$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eugene K.
Business
New York City
Feb 24, 2011

Convinient location, clean rooms

Good location relative to all the places you might want to see in the city. 5 min walk brings to the city center, Miro park and museum or promenade. Rooms are clean. As minuses I can mention: The neighborhood is more of a working class place. Restaurant is not worth eating there. King bed was simply 2 beds put together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Charles
Business
NY, NY
Jul 8, 2009

Great location!!!

Great central location for a hotel that is located in the hear of the city....next to shops, and close to public trasportation!! walking distance to famous La Rambla and Port Vell

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Paral-lel (green L3) subway station is steps away from hotel!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KStone
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 21, 2011

Almost a 5 Star

The hotel overall was outstanding! There is literally a metro stop 20 steps from the front door, and you're a 10 minute walk to one of the double-decker bus tour stops. The hotel was extremely clean with great service and we were right in the heart of a trendy area with 3 theaters within 100 yards. The room comes equipped with an audio surround system that plays soothing tunes in the bedroom and bathroom. The only things preventing the hotel from getting 5 stars were: 1) The rooms did not come with irons and ironing boards, you have to request them at the front desk and they'll come and get them back an hour or two later; 2) The were no true king size beds, there were two twin mattresses pushed together with a pad on top. Overall I would rate the hotel at a 4.7 and I will definitely stay there for my next trip to Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The front desk personnel have a list of restaurants within two blocks walk that have Spanish and English menus and outstanding service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
virsuvius
Business
Buffalo, ny
Jun 14, 2011

Barcelona Honeymoon

standard room was very small but everything else was awesome. I recommend eating at the cafe espanol one block from the hotel. This hotel is perfect if your in Barcelona for a cruise. Its 5 minute ride to the port.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 18, 2010

Great hotel and location!

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, plus speak English. The location was good for us because it was right in front of the Paral-lel Metro stop and in a quiet location. We were only a 5-8 minute walk to La Rambla. The only minor complaint is the slow room service but we weren't in a rush so it was fine. Just call ahead of time if you want anything from room service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great breakfast place we frequent several mornings. Exit the hotel and make a right and cross the street. It's the cafe with outdoor seating...great cafe con leches and sandwiches!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 8, 2011

Great hotel for the price

This isn't the nicest hotel I've been too, but not bad for the price. The location is great (about 10 min walk to Las Ramblas) and the metro station is right outside the hotel. Staff was awesome, our luggage was lost and they were very helpful, even called the airline for me. I wouldn't recommend the breakfast. We needed something quick one morning. It was good, but really overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We found the best seafood restaurant! Emperador in Barceloneta. Quick metro ride, right on the water, great food and the best Sangria we could find! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panchita New York
Business
New York, New York
Jun 17, 2014

Great vacation

This hotel is centrally located, close to public transportation. Hotel is a few blocks away from Las Ramblas, within walking distance of the gothic neighborhood and the cathedral. It is also close to the Plaza Cataluna. There are many restaurants around the hotel where you can get a meal for a decent price. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The room was of adequate size and the bed was comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend having lunch at La Boqueria Market. The seafood is amazing. Note that the market closes at 5 pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Samin
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 25, 2014

Convenient and comfortable hotel

We really enjoyed our stay in Barcelona Universal for 5 nights. It is very convenient to go anywhere from there. The staff are very helpful especially when we suffered from a theft on the subway. The hotel helped us with telephone service in contacting credit cards etc. What missing is a hot water pot. I love hot way for tea wherever I stay in a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

save time and be safe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angelina7
Business
Barcelona
Jul 2, 2014

Great weekend trip

Hotel is situated 5 mins from the ramblas and was perfect for the weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the place de ravel for great place to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Experttraveller
Business
San Jose, California
Jul 7, 2014

Awesome location

We were in Barcelona for a vacation and had a great time with Barcelona Universal. The location is very good and safe, very close to the metro station, walking distance to Las Ramblas and The Gothic Quarter. Although Plaza Catalunya would be a more favorable location, this was good too. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Staff is very helpful for sharing information on places around and how to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Park Guell is a must visit..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top