$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
107 reviews
Recent Trip To Barcelona

Barcelona Universal is a real 4 star hotel. It's central location makes it easy to get to the major... See full review

  • WS Chuck 2
  • Aug 14, 2014
Best Stay in Barcelona

The hotel was EXCELLENT!! Centrally located, right across the street from the METRO, which can take... See full review

  • SylvieFromLA
  • Jul 25, 2014
Up-to-the-minute lodging with free Wi-Fi close to downtown attractions

A hop and a skip on foot from Las Ramblas, Barcelona Universal Hotel offers contempo-chic rooms and suites with up-to-the-minute trimmings such as free Wi-Fi. A favorite among business visitors to Barcelona, it features extensive on-site facilities and well-trained staff. The tenth-floor swimming pool showcases stellar vistas of Barcelona's skyline. The solarium and fitness center next door are a boon for leisure visitors. The first-floor restaurant dishes out international fare.

Highlights
  • The three suites come with Jacuzzis and private terraces
  • Complimentary bottle of cava (Catalan champagne) in superior rooms
  • Prime views of Sagrada Família from the tenth-floor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in the rooms
  • Superb location a stone's throw from Las Ramblas
Rooms

Barcelona Universal Hotel offers four different room types. Universal rooms are the simplest and smallest. The superior rooms that occupy the building's corner are more spacious and include a complimentary bottle of cava. Triple rooms are ideal for families, as they feature enough space for a sofa bed. The ninth-floor skyline suites at Barcelona Universal Hotel come equipped with marble-clad bathrooms with Jacuzzis and panoramic city views from their private terraces. All units have air conditioning and heating, safe, LCD TV, en-suite bathroom and free Wi-Fi.

Features

Well-suited to business as well as leisure travelers, Barcelona Universal Hotel provides all guests with free Wi-Fi. Two complimentary business centers offer broadband Internet connection. One is in the hotel lobby and the other on the ninth floor. Open seasonally, the small swimming pool on the tenth floor offers city views from its two terraces. The first-floor Medea restaurant dishes out international cuisine for breakfast and dinner. A variety of dining options sits within walking distance of Barcelona Universal Hotel. Guests can pay extra for private parking and laundry services. 

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.2 mi/ 11.5 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Paralel (the hotel is right in front of the Nou de la Rambla exit)
Attractions
  • Las Ramblas (.4 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Plaza de Cataluña (.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Picasso Museum (.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Plaza de España (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Montjuic (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Sagrada Família (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • Four conference rooms and seven private offices
  • Free wireless and hard-wire Internet service
  • Audio-visual setups
  • Two 24/7 business centers

Hotel Map

41.3751 2.1685
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport (BCN) only 12 KMS away from the hotel.
Area description
Hotel Barcelona Universal is located on Avenida Paralel, number 76, just a few steps away from Las Ramblas (metro station "PARALEL", lines 2 and 3, just in front of the hotel). The locations gives to the hotel's guests access to some of Barcelona's most emblematic and celebrated areas such as the Old Port, the Gothic neighbourhood, the Liceu Theatre, the Palau de la Msica Catalana, the Cathedral, the Magical Fountains of Montjuc, CaixaForum, the Grec Theatre, Poble Espanyol, the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion and the Olympic Stadium. Hotel Barcelona Universal is nearby to countless tourist attractions, as well as the city's key business and commercial areas, the World Trade Centre, the Barcelona Fira and the Palau de Congresos Convention Centre.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelona Universal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

Universal Room - Free WIFI (1 or 2 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.
Universal Triple - Free WIFI (3 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms, much larger than Universal Roomm with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.5 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.5 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.6 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 0.6 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 0.6 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 0.7 mi
  • World trade centre and Moll de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.7 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Montjuïc Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are 4 meeting rooms (under request directly to the hotel). Also, on the 9th floor there is a lobby that clients can use free of charge for small meetings.

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant offers full breakfast buffet in the morning and a salads buffet for dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
konalisa
Apo - AE
Dec 27, 2012

Great!

