$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chatcha
Business
Woodbridge, VA, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Great hotel, staff, and location!

The hotel's presence alone makes you feel good compared to the other hotels near by. Front desk spoke many languages and were helpful. Room amenities were very nice and probably the closest to a 4 star hotel during my entire trip in Europe. Room safe protected against loss. Wifi was fast trouble free. Many outlets available. Metro stop right in front of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
natha
Business
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Jan 30, 2012

great BARCELONA

Had a fantastic weather in winter !! and the city is full of attractions !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dene
Business
New York
May 2, 2012

Great location

We had 6 wonderful days in Barcelona. The Hotel was in walking distance to the shore and the Ramblas, Plaza de Espanya, and the old part of the city. There is a subway station in front of the hotel, making easy access to many parts of the city. The room was very comfortable and quiet. We were facing the back, so I cant comment for rooms facing the street. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant around the corner called Los Cachitos which was very good food and good service. The tapas as well as main courses were very good. The restaurant was recommended by the staff at the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sabou
Business
Montreal, Canada
Jul 3, 2012

Perfect!

The room was perfect... Lots of space, comfortable bed, free wi-fi, lot's of things included in the bathroom, safe deposit box in the room, etc etc etc. And I have never seen rooms cleaned that well in my life! I would go back there ANYTIME. The staff were very nice and helpful with everything. I don't know how was the bar and restaurant since i did not have the chance to try it. Plus, i think maybe it was a bit noisy outside, but, I sleep with earplugs so I didn't hear a thing... Besides, Barcelona is a big party city, so i'm not sure if a really quiet area exits! hehe I recommend this hotel to everyone... And it was perfectly situated for me, close to everywhere I wanted to go, and literally 3 steps form a metro station to go further!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sammy
Business
London / Birmingham
Jul 12, 2012

Lovely stay, lovely people!

The location of the hotel is close enough to Las Rambla that you don't feel too far away from all of the action (10 minutes to the main strip of Las Rambla). The hotel itself is very well priced and the staff on reception and the concierges are all very professional and friendly. They could not do enough to help you. The rooms are clean and airy and cleaned every day. They even have a pool and seating area on the roof! All in all, I would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay whether young or old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Loads of vegetarian cuisine available in Barcelona. Just ask at reception and they can print out details (even left a few cards on reception!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SS 50
Business
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Aug 2, 2012

Super Location

Great place to stay and relax. This was perfect for our get-away before a Mediterranean cruise. Don't exchange your currency next door, the rate is not good. Walk over to La Rambla street for more exchange options. That street also has lots of dining, shopping, and gifts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cute
Business
Switzerland
Jun 21, 2012

town trip

a great hotel, very good breakfast, located very close to Rambla. Service nice and friendly clean... what do you want more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
30th anniversary party
Business
Hampshire, England
Oct 1, 2012

A rare experience

Fantastic. Stayed Late September 2012. Arrived early as a party of 3 couples. Desk staff polite and extremely helpful, only 1 room available on arrival (5 hours early) but despite this being a superior room, was freely offered as an upgrade at no extra charge. remaining rooms available on the dot at 3pm. Everything clean, showers with plenty of pressure and lashings of hot water. If the staff had control over the weather, I'm sure that also would have been nothing but sun! A tribute to excellent customer service and satisfaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use touristic bus to get your bearings on the first day (and a mass of money off vouchers), then by the transport travelcard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
enrichment2000
Business
West Linn, Oregon
Nov 21, 2012

Great place to stay

We were there after a 14 day cruise and it was better than what we expected. The staff was very helpful and the location was perfect for the hop-on-hop-off bus. not far from the cruise terminal and airport. The room was spacious and very clean. Not only would we recommend this hotel but we plan to stay there on out next trip to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
konalisa
Business
Apo - AE
Dec 27, 2012

Great!

We had a really great stay in this hotel. Location, room, breakfast... everything was awesome. The view from the terrace is beautiful, you can't miss the sunset up there, great picture to take!! Thanks also to the stuff for the useful advice!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top