$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
30th anniversary party
Hampshire, England
Oct 1, 2012

A rare experience

Fantastic. Stayed Late September 2012. Arrived early as a party of 3 couples. Desk staff polite and extremely helpful, only 1 room available on arrival (5 hours early) but despite this being a superior room, was freely offered as an upgrade at no extra charge. remaining rooms available on the dot at 3pm. Everything clean, showers with plenty of pressure and lashings of hot water. If the staff had control over the weather, I'm sure that also would have been nothing but sun! A tribute to excellent customer service and satisfaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use touristic bus to get your bearings on the first day (and a mass of money off vouchers), then by the transport travelcard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JiLee
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jan 7, 2013

Fantastic hotel in a great location

From the minute we walked into the hotel, I was relieved to find it clean with friendly staff. The room was also comfortable. This hotel was also conveniently located close to the pier and to Las Ramblas. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
W.A.M
Business
Portadown, N. Ireland
Apr 3, 2013

Great stay

Friendly staff who are keen to advise where to eat close by. Surrounding area is nice and seems fairly safe, nice local bakeries for breakfast a great option cheaper than the buffet breakfast. Only 5 min walk from las ramblas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Elche restaurant very nice for a treat, fairly pricey though.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike the Chiropractor
Business
Santa Barbara
Apr 5, 2013

Great value, location and room.

Located on the important L3 metro stop, the Universal is ideally located. Rooms that were better than expected with a modern bath. Comfortable beds with a great flat screen. Refrigerator in room was helpful. Try the restaurant. The salad bar makes for a terrific dinner. I think this hotel is wonderful for couples. Not sure if it's ideal for kids. There is a small pool on the roof. But...it's a small pool on the roof. Gracious and helpful English speaking staff. I think this hotel will be tough to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Skip the restaurants with pictures for menus. Seek out the many wonderful restaurants along Gracias.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
r and r
Business
Hershey, PA, USA
May 22, 2013

First time to Barcelona

This hotel is conveniently located to a Metro station and walking distance to popular sights in the city. Staff was helpful and the breakfast was a buffet with a large selection of food. The rooftop pool and solarium were very scenic. Rooms were modern, clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Virginia Cruisers
Business
Fredericksburg, VA
May 30, 2013

Wonderful Experience

We selected this hotel for our short stay in Barcelona following a cruise. This hotel was complete as advertised. We arrived early (0800) and were offered the option of waiting for a room with a view or accepting one without. Knowing we didn't plan on spending much time in the room, we elected a room with no view. By American standards the room is small, however by European standards the room is fairly large. It had a safe, ample closet space, a wet bar with refrigerator and chips, a desk area, small bench, king size bed and bathroom with full tub, toilet and bidet. Our particular rate also included buffet breakfast which was lovely. Our only disappointment was in the guests staying in the room next door who felt it was OK to come in loud and drunk at 2AM. Im sure everyone in the hotel heard them! The hotel is centrally located with the metro station right out front. We choose to walk everywhere and were able to reach every site we choose to see. Overall, our stay was wonderful. Not only would we recommend this hotel to a friend, we would stay here again ourselves!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barcelona is fun
Business
USA
Jun 1, 2013

Vacation

Nice hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and food recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suskin
Business
Farnham, Surrey
Aug 31, 2013

A great hotel for a short break

This hotel is very well placed for access to many tourist activities. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The decor of the hotel is very nice indeed. Unfortunately we had a room with no natural light which was a bit strange and did not encourage spending any time there. On our first day when we returned to it in the late afternoon we found the beds still unmade. The included breakfast was vey good and plentiful. If we stayed there again we would ask for a room with a real window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the cafes next to the hotel, they are a rip off. Better to eat at a good restaurant used by locals. Much better value

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJR2
Business
New York
Sep 21, 2013

Great Stay

We were very impressed with the hotel for the money paid. It was a very good value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

When booking the tourist bus in Barcelona, book at the hotel and receive a discount from normal prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AndyCherry
Business
Northwest Uk
Sep 26, 2013

Honeymoon

Great hotel for amenities and location. Metro is clean and safe, 10 metres from hotel entrance. Staff honoured our e-mail request for front facing and high room. Looked after our bags while we went out for 3 hours before check in. Staff helpful. Breakfast's were plentiful and lots of options. Overall great hotel and facing the iconic 1992 olympic high diving board . Used Aerobus (T2) from airport, first stop is Espanya Plaza. Get T10 metro ticket to save £.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Placa Reial, great place to eat with loads of choice, not a picture board menu in sight, and just off the busy Touristy Rambla's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry D Global Traveler
Business
Churchville NY
Oct 16, 2013

Excellent Hotel in the Heart of Beautiful Barcelona

This modern, upscale hotel is close to so many great places in this beautiful city. The Metro station is right outside the front door. A short stroll down the street around the corner, Carrer de Sant Pau, takes you to La Rambla. This grand avenue is considered to have the "heartbeat of the Ciudad"and on it (a 15 minute walk from the hotel) is the Boqueria one of Europe's largest open air markets. From the Metro you can get to all of the "must see" sites in Barcelona for a euro per person per trip. The rooms are very clean and nicely appointed with comfortable beds and the buffet breakfast each morning of our stay was delicious and abundant in both quality and quantity. The Avinguda Paral-lel location of the Universal makes it easy to access the Port, the really cool neighborhoods of El Barri Gotic and El Barceloneta. Stay here if you can when in Barcelona!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For some of the best Pinchos and Tapas in Barcelona take a 3-5 minute walk to Rosal 34 a restaurant just a quarter mile from the Hotel. Cross the street and find the Carrer del Roser, 34

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top