We had a really great stay in this hotel. Location, room, breakfast... everything was awesome. The view from the terrace is beautiful, you can't miss the sunset up there, great picture to take!! Thanks also to the stuff for the useful advice!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Axeldawg
Atlanta,Georgia
Feb 12, 2012

Cruise Club

We stayed here prior to a cruise out of Barcelona. It was in a great location, the metro was right out the front door. Staff was very accomodating and very helpful!!! Awesome place and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the metro to get around town. The T-10 card is 9Euro and you get 10 trips!! Great deal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super dad with fastidious family
Minneapolis, MN
May 30, 2011

Super experience and great service

We found the hotel nice, clean and very comfortable. It has a modern appeal and great staff. The director personally took time to speak with us and help us with information, tips to go sightseeing, streets to avoid, and find our way around the city. The shower in the bathroom was a pleasure to be under after a long tiring day. They delivered hot water in a kettle for us to make our own special spicy tea at no charge! They are quite considerate of foreign nationals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a very conveniently located hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anaheim, CA
Mar 27, 2011

Convenient location and great price

The metro station is just outside the hotel and that made it very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angelina7
Barcelona
Jul 2, 2014

Great weekend trip

Hotel is situated 5 mins from the ramblas and was perfect for the weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Find the place de ravel for great place to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto Canada
Aug 29, 2010

Location, Location, location !

Enjoyed our stay. More Hand and Wash Cloths needed. Hand Soap....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Many available...check them out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abs1983
London
May 20, 2014

Great Hotel in great location

Stayed at Hotel Barcelona Universal for 4 nights and we werent disappointed. We got a good deal, much cheaper than the cost advertized on the hotel website. Location is superb, the hotel is literally outside the metro station, which in my opinion is a wonderful thing to have for visiting tourists. Staff were very friendly, approachable and always willing to help. This helped us a lot in getting our bearings as this was our first visit to Barcelona. The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the bustling La Ramblas Avenue and only a 10 - 15 minute bus ride to the beach. Rooms were very clean and exactly as advertised on the hotel website. My only slight negative would be the beds which were two twins rather than a king size bed hence the 4 star rating otherwise i would have given a 5 star review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants just before the Barceloneta Beach have amazing seafood at literally half the price of most tourists areas. Stay away from Port Olimpic unless you have over €100 to spend on a meal per head.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
London
Aug 31, 2010

Excellent location but noisy

Fantastic location but do not come back from the small street (c. de Nou de Rambla) at night. It isn't safe. Great staff but pool is tiny and 'fitness centre' even smaller. Fantastic bus network near hotel, much better than the tube, that will bring you everywhere including to the seaside. Easy access to Placa Espanya (and the bus to the airport) or the stunning Montjuic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just be careful, particularly at night. Pickpockets and junkies are numerous in Barcelona, particularly in La Rambla and every crowded place. Even locals told me to be careful, when they realised I was not from Barcelona so don't dress like a tourist, don't put your bag on your chair (always on your knees) and be very careful when taking some cash.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 2, 2010

great location, good service, small room

Location cannot be better with this price. 10 minutes walk to the harbor port and many local restaurants nearby. A little bit noisy, but that can be understood as it sits by a very busy street. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Room was cleaned every day around noon. The only complaint I have is the bed is so small. I am not sure about other rooms but the one I stayed had one "double bed". It is much smaller than the US standard full-size bed though. Yet it is supposed to fit two adults. I couldnot imagine how it can fit two people since I traveled by myself and the bed was already short for me. This might be even worse for other people since I am a female and my height is below average. Anyway, I will be happy to stay in this place next time I go to Barcelona by myself. But if I travel with a company, I will definitely pass this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Jun 2, 2011

Nice hotel, friendly helpful personal.

We staid in Barcelona only one night after our cruise. We got in Hotel at 9 AM and hope that we can leave our luggage. We were lucky, room was available. Location was great, close to everything which help us a lot. We were able to see a lot in one day. Room was pretty good size, very clean, quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Feb 7, 2010

Barcelona Universal Hotel

Hotel is located on Paral-El which is a main artery leading to the harbour area in one direction (about 10 minute walk) and about 4 blocks from La Ramba the pedestrian mall and main thorughfare of Barcelona (about 15 minute walk). Metro station is in front of the hotel. Front desk staff are quite fluent in English. I recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take one of the "Hop On, Hop Off" bus tours. If you are a senior, take the one that offers senior rates- two day pass for a bit more than the price of one day regular fare. Gothic Cathedral is about a 20 minute walk away from the hotel, a major tourist attraciton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search