$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WCD1213
Friends
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Convenient location

The hosts at the front desk were very knowledgeable and attentive to my questions around the clock. Free internet access at their business center. The Metro is right in front the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance to most of the activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJH
Couples
Westchester County, NY
Jul 6, 2010

Barcelona Hotel Universal

Hotel is conveniently close to Metro stop. Rooms are clean and modern. Air conditioning works well. Reception desk staff was helpful with directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super dad with fastidious family
Family
Minneapolis, MN
May 30, 2011

Super experience and great service

We found the hotel nice, clean and very comfortable. It has a modern appeal and great staff. The director personally took time to speak with us and help us with information, tips to go sightseeing, streets to avoid, and find our way around the city. The shower in the bathroom was a pleasure to be under after a long tiring day. They delivered hot water in a kettle for us to make our own special spicy tea at no charge! They are quite considerate of foreign nationals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a very conveniently located hotel

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Anaheim, CA
Mar 27, 2011

Convenient location and great price

The metro station is just outside the hotel and that made it very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Toronto Canada
Aug 29, 2010

Location, Location, location !

Enjoyed our stay. More Hand and Wash Cloths needed. Hand Soap....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many available...check them out

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mimik10
Friends
Boston, MA
May 26, 2010

Nice experience

Overall I was very happy with this hotel, friendly desk staff, clean rooms. It was nice to have the roof pool area though the chairs up there are incredibly uncomfortable. We requested a room on a higher floor at the back of the hotel as we had read reviews about the noise level on the front side. We were very happy with the room, it was a nice size, good-size bathroom with window that opened which is an unusual but welcome feature. Location is OK but there are some bad neighborhoods between the hotel and La Rambla so especially at night you'd want to take the metro or a taxi. Overall a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
What's Next?!
Couples
Riverside, CA
Jun 22, 2009

Great location!

Surrounding the hotel is authentic Espanya. In what has been called in other reviews the "red light district", this busy street of Para-lel is centrally located and generally innocent. The metro is directly out your front door giving you access to the entirety of Spain. We stayed here 9 days and enjoyed everthing but, the bed and the thin walls that make for an early morning. -housekeeping began banging around at about 730am- This said though, we walked so much that we were so tired each day that it mattered very little (after 2 days I slept like a baby). A life changing trip that no one should miss regardless of your hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Straight out the front door and to the left are many authentic Spanish restaurants and what i got hooked on, THE DONER KEBAB (European sandwich sort of meal)! A few more blocks in another direction is La Boqueria, a must see for all who visit Barcelona.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
North Carolina
May 5, 2010

Perfect location

Very modern hotel with very clean rooms and excellent staff who speak English well. They are very helpful and go out their way to make sure you are happy. Hotel is right at the train station and a very short walk to La Rambla and the port.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk past La Rambla and get into old town with very small streets with great shopping and food off the main touristy La Rambla.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Duck
Couples
Southern Maryland
Feb 12, 2011

Pleasant suprise

Very efficient service, clean modern decoration, spotless house keeping, very convenient to the sights and transportation. A great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rare visitor
Couples
new York city
Jan 1, 2011

Very good hotel

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and most speak English very well. Staff was also very knowledgeable about activities/dining in Barcelona. They even knew that the restaurant I wanted to try didn't take reservations and recommended the best times to go to avoid lines. Hotel itself is right outside a train station which made it convenient if you were touring different places in the city. But the hotel is a lil further from la rambla than expected but getting there was easy and a good way to see some side streets

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Paco Meralgo. Food is amazing but slightly pricey but well worth it

Back to menu Return to top