$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
107 reviews
Recent Trip To Barcelona

Barcelona Universal is a real 4 star hotel. It's central location makes it easy to get to the major... See full review

  • WS Chuck 2
  • Aug 14, 2014
Best Stay in Barcelona

The hotel was EXCELLENT!! Centrally located, right across the street from the METRO, which can take... See full review

  • SylvieFromLA
  • Jul 25, 2014
Up-to-the-minute lodging with free Wi-Fi close to downtown attractions

A hop and a skip on foot from Las Ramblas, Barcelona Universal Hotel offers contempo-chic rooms and suites with up-to-the-minute trimmings such as free Wi-Fi. A favorite among business visitors to Barcelona, it features extensive on-site facilities and well-trained staff. The tenth-floor swimming pool showcases stellar vistas of Barcelona's skyline. The solarium and fitness center next door are a boon for leisure visitors. The first-floor restaurant dishes out international fare.

Highlights
  • The three suites come with Jacuzzis and private terraces
  • Complimentary bottle of cava (Catalan champagne) in superior rooms
  • Prime views of Sagrada Família from the tenth-floor swimming pool
  • Free high-speed Wi-Fi in the rooms
  • Superb location a stone's throw from Las Ramblas
Rooms

Barcelona Universal Hotel offers four different room types. Universal rooms are the simplest and smallest. The superior rooms that occupy the building's corner are more spacious and include a complimentary bottle of cava. Triple rooms are ideal for families, as they feature enough space for a sofa bed. The ninth-floor skyline suites at Barcelona Universal Hotel come equipped with marble-clad bathrooms with Jacuzzis and panoramic city views from their private terraces. All units have air conditioning and heating, safe, LCD TV, en-suite bathroom and free Wi-Fi.

Features

Well-suited to business as well as leisure travelers, Barcelona Universal Hotel provides all guests with free Wi-Fi. Two complimentary business centers offer broadband Internet connection. One is in the hotel lobby and the other on the ninth floor. Open seasonally, the small swimming pool on the tenth floor offers city views from its two terraces. The first-floor Medea restaurant dishes out international cuisine for breakfast and dinner. A variety of dining options sits within walking distance of Barcelona Universal Hotel. Guests can pay extra for private parking and laundry services. 

Transportation
  • Barcelona International Airport (7.2 mi/ 11.5 km)
  • Closest metro stop: Paralel (the hotel is right in front of the Nou de la Rambla exit)
Attractions
  • Las Ramblas (.4 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Plaza de Cataluña (.8 mi/ 1.3 km)
  • Picasso Museum (.9 mi/ 1.5 km)
  • Plaza de España (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Montjuic (1.2 mi/ 2 km)
  • Sagrada Família (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
Business
  • Four conference rooms and seven private offices
  • Free wireless and hard-wire Internet service
  • Audio-visual setups
  • Two 24/7 business centers

Hotel Map

41.3751 2.1685
Area served
Barcelona.
Nearby airports
Barcelona International Airport (BCN) only 12 KMS away from the hotel.
Area description
Hotel Barcelona Universal is located on Avenida Paralel, number 76, just a few steps away from Las Ramblas (metro station "PARALEL", lines 2 and 3, just in front of the hotel). The locations gives to the hotel's guests access to some of Barcelona's most emblematic and celebrated areas such as the Old Port, the Gothic neighbourhood, the Liceu Theatre, the Palau de la Msica Catalana, the Cathedral, the Magical Fountains of Montjuc, CaixaForum, the Grec Theatre, Poble Espanyol, the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion and the Olympic Stadium. Hotel Barcelona Universal is nearby to countless tourist attractions, as well as the city's key business and commercial areas, the World Trade Centre, the Barcelona Fira and the Palau de Congresos Convention Centre.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelona Universal Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Barcelona Universal Hotel Rooms

