway right outside, walking distance to Las Ramblas. We enjoyed our short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico, USA
Dec 1, 2009

Excelent !!

Excellent service, superb location, super-clean room and bathroom, helpful staff.....bed was too hard for our taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Major metro station just outside the hotel door. Also, very close to the pier.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penny mom of a Barcelona student
Business
New Salisbury, IN
Feb 9, 2011

Great hotel room, but check your bill

The hotel room gave us more than I expected. I really liked the wood & marble floors. Everything was exceptionally clean and fresh smelling. The air conditioning worked well when we needed it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was the best. We used the metro & bus system to get anywhere we wanted to go. It was easy & efficient. The only downside to the hotel experience was that they tried to charge us items from the mini bar that we didn't use. It took 3 different arguments to get that taken off our bill. Hopefully it won't show up on our Visa card later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our hotel was very close to lots of dining areas. The portions were large and we were able to share many items. The best was the "American breakfast" at most restaurants close by. Enough for two. I do suggest finding the places where locals go to eat. We had the best seafood at a place that we just happened upon. We visited a couple of places I had researched on line and they were very disappointing. The local food critic said you had to go to 7 Portes. You really don't. It was my biggest disappointment.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Groucho
Business
Kansas City
Sep 14, 2011

Very pleasing lodgings in Barcelona

This is a relatively small hotel with a helpful staff, located not-to-far from the famous Rambla area, waterfront, and historic areas of Barcelona. It has a very good but modest restaurant, pleasing bar/lounge. We arrived very early in the morning after a long flight. They made special effort to get us into a room as soon as one was available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk the Rambla and surrounding area.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Mar 29, 2011

Good except location

Friendly staff and nice clean room. The location was somewhat inconvenient as it was 3o minute walk through not the nicest parts of town to get to the more central parts of town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
otty101
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Oct 31, 2010

Great trip, good location

The hotel was located close to Las Ramblas, Placa d'Espanya and the port, 3 of the main tourist areas of Barcelona. The staff were friendly and they spoke good english. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant as the choice on the menu was very limited, but there are plenty of nice restaurants near the hotel. The pool was not open when we were there in October, which was disappointing. Also, the bar is very small and service was slow. Overall I had a great holiday and would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

I would recommend doing the Open top bus tour - Bus Turistic. It was only 29euro for a 2 day ticket and i got to see the whole of Barcelona. You also get discounts for tourist attractions, dining etc with your ticket.

Back to menu Return to top