$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
217 reviews
Recent Trip To Barcelona

Barcelona Universal is a real 4 star hotel. It's central location makes it easy to get to the major... See full review

  • WS Chuck 2
  • Aug 14, 2014
Best Stay in Barcelona

The hotel was EXCELLENT!! Centrally located, right across the street from the METRO, which can take... See full review

  • SylvieFromLA
  • Jul 25, 2014
Up-to-the-minute lodging with free Wi-Fi close to downtown attractions

A hop and a skip on foot from Las Ramblas, Barcelona Universal Hotel offers contempo-chic rooms and suites with up-to-the-minute trimmings such as free Wi-Fi. A favorite among business visitors to Barcelona, it features extensive on-site facilities and well-trained staff. The tenth-floor swimming pool showcases stellar vistas of Barcelona's skyline. The solarium and fitness center next door are a boon for leisure visitors. The first-floor restaurant dishes out international fare.

Highlights
  • The three suites come with Jacuzzis and private terraces
  • Complimentary bottle of cava (Catalan champagne) in superior rooms
  • Prime views of Sagrada Família from the tenth-floor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in the rooms
  • Superb location a stone's throw from Las Ramblas
Rooms

Barcelona Universal Hotel offers four different room types. Universal rooms are the simplest and smallest. The superior rooms that occupy the building's corner are more spacious and include a complimentary bottle of cava. Triple rooms are ideal for families, as they feature enough space for a sofa bed. The ninth-floor skyline suites at Barcelona Universal Hotel come equipped with marble-clad bathrooms with Jacuzzis and panoramic city views from their private terraces. All units have air conditioning and heating, safe, LCD TV, en-suite bathroom and free Wi-Fi.

Features

Well-suited to business as well as leisure travelers, Barcelona Universal Hotel provides all guests with free Wi-Fi. Two complimentary business centers offer broadband Internet connection. One is in the hotel lobby and the other on the ninth floor. Open seasonally, the small swimming pool on the tenth floor offers city views from its two terraces. The first-floor Medea restaurant dishes out international cuisine for breakfast and dinner. A variety of dining options sits within walking distance of Barcelona Universal Hotel. Guests can pay extra for private parking and laundry services. 

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.2 mi/ 11.5 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Paralel (the hotel is right in front of the Nou de la Rambla exit)
Attractions
  • Las Ramblas (.4 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Plaza de Cataluña (.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Picasso Museum (.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Plaza de España (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Montjuic (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Sagrada Família (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • Four conference rooms and seven private offices
  • Free wireless and hard-wire Internet service
  • Audio-visual setups
  • Two 24/7 business centers

Hotel Map

41.3751 2.1685
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport (BCN) only 12 KMS away from the hotel.
Area description
Hotel Barcelona Universal is located on Avenida Paralel, number 76, just a few steps away from Las Ramblas (metro station "PARALEL", lines 2 and 3, just in front of the hotel). The locations gives to the hotel's guests access to some of Barcelona's most emblematic and celebrated areas such as the Old Port, the Gothic neighbourhood, the Liceu Theatre, the Palau de la Msica Catalana, the Cathedral, the Magical Fountains of Montjuc, CaixaForum, the Grec Theatre, Poble Espanyol, the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion and the Olympic Stadium. Hotel Barcelona Universal is nearby to countless tourist attractions, as well as the city's key business and commercial areas, the World Trade Centre, the Barcelona Fira and the Palau de Congresos Convention Centre.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelona Universal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

Universal Room - Free WIFI (1 or 2 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.
Universal Triple - Free WIFI (3 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms, much larger than Universal Roomm with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.5 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.5 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.6 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 0.6 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 0.6 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 0.7 mi
  • World trade centre and Moll de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.7 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Montjuïc Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are 4 meeting rooms (under request directly to the hotel). Also, on the 9th floor there is a lobby that clients can use free of charge for small meetings.

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant offers full breakfast buffet in the morning and a salads buffet for dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto Canada
Aug 29, 2010

Location, Location, location !

