$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
konalisa
Apo - AE
Dec 27, 2012

Great!

We had a really great stay in this hotel. Location, room, breakfast... everything was awesome. The view from the terrace is beautiful, you can't miss the sunset up there, great picture to take!! Thanks also to the stuff for the useful advice!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron44
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Jan 23, 2012

They're Not The 4 Seasons!

Great place to stay. Dont get confused thinking that like most BCN area tourist class hotels, that breakfasts are included. At this one, it isn't. Don't open the mini bar, and you won't be charged. Even if you attempt to look, front desk knows. Keep these two things in mind, and you'll be in good shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler girl with friend
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 30, 2011

Barcelona 4 day trip

Good location, friendly staff. We liked that it was near La Rambla.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adam74
Business
London, UK
Dec 6, 2011

Good Central location

All up an enjoyable stay, room was clean and hotel well located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Freat Tapas restaurant not far away, just ask the concierge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nakul
Business
City of London, UK
Nov 7, 2011

excellant location and comfort and very helpful staff

The only disappointment was that the swimming pool was closed . very convenient location for all the sight seeing places. Neat and clean , big rooms excellant shower and bathroom facilities good breakfast Free Internet at the lounge and the satff helped a lot in keeping the luggage after check out and insturcting on how to use local buses metro and their own input into makig the trip pleasant if i have to come back to Barcelona i will choose this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the underground metro trains are right at the door of the hotel .A "Barcelona pass" is available at the tourist section at the airport .or via internet which allows mutliple journeys on trains buses and metro and some of the museums are free with Barcelona pass and at reduced entry rate at others

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Retire2Travel
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Great hotel

Staff is so helpful- made reservations for airport shuttle and tour for us. Comfy bed, towel warmers, great location to La Rambla and all attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EvieB
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 15, 2011

Friendly staff, comfortable rooms

We stayed here for a week. Great location near to the old city but outside the bustle and right next to a metro stop. Very clean with large rooms and a luxurious bathroom. We never used the pool or health club but it was nice to have them available. The desk staff was very helpful in all ways. Our only frustration was that the wifi internet connection was inconsistent, but when needed, we were allowed to use the computer behind the desk to check mail, make reservations and print our boarding passes, so the incnvenience was minimal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Gourmet restaurant Montiel. Expensive but worth every bite!!! Flassaders, 19 93 268 37 29

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Groucho
Business
Kansas City
Sep 14, 2011

Very pleasing lodgings in Barcelona

This is a relatively small hotel with a helpful staff, located not-to-far from the famous Rambla area, waterfront, and historic areas of Barcelona. It has a very good but modest restaurant, pleasing bar/lounge. We arrived very early in the morning after a long flight. They made special effort to get us into a room as soon as one was available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk the Rambla and surrounding area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WCD1213
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Convenient location

The hosts at the front desk were very knowledgeable and attentive to my questions around the clock. Free internet access at their business center. The Metro is right in front the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance to most of the activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Muksar
Business
USA
Aug 13, 2011

Excelent

Great location and staff was very friendly. We were four in our family and we all enjoyed our stayed in this hotel. Good size room and bathrooms were very clean. Good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 8, 2011

Excellent Hotel

Great Hotel in the city. Near Las Ramblas and the hop-on-hop- off bus. Staff was great. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Would recommend this hotel to all

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of restaurants to choose from. All that we ate at were quite good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top