$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
30th anniversary party
Hampshire, England
Oct 1, 2012

A rare experience

Fantastic. Stayed Late September 2012. Arrived early as a party of 3 couples. Desk staff polite and extremely helpful, only 1 room available on arrival (5 hours early) but despite this being a superior room, was freely offered as an upgrade at no extra charge. remaining rooms available on the dot at 3pm. Everything clean, showers with plenty of pressure and lashings of hot water. If the staff had control over the weather, I'm sure that also would have been nothing but sun! A tribute to excellent customer service and satisfaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use touristic bus to get your bearings on the first day (and a mass of money off vouchers), then by the transport travelcard.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim77
Business
Maine
Feb 23, 2014

Barcelona in February

The weather was springlike! We had sunny days with a light breeze, temperatures in the high 50's each day. We were comfortable in a light coat and a scarf for when a breeze kicked up by the water. The hotel was clean and the staff was wonderful! We loved the location, safe, convenient to subway stop, ATM, restaurants and a short walk to Barcelona cathedral and the wonderful La Boqueria market. We loved the palace Guell which again was an easy 10 minute walk. Take a walk around the Gothic Quarter, lots of winding, more narrow streets with little shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Elche restaurant for delicious paella at a very reasonable price. A friend who lives in that area said it was the best around. Check it out at www.elcherestaurant.es

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poli Prof
Business
Utah
Feb 14, 2014

Well located and comfortable

The hotel is modern and the staff kind and efficient. The location was only a few blocks from La Rambla and right next to a metro station. .My wife and I had a very comfortable stay. The wi-fi was good although we were asked to renew our connection on a regular basis. The in-room safe was an added bonus. We skipped the 16 euro breakfast at the hotel in favor of eating at local restaurants. Our trip was a combination of work and pleasure. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the T 10 metro pass which is much more economical than purchasing indiviidual tickets. The Barcelona metro system is clean, fast, and efficient.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYE in BCN
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jan 11, 2014

Good value, very pleased

Hotel is very well located, with Para-lel Metro Station right in front. Use the Carrer de Sant Pau exit. Lots of small restaurants and cafes around to get a quick inexpensive bite. The lobby is smallish and can get a bit crazy if there are a lot of people checking in. The rooms are not huge but perfectly functional. I have never been crazy about those funky half shower doors. But they are common in Europe and this place appears to cater to European rather than North American guests. The rooms were nicely done and the TV's had a lot of channels, in case you are going to Barcelona to watch TV. Couple of things that are nice were the wi-fi which had decent speed and lots of power outlets by the beds. If you are charging up multiple devices, this will make life a lot easier. Good thinking! Beds were very comfortable. This can be an issue when traveling because I can develop a sore back. The staff has pretty good English. Surprised a couple of the guys couldn't help me with relatively simple requests though. My credit card company stopped a transaction and I needed to make a collect call to the US. The guys at the desk had no idea how to do it. Still, at check out, my wife had a bit of a stomach problem and at that hour it would be a long walk to a store. Felip at the front desk helped us get a Coke for her. Just super classy on his part. I really enjoyed it. I felt like I received outstanding value and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dino Pan across the street from the Universal and around Barcelona is a fine local cafe to get your morning coffee and breakfast. Its got a nice selection and really good prices.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nino toscano
Business
Maui, Hawaii
Nov 16, 2013

Good location

Good location by the Metro and close to La Rambla. Clean, confortable room. Free Wi-Fi, but you need to log again every time you close your phone or tablet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Phile 1
Business
NW Ohio
Nov 12, 2013

Outstanding Hotel

Very accomodating staff, very clean, large rooms. Next to a subway stop, Four blocks from the hop on- hop off location and Columbus statue. Everything about this International more than met our expectations, especially for the price paid. There is a pool and work out area on the roof, also a nice garden. Would stay there again any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hop on - hop off bus is a great way to see the many attractions in Barcelona.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larry D Global Traveler
Business
Churchville NY
Oct 16, 2013

Excellent Hotel in the Heart of Beautiful Barcelona

This modern, upscale hotel is close to so many great places in this beautiful city. The Metro station is right outside the front door. A short stroll down the street around the corner, Carrer de Sant Pau, takes you to La Rambla. This grand avenue is considered to have the "heartbeat of the Ciudad"and on it (a 15 minute walk from the hotel) is the Boqueria one of Europe's largest open air markets. From the Metro you can get to all of the "must see" sites in Barcelona for a euro per person per trip. The rooms are very clean and nicely appointed with comfortable beds and the buffet breakfast each morning of our stay was delicious and abundant in both quality and quantity. The Avinguda Paral-lel location of the Universal makes it easy to access the Port, the really cool neighborhoods of El Barri Gotic and El Barceloneta. Stay here if you can when in Barcelona!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For some of the best Pinchos and Tapas in Barcelona take a 3-5 minute walk to Rosal 34 a restaurant just a quarter mile from the Hotel. Cross the street and find the Carrer del Roser, 34

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sg-devon
Business
Devon
Oct 12, 2013

Just as described

Spotlessly clean. Very helpful, friendly Reception staff. Lovely meal and service in the restaurant. Convenient location for all of Barcelona as Metro station is just outside .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AndyCherry
Business
Northwest Uk
Sep 26, 2013

Honeymoon

Great hotel for amenities and location. Metro is clean and safe, 10 metres from hotel entrance. Staff honoured our e-mail request for front facing and high room. Looked after our bags while we went out for 3 hours before check in. Staff helpful. Breakfast's were plentiful and lots of options. Overall great hotel and facing the iconic 1992 olympic high diving board . Used Aerobus (T2) from airport, first stop is Espanya Plaza. Get T10 metro ticket to save £.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Placa Reial, great place to eat with loads of choice, not a picture board menu in sight, and just off the busy Touristy Rambla's

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DJR2
Business
New York
Sep 21, 2013

Great Stay

We were very impressed with the hotel for the money paid. It was a very good value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

When booking the tourist bus in Barcelona, book at the hotel and receive a discount from normal prices.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Becky66
Business
Southampton, UK
Sep 17, 2013

OK stay

Ok hotel, staff pleasant, decor modern. 'double bed' very small. No full length mirror, room small. Noise from street loud, however I was prepared for this from having read other reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not eat on Rambler, £18 for a sangria and a beer. Lots of lovely eateries/bars a lot cheaper on streets/areas a very short walk away.

Back to menu Return to top