Universal Room - Free WIFI (1 or 2 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.
Universal Triple - Free WIFI (3 people)
These are the rooms that best define our hotel. Modern and comfortable rooms, much larger than Universal Roomm with ensuite full marble bathroom. Room Facilities: Free of Charge Safety Deposit Box, Free of Charge WIFI + High Speed Internet Connection, Minibar, Full Bath, TV, Telephone, Air Conditioning and heating, private toilet, Satellite TV, Hairdryer, Wake Up Service/Alarm Clock, Work Desk, Ironing Facilities, Bathroom amenities.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Sant Pau del Camp: 0.1 mi
  • Montjuïc funicular: 0.2 mi
  • Air Raid Shelter: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Square: 0.3 mi
  • El Raval: 0.3 mi
  • Port of Barcelona: 0.3 mi
  • Palau Güell: 0.4 mi
  • Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • National Library of Catalonia: 0.4 mi
  • Centre d'Art Santa Mònica: 0.4 mi
  • Old Hospital de la Santa Creu: 0.4 mi
  • Teatre Principal: 0.4 mi
  • Gran Teatre del Liceu: 0.4 mi
  • Plaça Reial: 0.5 mi
  • La Rambla: 0.5 mi
  • Columbus Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Plaça del Rei: 0.5 mi
  • La Boqueria: 0.5 mi
  • Ciutat Vella: 0.5 mi
  • Carrer del Carme: 0.6 mi
  • Santa Maria del Pi: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.6 mi
  • Barcelona Wax Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona: 0.6 mi
  • Esglesia de Betlem: 0.6 mi
  • Teatre Grec: 0.6 mi
  • Escola de la Llotja: 0.6 mi
  • Fundació Joan Miró: 0.6 mi
  • Ancient synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya: 0.6 mi
  • Basilica de la Mare de Deu de la Merce: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Lliure: 0.7 mi
  • Archaeology CatalunyaMuseum of Catalonia: 0.7 mi
  • World trade centre and Moll de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Plaça Sant Jaume: 0.7 mi
  • Placa Sant Felip Neri: 0.7 mi
  • Palau de la Generalitat de Catalunya: 0.7 mi
  • Montjuïc Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Font de Canaletes: 0.7 mi
  • Casa de l’Ardiaca: 0.7 mi
  • Museu d'idees i invents de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Teatre Poliorama: 0.7 mi
  • Palau dels Esports de Barcelona: 0.7 mi
  • Barcelona Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • MareMagnum: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
There are 4 meeting rooms (under request directly to the hotel). Also, on the 9th floor there is a lobby that clients can use free of charge for small meetings.

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant offers full breakfast buffet in the morning and a salads buffet for dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephen777
Newcastle
Sep 10, 2014

Great location,

Had a great 3 nights at this hotel, only downside was the lack of view! Our room looked out onto a small courtyard but I suppose we can't all have sea views! The room itself was spotlessly clean with a lovely comfy bed & good bathroom. There was good choice for breakfast with a collection of cold meats, cheeses & fruit, hot dishes including scrambled egg & chorizo sausages, breads & pastries. The roof top pool & sun area was just big enough for nice hour in the sun with a couple of cold beers. The location is an ideal base to start from with the Port area & La Ramblas only a 10 min walk away, attractions further afield were within easy reach due to the Metro station right outside the door. Overall a very enjoyable short break which I would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Port Vell has a good selection of bars & restaurants with good views overlooking the sea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Groucho
Kansas City
Sep 14, 2011

Very pleasing lodgings in Barcelona

This is a relatively small hotel with a helpful staff, located not-to-far from the famous Rambla area, waterfront, and historic areas of Barcelona. It has a very good but modest restaurant, pleasing bar/lounge. We arrived very early in the morning after a long flight. They made special effort to get us into a room as soon as one was available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk the Rambla and surrounding area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYE in BCN
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jan 11, 2014

