$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYE in BCN
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jan 11, 2014

Good value, very pleased

Hotel is very well located, with Para-lel Metro Station right in front. Use the Carrer de Sant Pau exit. Lots of small restaurants and cafes around to get a quick inexpensive bite. The lobby is smallish and can get a bit crazy if there are a lot of people checking in. The rooms are not huge but perfectly functional. I have never been crazy about those funky half shower doors. But they are common in Europe and this place appears to cater to European rather than North American guests. The rooms were nicely done and the TV's had a lot of channels, in case you are going to Barcelona to watch TV. Couple of things that are nice were the wi-fi which had decent speed and lots of power outlets by the beds. If you are charging up multiple devices, this will make life a lot easier. Good thinking! Beds were very comfortable. This can be an issue when traveling because I can develop a sore back. The staff has pretty good English. Surprised a couple of the guys couldn't help me with relatively simple requests though. My credit card company stopped a transaction and I needed to make a collect call to the US. The guys at the desk had no idea how to do it. Still, at check out, my wife had a bit of a stomach problem and at that hour it would be a long walk to a store. Felip at the front desk helped us get a Coke for her. Just super classy on his part. I really enjoyed it. I felt like I received outstanding value and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dino Pan across the street from the Universal and around Barcelona is a fine local cafe to get your morning coffee and breakfast. Its got a nice selection and really good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poli Prof
Business
Utah
Feb 14, 2014

Well located and comfortable

The hotel is modern and the staff kind and efficient. The location was only a few blocks from La Rambla and right next to a metro station. .My wife and I had a very comfortable stay. The wi-fi was good although we were asked to renew our connection on a regular basis. The in-room safe was an added bonus. We skipped the 16 euro breakfast at the hotel in favor of eating at local restaurants. Our trip was a combination of work and pleasure. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the T 10 metro pass which is much more economical than purchasing indiviidual tickets. The Barcelona metro system is clean, fast, and efficient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim77
Business
Maine
Feb 23, 2014

Barcelona in February

The weather was springlike! We had sunny days with a light breeze, temperatures in the high 50's each day. We were comfortable in a light coat and a scarf for when a breeze kicked up by the water. The hotel was clean and the staff was wonderful! We loved the location, safe, convenient to subway stop, ATM, restaurants and a short walk to Barcelona cathedral and the wonderful La Boqueria market. We loved the palace Guell which again was an easy 10 minute walk. Take a walk around the Gothic Quarter, lots of winding, more narrow streets with little shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Elche restaurant for delicious paella at a very reasonable price. A friend who lives in that area said it was the best around. Check it out at www.elcherestaurant.es

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Aug 31, 2010

Excellent location but noisy

Fantastic location but do not come back from the small street (c. de Nou de Rambla) at night. It isn't safe. Great staff but pool is tiny and 'fitness centre' even smaller. Fantastic bus network near hotel, much better than the tube, that will bring you everywhere including to the seaside. Easy access to Placa Espanya (and the bus to the airport) or the stunning Montjuic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just be careful, particularly at night. Pickpockets and junkies are numerous in Barcelona, particularly in La Rambla and every crowded place. Even locals told me to be careful, when they realised I was not from Barcelona so don't dress like a tourist, don't put your bag on your chair (always on your knees) and be very careful when taking some cash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 1, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

nice room good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 10, 2011

Nice affordable hotel

This a a nice, affordable hotel with a contemporary feel. The room is a nice size and has all essential features. Has a pool/sun lounge on the roof. This hotel is in walking distance from Las Ramblas, which makes it very convenient. When we come back we will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adam74
Business
London, UK
Dec 6, 2011

Good Central location

All up an enjoyable stay, room was clean and hotel well located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Freat Tapas restaurant not far away, just ask the concierge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler girl with friend
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Barcelona 4 day trip

Good location, friendly staff. We liked that it was near La Rambla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron44
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

They're Not The 4 Seasons!

Great place to stay. Dont get confused thinking that like most BCN area tourist class hotels, that breakfasts are included. At this one, it isn't. Don't open the mini bar, and you won't be charged. Even if you attempt to look, front desk knows. Keep these two things in mind, and you'll be in good shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Axeldawg
Business
Atlanta,Georgia
Feb 12, 2012

Cruise Club

We stayed here prior to a cruise out of Barcelona. It was in a great location, the metro was right out the front door. Staff was very accomodating and very helpful!!! Awesome place and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the metro to get around town. The T-10 card is 9Euro and you get 10 trips!! Great deal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top