$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 1, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

nice room good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clo L.
Business
N/A
Jun 3, 2015

Couple stay

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We stayed in room 717 at the back of the hotel. It was quiet, AC was in working order. We loved the music/radio option in the room/bathroom. Spotless room & bathroom with a powerful shower head/ average bath tub and bedee. The pool was a little disappointing 1m depth only. Nice rooftop views. We didn't eat at the hotel loads of options nearby. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb n Phill
Business
England
May 8, 2014

4 night break for couple

Hotel is modern and spotless. Helpful, friendly staff. Small rooftop pool with great views of the city. Lots of bathroom goodies more akin to higher star hotel. On second floor so we had a terrace which was lovely to sit out on (no view but nice to have patio door open for fresh air in room rather than air con on). Fridge in room and safe which you need in Barcelona as you take bare minimum money or valuables out with you. We had breakfast included in our room rate and it was fantastic. All freshly prepared on a buffet that was constantly filled up. Would recommend hotel for an evening meal as well. Had one of best steaks ever. Tube station right outside hotel but only 10 min walk to La Rambla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the evening buffet. Help yourself to starters, then we had an amazing steak with all the trimmings and help yourself to desert off the buffet.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikeH
Business
Hampshire
Jul 16, 2011

Great location, most comfortable hotel

Very comfortable rooms, friendly and very helpfull staff. The breakfast room gets rather crowded and is somewhat expensive but plenty of alternatives just outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Rambla is very close

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EvieB
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Friendly staff, comfortable rooms

We stayed here for a week. Great location near to the old city but outside the bustle and right next to a metro stop. Very clean with large rooms and a luxurious bathroom. We never used the pool or health club but it was nice to have them available. The desk staff was very helpful in all ways. Our only frustration was that the wifi internet connection was inconsistent, but when needed, we were allowed to use the computer behind the desk to check mail, make reservations and print our boarding passes, so the incnvenience was minimal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Gourmet restaurant Montiel. Expensive but worth every bite!!! Flassaders, 19 93 268 37 29

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retire2Travel
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Great hotel

Staff is so helpful- made reservations for airport shuttle and tour for us. Comfy bed, towel warmers, great location to La Rambla and all attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nakul
Business
City of London, UK
Nov 7, 2011

excellant location and comfort and very helpful staff

The only disappointment was that the swimming pool was closed . very convenient location for all the sight seeing places. Neat and clean , big rooms excellant shower and bathroom facilities good breakfast Free Internet at the lounge and the satff helped a lot in keeping the luggage after check out and insturcting on how to use local buses metro and their own input into makig the trip pleasant if i have to come back to Barcelona i will choose this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the underground metro trains are right at the door of the hotel .A "Barcelona pass" is available at the tourist section at the airport .or via internet which allows mutliple journeys on trains buses and metro and some of the museums are free with Barcelona pass and at reduced entry rate at others

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chatcha
Business
Woodbridge, VA, USA
Feb 3, 2012

Great hotel, staff, and location!

The hotel's presence alone makes you feel good compared to the other hotels near by. Front desk spoke many languages and were helpful. Room amenities were very nice and probably the closest to a 4 star hotel during my entire trip in Europe. Room safe protected against loss. Wifi was fast trouble free. Many outlets available. Metro stop right in front of hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
natha
Business
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Jan 30, 2012

great BARCELONA

Had a fantastic weather in winter !! and the city is full of attractions !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dene
Business
New York
May 2, 2012

Great location

We had 6 wonderful days in Barcelona. The Hotel was in walking distance to the shore and the Ramblas, Plaza de Espanya, and the old part of the city. There is a subway station in front of the hotel, making easy access to many parts of the city. The room was very comfortable and quiet. We were facing the back, so I cant comment for rooms facing the street. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I would here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a restaurant around the corner called Los Cachitos which was very good food and good service. The tapas as well as main courses were very good. The restaurant was recommended by the staff at the hotel

Back to menu Return to top