$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 21, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
112 reviews
Great hotel before a cruise

We loved this hotel!! The location was perfect! It was very quiet but just a couple of blocks from... See full review

  • Wind1953
  • Nov 21, 2014
Recent Trip To Barcelona

Barcelona Universal is a real 4 star hotel. It's central location makes it easy to get to the major... See full review

  • WS Chuck 2
  • Aug 14, 2014
Its proximity to the Rambla, and to the Fira de Barcelona and the Palau de Congresses, trade fair and conference centers, has made of the Barcelona Universal Hotel a city-wide point of reference as both a tourism and business-oriented hotel since its opening in 2001 (refurbished in 2012).The Barcelona Universal Hotel has 167 rooms, all with soundproofing, climate control, satellite TV, mini-bar and safe. The hotel also offers 3 suites with private terrace and Jacuzzi. Enjoy the gym, the outdoor pool, and the solarium, which offers extraordinary views of Barcelona. The hotel also has 4 fully equipped conference rooms, a special floor of rooms that can be used as personal offices, private parking and a Business Center with free internet access (broadband and Wireless). All the guests of the hotel can use free of charge our WIFI technology available from all areas and rooms of the hotel. Also there are some computers with internet access that can be used also free of charge by our guests if they do not bring their own laptop. Discover Las Ramblas placed just a few steps from the hotel, or go for a stroll along Port Vell, through the Gothic Neighborhood and explore the Liceu Opera House, the Catalan Music Palace, the Cathedral, the Magic Fountains of Montjuic, the Caixa Forum, the Grec Theater, Poble Espanyol, the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion or the Olympic Stadium. The strategic location of the hotel between the World Trade Center and the Fira de Barcelona Montjuic-1, near the Palau de Congresses, trade fair and conference centers, makes it a key spot for business activities in the city. This excellent location also gives guests easy access to Sants Estaci, the major bus and train station, where guests can catch trains to the airport, hop on the metro, or catch the cable car to Montjuic. Amenities are Banquet facilities, Business centre, Concierge, Conference facilities, Currency exchange, Disabled facilities, Doctor on call, Dry cleaning, Gym / Fitness facilities, Internet access-High-Speed, Internet access-Wireless, Laundry service, Lift / Elevator, Lobby, Non-smoking rooms, Parking facilities-at cost, Reception, Room service, Safe deposit box in the rooms (free of charge), Solarium and Swimming pool-outdoor. All of the hotel's stylish and contemporary rooms are well equipped, with all the modern comforts and facilities guests' need in a restful, relaxing base. Whether guests are exploring the region as a tourist, visiting the area on business or attending a conference, the comfortable, peaceful rooms provide a relaxing haven. In addition to the listed facilities, all rooms are equipped with double glazed windows, individual climate controls, a heated towel rack, a welcome kit and a full-length mirror. Hotel Registration Number: HB-004114

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelona Universal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

Universal Room - Free WIFI (1 or 2 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.
Universal Triple - Free WIFI (3 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms, much larger than Universal Roomm with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.5 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.5 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.6 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 0.6 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 0.6 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 0.7 mi
  • World trade centre and Moll de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.7 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Montjuïc Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant offers full breakfast buffet in the morning and a salads buffet for dinner.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are 4 meeting rooms (under request directly to the hotel). Also, on the 9th floor there is a lobby that clients can use free of charge for small meetings.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
konalisa
Apo - AE
Dec 27, 2012

Great!

We had a really great stay in this hotel. Location, room, breakfast... everything was awesome. The view from the terrace is beautiful, you can't miss the sunset up there, great picture to take!! Thanks also to the stuff for the useful advice!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 2, 2010

great location, good service, small room

Location cannot be better with this price. 10 minutes walk to the harbor port and many local restaurants nearby. A little bit noisy, but that can be understood as it sits by a very busy street. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Room was cleaned every day around noon. The only complaint I have is the bed is so small. I am not sure about other rooms but the one I stayed had one "double bed". It is much smaller than the US standard full-size bed though. Yet it is supposed to fit two adults. I couldnot imagine how it can fit two people since I traveled by myself and the bed was already short for me. This might be even worse for other people since I am a female and my height is below average. Anyway, I will be happy to stay in this place next time I go to Barcelona by myself. But if I travel with a company, I will definitely pass this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Feb 7, 2010

Barcelona Universal Hotel

Hotel is located on Paral-El which is a main artery leading to the harbour area in one direction (about 10 minute walk) and about 4 blocks from La Ramba the pedestrian mall and main thorughfare of Barcelona (about 15 minute walk). Metro station is in front of the hotel. Front desk staff are quite fluent in English. I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take one of the "Hop On, Hop Off" bus tours. If you are a senior, take the one that offers senior rates- two day pass for a bit more than the price of one day regular fare. Gothic Cathedral is about a 20 minute walk away from the hotel, a major tourist attraciton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 2, 2011

Nice hotel, friendly helpful personal.

We staid in Barcelona only one night after our cruise. We got in Hotel at 9 AM and hope that we can leave our luggage. We were lucky, room was available. Location was great, close to everything which help us a lot. We were able to see a lot in one day. Room was pretty good size, very clean, quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WCD1213
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Aug 27, 2011

Convenient location

The hosts at the front desk were very knowledgeable and attentive to my questions around the clock. Free internet access at their business center. The Metro is right in front the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance to most of the activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJH
Business
Westchester County, NY
Jul 6, 2010

Barcelona Hotel Universal

Hotel is conveniently close to Metro stop. Rooms are clean and modern. Air conditioning works well. Reception desk staff was helpful with directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super dad with fastidious family
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 30, 2011

Super experience and great service

We found the hotel nice, clean and very comfortable. It has a modern appeal and great staff. The director personally took time to speak with us and help us with information, tips to go sightseeing, streets to avoid, and find our way around the city. The shower in the bathroom was a pleasure to be under after a long tiring day. They delivered hot water in a kettle for us to make our own special spicy tea at no charge! They are quite considerate of foreign nationals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a very conveniently located hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA
Mar 27, 2011

Convenient location and great price

The metro station is just outside the hotel and that made it very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto Canada
Aug 29, 2010

Location, Location, location !

Enjoyed our stay. More Hand and Wash Cloths needed. Hand Soap....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many available...check them out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mimik10
Business
Boston, MA
May 26, 2010

Nice experience

Overall I was very happy with this hotel, friendly desk staff, clean rooms. It was nice to have the roof pool area though the chairs up there are incredibly uncomfortable. We requested a room on a higher floor at the back of the hotel as we had read reviews about the noise level on the front side. We were very happy with the room, it was a nice size, good-size bathroom with window that opened which is an unusual but welcome feature. Location is OK but there are some bad neighborhoods between the hotel and La Rambla so especially at night you'd want to take the metro or a taxi. Overall a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
What's Next?!
Business
Riverside, CA
Jun 22, 2009

Great location!

Surrounding the hotel is authentic Espanya. In what has been called in other reviews the "red light district", this busy street of Para-lel is centrally located and generally innocent. The metro is directly out your front door giving you access to the entirety of Spain. We stayed here 9 days and enjoyed everthing but, the bed and the thin walls that make for an early morning. -housekeeping began banging around at about 730am- This said though, we walked so much that we were so tired each day that it mattered very little (after 2 days I slept like a baby). A life changing trip that no one should miss regardless of your hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Straight out the front door and to the left are many authentic Spanish restaurants and what i got hooked on, THE DONER KEBAB (European sandwich sort of meal)! A few more blocks in another direction is La Boqueria, a must see for all who visit Barcelona.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top