$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen777
Business
Newcastle
Sep 10, 2014

Great location,

Had a great 3 nights at this hotel, only downside was the lack of view! Our room looked out onto a small courtyard but I suppose we can't all have sea views! The room itself was spotlessly clean with a lovely comfy bed & good bathroom. There was good choice for breakfast with a collection of cold meats, cheeses & fruit, hot dishes including scrambled egg & chorizo sausages, breads & pastries. The roof top pool & sun area was just big enough for nice hour in the sun with a couple of cold beers. The location is an ideal base to start from with the Port area & La Ramblas only a 10 min walk away, attractions further afield were within easy reach due to the Metro station right outside the door. Overall a very enjoyable short break which I would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Port Vell has a good selection of bars & restaurants with good views overlooking the sea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
larsi
Business
no. little rock, ar.
Nov 20, 2014

nice, and good location

great staff, and very helpful.great view from roof-top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great food at the indian café 2 blocks behind hotel. cheap place to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom from London
Business
London
Dec 2, 2014

Great service, good location, recommended!

We originally checked into a twin room with no outside window. After speaking to reception we were moved the following day to a lovely double room with windows and staff were faultless. However this should have been flagged to us prior to booking - and rooms with no windows should be cheaper! The second room we had was lovely. Breakfasts were tasty with a good range of hot and cold food - and it went on until 11am which was appreciated. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Las Ramblas and the Marina which is fine. And reception were very useful in helping us book tickets to various things. I would come back here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you go to the fountain show!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter H.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Thoroughly enjoyable

The staff at the Universal Hotel were all excellent - helpful with any information we needed and made our stay of 3 nights all the more enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the excellent metro system - buy book of 10 tickets which work out at less than a euro per trip

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken1
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

Short Vacation

The hotel was nice and in a good location for a lot of the sites around town. The only disadvantage was parking which cost 25 euros a day extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a cab or bus from the airport and don't waste time with a rental car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karen s.
Business
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

60th birthday trip with friends

great location. for las rambla, tour buses, the harbour, handy little shop next door. for wine/nibbles etc for your room if needed. fabulous roof top relaxing area, with deck chairs, offering a fantastic view of the city. complete with a bar, although the service was always with a smile, took forever for them to bring your drinks. large rooms, excellant bathroom, big wardrobe space, very comfy beds. only complaint, only one large mirror in the bathroom, no mirrors in the bedroom living space. no tea making facilities in the room, but we were ok as we took a travel kettle. they do provide a brekfast for 15 euros. and you can get a evening meal. there as well. wasnt too happy with the meal., asked for steak well done, and ended up blood red. but they did happily replace it. having said that wonderful salad bar everything in the hotel was spotless, and the door and desk staff were very pleasant and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samidave
Business
Ny ny
Oct 9, 2014

Excelent place

We where in this hotel six nights, the people there are great, welcoming and fun, some of them would like to take them home, my wife doesn't agree...... Seriously, is the place we can come back, elegantly design, functional elegant place a round pleasure Not sure about the area, but there is a train practically at the door, and in minutes you can be anywhere The subway in barcelona, is clean, confortable and for sure, very quick, and especially easy to use David

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

All barcelona, is one of our favorite cities

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deb n Phill
Business
England
May 8, 2014

4 night break for couple

Hotel is modern and spotless. Helpful, friendly staff. Small rooftop pool with great views of the city. Lots of bathroom goodies more akin to higher star hotel. On second floor so we had a terrace which was lovely to sit out on (no view but nice to have patio door open for fresh air in room rather than air con on). Fridge in room and safe which you need in Barcelona as you take bare minimum money or valuables out with you. We had breakfast included in our room rate and it was fantastic. All freshly prepared on a buffet that was constantly filled up. Would recommend hotel for an evening meal as well. Had one of best steaks ever. Tube station right outside hotel but only 10 min walk to La Rambla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the evening buffet. Help yourself to starters, then we had an amazing steak with all the trimmings and help yourself to desert off the buffet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikeH
Business
Hampshire
Jul 16, 2011

Great location, most comfortable hotel

Very comfortable rooms, friendly and very helpfull staff. The breakfast room gets rather crowded and is somewhat expensive but plenty of alternatives just outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Rambla is very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EvieB
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Friendly staff, comfortable rooms

We stayed here for a week. Great location near to the old city but outside the bustle and right next to a metro stop. Very clean with large rooms and a luxurious bathroom. We never used the pool or health club but it was nice to have them available. The desk staff was very helpful in all ways. Our only frustration was that the wifi internet connection was inconsistent, but when needed, we were allowed to use the computer behind the desk to check mail, make reservations and print our boarding passes, so the incnvenience was minimal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Gourmet restaurant Montiel. Expensive but worth every bite!!! Flassaders, 19 93 268 37 29

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top