Good value, very pleased

Hotel is very well located, with Para-lel Metro Station right in front. Use the Carrer de Sant Pau exit. Lots of small restaurants and cafes around to get a quick inexpensive bite. The lobby is smallish and can get a bit crazy if there are a lot of people checking in. The rooms are not huge but perfectly functional. I have never been crazy about those funky half shower doors. But they are common in Europe and this place appears to cater to European rather than North American guests. The rooms were nicely done and the TV's had a lot of channels, in case you are going to Barcelona to watch TV. Couple of things that are nice were the wi-fi which had decent speed and lots of power outlets by the beds. If you are charging up multiple devices, this will make life a lot easier. Good thinking! Beds were very comfortable. This can be an issue when traveling because I can develop a sore back. The staff has pretty good English. Surprised a couple of the guys couldn't help me with relatively simple requests though. My credit card company stopped a transaction and I needed to make a collect call to the US. The guys at the desk had no idea how to do it. Still, at check out, my wife had a bit of a stomach problem and at that hour it would be a long walk to a store. Felip at the front desk helped us get a Coke for her. Just super classy on his part. I really enjoyed it. I felt like I received outstanding value and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dino Pan across the street from the Universal and around Barcelona is a fine local cafe to get your morning coffee and breakfast. Its got a nice selection and really good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento
Mar 29, 2011

Good except location

Friendly staff and nice clean room. The location was somewhat inconvenient as it was 3o minute walk through not the nicest parts of town to get to the more central parts of town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Rico, USA
Dec 1, 2009

Excelent !!

Excellent service, superb location, super-clean room and bathroom, helpful staff.....bed was too hard for our taste.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Major metro station just outside the hotel door. Also, very close to the pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
virgin of spain
Canton, Ohio
Aug 17, 2012

barcelona, awesome!

Barcelona Universal was a great place to stay in Barcelona. Staff, very friendly, and helpful. Room comfortable, and well kept. Location was very good, Subway which is safe and easy was at the door, and the beach was a brief walk. La Ramblas, was a couple blocks away. i would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

See the Font Magic... cab ride, or walk...but worth it. Catalanya Cerversia, easy subway ride, great restaurant in a beautiful area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penny mom of a Barcelona student
New Salisbury, IN
Feb 9, 2011

Great hotel room, but check your bill

The hotel room gave us more than I expected. I really liked the wood & marble floors. Everything was exceptionally clean and fresh smelling. The air conditioning worked well when we needed it. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was the best. We used the metro & bus system to get anywhere we wanted to go. It was easy & efficient. The only downside to the hotel experience was that they tried to charge us items from the mini bar that we didn't use. It took 3 different arguments to get that taken off our bill. Hopefully it won't show up on our Visa card later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Our hotel was very close to lots of dining areas. The portions were large and we were able to share many items. The best was the "American breakfast" at most restaurants close by. Enough for two. I do suggest finding the places where locals go to eat. We had the best seafood at a place that we just happened upon. We visited a couple of places I had researched on line and they were very disappointing. The local food critic said you had to go to 7 Portes. You really don't. It was my biggest disappointment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
May 1, 2011

Fantastic family getaway

nice room good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sam2012
ireland
Oct 3, 2012

Mid week break

Location of hotel very good for exploring Barcelona. Metro stop right outside. Less than ten minute walk to Les Ramblas and Marina area.Lots of cafes for eating nearby. Room nice clean although room at front of hotel can suffer from alot of noise from traffic. Staff were helpful did not avail of restaurant in hotel so cannot comment on food. Rooftop terrace nice for sunbathing pool small but nice to cool off in. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast expensive in hotel lots of places within walking distant for good value coffee and snacks. Be aware of restaurants not displaying drink prices on menu can work out very expensive one place Mickys 11 euro for a beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Odyssey Seeker
New York, NY
Mar 8, 2010

Good value, pleasant stay

A quiet, clean and comfortable hotel that represents a good value. Subway right outside, walking distance to Las Ramblas. We enjoyed our short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search