$130 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luke89
Business
UK
Oct 7, 2012

Good base from which to explore the city

The hotel is smart, clean and a great place to relax and recharge after a day exploring this great city. Majority of sights/attractions within walking distance with a metro right outside for those further distances. A well located hotel which made a perfect base from which to explore Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If your a sports fan the Olympic stadium/park and the Nou Camps are a must.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derbyman 66
Business
UK
Oct 20, 2012

Nice but can be noisy!

My wife and I are light sleepers and if we had realised how noisy the road to the front of the hotel could be at night we certainly would have requested a room at the rear. I feel this problem could be addressed with improved sound deadening methods. On the plus side the hotel is in a great position for downtown Barcelona and Metro network.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter the Canuck
Business
Canada
Nov 19, 2012

A great place to stay in Barcelona

Wonderful hotel and staff. Metro and bus right outside the door. Only a short walk to Las Ramblas. Very helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Travel Bound Barcelona "Free" walking tour that starts from the Internacional Cool Local Hotel on Las Ramblas

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Henryka
Business
USA
Dec 1, 2012

convenient location, good value

Stayed 4 nights. Room was clean, modern decor with graphite color wallpaper and light-colored wood furniture. Even though located on the major thoroughfare, with closed windows it wasn't noisy. Staff friendly. Convenient to major attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

El Gran Cafe restaurant on Avinyo 9 had good food, great decor and good prices.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
William the conquerer
Business
Denver, CO
Dec 27, 2012

Great location

We had a great stay at this hotel over Christmas. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The rooms were very nice and everything seemed to work well. The internet was somewhat slow but worked well all the same. There is a subway stop right outside the door that will take you anywhere in the city in minutes and La Rambla and the whole Gothic quarter were easily reached on foot or subway. The waterfront is also nearby as is the funicular that will that you to a cable car to the amazing views on top of Montjuic. The hotel was perfectly situated to explore the city. The breakfast buffet was also excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Suggest a "tapas tour" with the Barcelona Tourism Board as an initial introduction to all that can be explored further on your own time.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JiLee
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jan 7, 2013

Fantastic hotel in a great location

From the minute we walked into the hotel, I was relieved to find it clean with friendly staff. The room was also comfortable. This hotel was also conveniently located close to the pier and to Las Ramblas. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
W.A.M
Business
Portadown, N. Ireland
Apr 3, 2013

Great stay

Friendly staff who are keen to advise where to eat close by. Surrounding area is nice and seems fairly safe, nice local bakeries for breakfast a great option cheaper than the buffet breakfast. Only 5 min walk from las ramblas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Elche restaurant very nice for a treat, fairly pricey though.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike the Chiropractor
Business
Santa Barbara
Apr 5, 2013

Great value, location and room.

Located on the important L3 metro stop, the Universal is ideally located. Rooms that were better than expected with a modern bath. Comfortable beds with a great flat screen. Refrigerator in room was helpful. Try the restaurant. The salad bar makes for a terrific dinner. I think this hotel is wonderful for couples. Not sure if it's ideal for kids. There is a small pool on the roof. But...it's a small pool on the roof. Gracious and helpful English speaking staff. I think this hotel will be tough to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Skip the restaurants with pictures for menus. Seek out the many wonderful restaurants along Gracias.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
r and r
Business
Hershey, PA, USA
May 22, 2013

First time to Barcelona

This hotel is conveniently located to a Metro station and walking distance to popular sights in the city. Staff was helpful and the breakfast was a buffet with a large selection of food. The rooftop pool and solarium were very scenic. Rooms were modern, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Virginia Cruisers
Business
Fredericksburg, VA
May 30, 2013

Wonderful Experience

We selected this hotel for our short stay in Barcelona following a cruise. This hotel was complete as advertised. We arrived early (0800) and were offered the option of waiting for a room with a view or accepting one without. Knowing we didn't plan on spending much time in the room, we elected a room with no view. By American standards the room is small, however by European standards the room is fairly large. It had a safe, ample closet space, a wet bar with refrigerator and chips, a desk area, small bench, king size bed and bathroom with full tub, toilet and bidet. Our particular rate also included buffet breakfast which was lovely. Our only disappointment was in the guests staying in the room next door who felt it was OK to come in loud and drunk at 2AM. Im sure everyone in the hotel heard them! The hotel is centrally located with the metro station right out front. We choose to walk everywhere and were able to reach every site we choose to see. Overall, our stay was wonderful. Not only would we recommend this hotel to a friend, we would stay here again ourselves!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top