$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Feb 7, 2010

Barcelona Universal Hotel

Hotel is located on Paral-El which is a main artery leading to the harbour area in one direction (about 10 minute walk) and about 4 blocks from La Ramba the pedestrian mall and main thorughfare of Barcelona (about 15 minute walk). Metro station is in front of the hotel. Front desk staff are quite fluent in English. I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take one of the "Hop On, Hop Off" bus tours. If you are a senior, take the one that offers senior rates- two day pass for a bit more than the price of one day regular fare. Gothic Cathedral is about a 20 minute walk away from the hotel, a major tourist attraciton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 2, 2011

Nice hotel, friendly helpful personal.

We staid in Barcelona only one night after our cruise. We got in Hotel at 9 AM and hope that we can leave our luggage. We were lucky, room was available. Location was great, close to everything which help us a lot. We were able to see a lot in one day. Room was pretty good size, very clean, quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WCD1213
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Convenient location

The hosts at the front desk were very knowledgeable and attentive to my questions around the clock. Free internet access at their business center. The Metro is right in front the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance to most of the activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJH
Business
Westchester County, NY
Jul 6, 2010

Barcelona Hotel Universal

Hotel is conveniently close to Metro stop. Rooms are clean and modern. Air conditioning works well. Reception desk staff was helpful with directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super dad with fastidious family
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 30, 2011

Super experience and great service

We found the hotel nice, clean and very comfortable. It has a modern appeal and great staff. The director personally took time to speak with us and help us with information, tips to go sightseeing, streets to avoid, and find our way around the city. The shower in the bathroom was a pleasure to be under after a long tiring day. They delivered hot water in a kettle for us to make our own special spicy tea at no charge! They are quite considerate of foreign nationals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a very conveniently located hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA
Mar 27, 2011

Convenient location and great price

The metro station is just outside the hotel and that made it very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto Canada
Aug 29, 2010

Location, Location, location !

Enjoyed our stay. More Hand and Wash Cloths needed. Hand Soap....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many available...check them out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mimik10
Business
Boston, MA
May 26, 2010

Nice experience

Overall I was very happy with this hotel, friendly desk staff, clean rooms. It was nice to have the roof pool area though the chairs up there are incredibly uncomfortable. We requested a room on a higher floor at the back of the hotel as we had read reviews about the noise level on the front side. We were very happy with the room, it was a nice size, good-size bathroom with window that opened which is an unusual but welcome feature. Location is OK but there are some bad neighborhoods between the hotel and La Rambla so especially at night you'd want to take the metro or a taxi. Overall a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
What's Next?!
Business
Riverside, CA
Jun 22, 2009

Great location!

Surrounding the hotel is authentic Espanya. In what has been called in other reviews the "red light district", this busy street of Para-lel is centrally located and generally innocent. The metro is directly out your front door giving you access to the entirety of Spain. We stayed here 9 days and enjoyed everthing but, the bed and the thin walls that make for an early morning. -housekeeping began banging around at about 730am- This said though, we walked so much that we were so tired each day that it mattered very little (after 2 days I slept like a baby). A life changing trip that no one should miss regardless of your hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Straight out the front door and to the left are many authentic Spanish restaurants and what i got hooked on, THE DONER KEBAB (European sandwich sort of meal)! A few more blocks in another direction is La Boqueria, a must see for all who visit Barcelona.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Carolina
May 5, 2010

Perfect location

Very modern hotel with very clean rooms and excellent staff who speak English well. They are very helpful and go out their way to make sure you are happy. Hotel is right at the train station and a very short walk to La Rambla and the port.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk past La Rambla and get into old town with very small streets with great shopping and food off the main touristy La Rambla.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top