Enjoyed our stay. More Hand and Wash Cloths needed. Hand Soap....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many available...check them out

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mimik10
Boston, MA
May 26, 2010

Nice experience

Overall I was very happy with this hotel, friendly desk staff, clean rooms. It was nice to have the roof pool area though the chairs up there are incredibly uncomfortable. We requested a room on a higher floor at the back of the hotel as we had read reviews about the noise level on the front side. We were very happy with the room, it was a nice size, good-size bathroom with window that opened which is an unusual but welcome feature. Location is OK but there are some bad neighborhoods between the hotel and La Rambla so especially at night you'd want to take the metro or a taxi. Overall a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
What's Next?!
Riverside, CA
Jun 22, 2009

Great location!

Surrounding the hotel is authentic Espanya. In what has been called in other reviews the "red light district", this busy street of Para-lel is centrally located and generally innocent. The metro is directly out your front door giving you access to the entirety of Spain. We stayed here 9 days and enjoyed everthing but, the bed and the thin walls that make for an early morning. -housekeeping began banging around at about 730am- This said though, we walked so much that we were so tired each day that it mattered very little (after 2 days I slept like a baby). A life changing trip that no one should miss regardless of your hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Straight out the front door and to the left are many authentic Spanish restaurants and what i got hooked on, THE DONER KEBAB (European sandwich sort of meal)! A few more blocks in another direction is La Boqueria, a must see for all who visit Barcelona.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
May 5, 2010

Perfect location

Very modern hotel with very clean rooms and excellent staff who speak English well. They are very helpful and go out their way to make sure you are happy. Hotel is right at the train station and a very short walk to La Rambla and the port.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk past La Rambla and get into old town with very small streets with great shopping and food off the main touristy La Rambla.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Duck
Southern Maryland
Feb 12, 2011

Pleasant suprise

Very efficient service, clean modern decoration, spotless house keeping, very convenient to the sights and transportation. A great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rare visitor
new York city
Jan 1, 2011

Very good hotel

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and most speak English very well. Staff was also very knowledgeable about activities/dining in Barcelona. They even knew that the restaurant I wanted to try didn't take reservations and recommended the best times to go to avoid lines. Hotel itself is right outside a train station which made it convenient if you were touring different places in the city. But the hotel is a lil further from la rambla than expected but getting there was easy and a good way to see some side streets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Paco Meralgo. Food is amazing but slightly pricey but well worth it

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bamaguy
Decatur, AL
Feb 6, 2011

Barcelona Universal Hotel - 1/21-22/2011

The Barcelona Universal was very clean and modern. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet that was included in our rate (normally 15 euros pp). They also had 2 computers with free internet in the lobby. The hotel location at the subway/metro being just out the front door was very handy. Our room was 803 and we could hear some traffic but it wasn't bothersome. We had a great stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to the bay end of Las Ramblas or a short subway ride to the Catalan Plaza end. Be sure to see the Magic Fountains of Montjuic which is a long walk or short subway ride from the Paral-lel metro station.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Odyssey Seeker
New York, NY
Mar 8, 2010

Good value, pleasant stay

A quiet, clean and comfortable hotel that represents a good value. Subway right outside, walking distance to Las Ramblas. We enjoyed our short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Rico, USA
Dec 1, 2009

Excelent !!

Excellent service, superb location, super-clean room and bathroom, helpful staff.....bed was too hard for our taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Major metro station just outside the hotel door. Also, very close to the pier.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penny mom of a Barcelona student
New Salisbury, IN
Feb 9, 2011

Great hotel room, but check your bill

The hotel room gave us more than I expected. I really liked the wood & marble floors. Everything was exceptionally clean and fresh smelling. The air conditioning worked well when we needed it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was the best. We used the metro & bus system to get anywhere we wanted to go. It was easy & efficient. The only downside to the hotel experience was that they tried to charge us items from the mini bar that we didn't use. It took 3 different arguments to get that taken off our bill. Hopefully it won't show up on our Visa card later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our hotel was very close to lots of dining areas. The portions were large and we were able to share many items. The best was the "American breakfast" at most restaurants close by. Enough for two. I do suggest finding the places where locals go to eat. We had the best seafood at a place that we just happened upon. We visited a couple of places I had researched on line and they were very disappointing. The local food critic said you had to go to 7 Portes. You really don't. It was my biggest disappointment.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search