$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wind1953
Business
Ontario Canada
Nov 21, 2014

Great hotel before a cruise

We loved this hotel!! The location was perfect! It was very quiet but just a couple of blocks from Las Ramblas.The room was extremely clean and very modern!! We definitely would stay here again and would highly recommend it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roger
Business
Rugby, Warwickshire, UK
Jan 3, 2015

Excellent hotel

An excellent hotel conveniently located close to the main tourist facilities, including the castle, harbour and beaches. Well worth a visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William I.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Excellent Place to Stay

The hotel was convenient for visiting the city, with a Metro stop right at the corner. The same station also gave easy access to Mount Juic, a major attraction. The hotel room was very clean and spacious, with all the amenities one could want. The hotel had an excellent restaurant and a separate bar for late night relaxing. Best of all were the staff members. They were charming, helpful, and full of suggestions about places to see that were not in the usual guidebooks. They made an enjoyable trip even more special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Mount Juic was well worth the visit, both for the scenery and the Miro Foundation (museum), An easy walk from the hotel is the Museu Maritim de Barcelona, which offers architectural, engineering, and historical delight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
William I.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Eminently comfortable

The hotel was spotless, with an excellent restaurant and a fine bar. The rooms were more spacious than what we were accustomed to in Europe. The location was a close but not in the center of the city, but a fine Metro system made moving about easy. But the most outstanding feature was the personnel. Everyone at the hotel was charming. They made suggestions about things to see that were not in the guidebooks, but which made out stay special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Mont Juic is well worth a visit, both for the scenery and the Miro Foiundation (museum). The cable car ride is also fun. The Metro stop at the Barcelona Universal Hotel is the most convenient place to catch the bus or the funicular (which was in repair while we were there).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ann W.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Awesome

We couldn't fault this hotel. Had an awesome stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The city tour busses are worth every penny. Buy the two day pass and do the red routs one day and the green the next.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Araceli C.
Business
QUITO
Feb 4, 2015

Awsome family trip

Beautiful hotel, rooms clean and spacious free internet worked perfectly, people nice and friendly, at one step of train station . Loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Train station at one step from hotel helps a lot on transportation 5 m8n from Rambla, Arco del Triunfo 10 mi from Barcelona satdium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louise H.
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Lovely couples trip

Really enjoyable stay at this hotel. Hotel spotless. Staff lovely and really helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blip Morton
Business
N/A
Feb 16, 2015

Nice stay in Barcelona

This was a very nice place to stay in Barcelona. It was the end of our cruise and the beginning of some time on our own. As with all of our picks, this hotel gave us excellent accommodations at a reasonable price. I enjoyed the pool on the roof. The view from up there was terrific. The internet station in the lobby was very fast. The men behind the desk gave us a good tip on a fabulous flamenco dinner-show. They also helped us find the best route to the airport. Across the street was a very good and well known snack shop where we enjoyed a light meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arthur S.
Business
Brooklyn
Feb 19, 2015

Great location.

Great location. You can walk to most places, or use metro right in front of the hotel. Will come back and stay again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JasonJoplinMO
Business
Joplin
Mar 10, 2015

Got Lucky

Had no idea about Barcelona, just picked this hotel for review, location and value. We scorred. The rooms are amazing, so clean so comfy. Location was good if you like the walk. We like it as it isn't on the ramblas Staff was so helpful. Rooftop wasn't open but will be soon. We would stay again for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top