$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blip Morton
Friends
N/A
Feb 16, 2015

Nice stay in Barcelona

This was a very nice place to stay in Barcelona. It was the end of our cruise and the beginning of some time on our own. As with all of our picks, this hotel gave us excellent accommodations at a reasonable price. I enjoyed the pool on the roof. The view from up there was terrific. The internet station in the lobby was very fast. The men behind the desk gave us a good tip on a fabulous flamenco dinner-show. They also helped us find the best route to the airport. Across the street was a very good and well known snack shop where we enjoyed a light meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arthur S.
Couples
Brooklyn
Feb 19, 2015

Great location.

Great location. You can walk to most places, or use metro right in front of the hotel. Will come back and stay again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JasonJoplinMO
Couples
Joplin
Mar 10, 2015

Got Lucky

Had no idea about Barcelona, just picked this hotel for review, location and value. We scorred. The rooms are amazing, so clean so comfy. Location was good if you like the walk. We like it as it isn't on the ramblas Staff was so helpful. Rooftop wasn't open but will be soon. We would stay again for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoJo6433
Couples
N/A
Mar 23, 2015

great hotel more than we expected

Rooms small but very comfortable bathrooms modern and breakfast terrific we would stay there when we go back to Barcelona

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brian N.
Couples
N/A
Mar 21, 2015

sightseeing

The hotel was excellent, the most positive fact being the staff. Carlos a friendly, pleasant and very helpful receptionist at reception advised us on the best transport to sightsee, he arranged for printing off board passes and even weighed our cases for the return trip. Great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Golfing mom
Friends
South Yorkshire
May 10, 2014

city break

Good location for sightseeing. Staff in reception very helpful and had a good understanding of English. One down side (maybe not to some), there wasn't any tea/coffee making facilities. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If going to see the Sagrada Familia and you want to go inside, book online prior to going to avoid queuing for tickets in the blazing sun.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MikeH
Couples
Hampshire
Jul 16, 2011

Great location, most comfortable hotel

Very comfortable rooms, friendly and very helpfull staff. The breakfast room gets rather crowded and is somewhat expensive but plenty of alternatives just outside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Rambla is very close

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Constantin Flesaru.
Couples
New York
Jun 23, 2015

Excelent Family Trip

Great location with excellent customer service with friendly Staff. Will recommend to friends and will return some day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYE in BCN
Couples
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jan 11, 2014

Good value, very pleased

Hotel is very well located, with Para-lel Metro Station right in front. Use the Carrer de Sant Pau exit. Lots of small restaurants and cafes around to get a quick inexpensive bite. The lobby is smallish and can get a bit crazy if there are a lot of people checking in. The rooms are not huge but perfectly functional. I have never been crazy about those funky half shower doors. But they are common in Europe and this place appears to cater to European rather than North American guests. The rooms were nicely done and the TV's had a lot of channels, in case you are going to Barcelona to watch TV. Couple of things that are nice were the wi-fi which had decent speed and lots of power outlets by the beds. If you are charging up multiple devices, this will make life a lot easier. Good thinking! Beds were very comfortable. This can be an issue when traveling because I can develop a sore back. The staff has pretty good English. Surprised a couple of the guys couldn't help me with relatively simple requests though. My credit card company stopped a transaction and I needed to make a collect call to the US. The guys at the desk had no idea how to do it. Still, at check out, my wife had a bit of a stomach problem and at that hour it would be a long walk to a store. Felip at the front desk helped us get a Coke for her. Just super classy on his part. I really enjoyed it. I felt like I received outstanding value and would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dino Pan across the street from the Universal and around Barcelona is a fine local cafe to get your morning coffee and breakfast. Its got a nice selection and really good prices.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poli Prof
Business
Utah
Feb 14, 2014

Well located and comfortable

The hotel is modern and the staff kind and efficient. The location was only a few blocks from La Rambla and right next to a metro station. .My wife and I had a very comfortable stay. The wi-fi was good although we were asked to renew our connection on a regular basis. The in-room safe was an added bonus. We skipped the 16 euro breakfast at the hotel in favor of eating at local restaurants. Our trip was a combination of work and pleasure. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the T 10 metro pass which is much more economical than purchasing indiviidual tickets. The Barcelona metro system is clean, fast, and efficient.

Back to menu Return to top