$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Barcelona Universal Hotel

4 stars
View map of Av. Paral-lel, 76-80, Barcelona, 08001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelona Universal Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bcn2012
Couples
Pennsylvania
May 31, 2012

Pre Cruise Hotel

We stayed at this hotel for one night pre and post cruise and were pleased with the convient location as it was just a 12 Euro taxi ride with our luggage to the cruise port. It is also located right next to the metro and within 15 minutes walking to la rambles. We would stay here again for the good price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mixxx
Couples
Chicago,Illinois
Jun 28, 2012

Trip

The staff was excellent. They knew how and where to go about where you needed to go. Metro right outside you door to get around the city. If you want to do a lot of sightseeing I would sugguest get the hop on hop off bus tour for two days. The beach was nice all the churches and tours. The only bad thing was people smoking every where. Even when trying to eat outside but other than that it was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway and train and bus it's so easy to follow and a lot cheaper than taxi. Buy the T-10 package because it coming out to under 1euo per ride.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PennyO
Friends
Buckinghamshire
Aug 7, 2012

Excellent well positioned hotel

We stayed here at the end of July 2012. The rooms were a good size with modern furniture and fittings. The staff were extremely helpful, proving advice on the "best pickpockets in the world", we were are able to check in early which was a real bonus as we had an early flight and the hotel had a secured luggage storage facility which we used on our last day. Some people have commented in the noise but this is a city centre hotel so to be expected and we did not find the level disturbing at all. The hotel is very close to a metro stop, 1 stop from the bottom of La Ramblas and easy access to all attractions (would recommend the Barcelona card for unlimited use of public transport as the metro system is excellent and a god way to see the city). We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. The only minor issue was that the roof top poo, was out of order for the first couple of days of our stay, as this was one of the reasons for choosing this hotel it was a little disappointing but in no way spoiled our stay. The pool and roof terrace are small but well provided for and great for cooling off after a day sightseeing. All in all very comfortable, well appointed with excellent staff and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a Barcelona card, nlmited use of public transport plus map and a book of vouchers for discounts off most attractions. Also avoids having to get cash out in a city famed for tis pick pockets. If you have to eat on La Ramblas pick carefully, most are tourist traps with poor quality food and service.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
virgin of spain
Single
Canton, Ohio
Aug 17, 2012

barcelona, awesome!

Barcelona Universal was a great place to stay in Barcelona. Staff, very friendly, and helpful. Room comfortable, and well kept. Location was very good, Subway which is safe and easy was at the door, and the beach was a brief walk. La Ramblas, was a couple blocks away. i would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

See the Font Magic... cab ride, or walk...but worth it. Catalanya Cerversia, easy subway ride, great restaurant in a beautiful area.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
No habla Espanol
Couples
Ohio
Aug 24, 2012

Great Location

Was at hotel for three nights. The location is perfect for sightseeing. You can get to La Rambla by walking a few blocks. There you can get on sightseeing bus or just enjoy Barcelona. Breakfast with room is good but next time I will forget the breakfast and enjoy one of the many sidewalk cafes within walking distance. The room is small compared to North American hotels but still comfortable. This is really a great place to stay if you are visiting Barcelona. Don't pass it up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the sidewalk cafes within walking distance.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abu Dabi
Couples
California
Sep 19, 2012

Great time in Barc

We had a great time in Barc. This hotel is very well situated; the Metro is right out the front door and La Rambla is a short ten minute walk. The staff was very helpful and spoke very good English. The hotel is right off a fairly busy street and a hospital is not too far, so ambulances with sirens are fairly common. Ask for a room higher up and/or ask for a room on the back of the hotel. There is a great view on the roof terrace. The room was not large, but was nicely decorated and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Pans across the street....order the British bacon sandwich.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sam2012
Couples
ireland
Oct 3, 2012

Mid week break

Location of hotel very good for exploring Barcelona. Metro stop right outside. Less than ten minute walk to Les Ramblas and Marina area.Lots of cafes for eating nearby. Room nice clean although room at front of hotel can suffer from alot of noise from traffic. Staff were helpful did not avail of restaurant in hotel so cannot comment on food. Rooftop terrace nice for sunbathing pool small but nice to cool off in. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast expensive in hotel lots of places within walking distant for good value coffee and snacks. Be aware of restaurants not displaying drink prices on menu can work out very expensive one place Mickys 11 euro for a beer.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luke89
Couples
UK
Oct 7, 2012

Good base from which to explore the city

The hotel is smart, clean and a great place to relax and recharge after a day exploring this great city. Majority of sights/attractions within walking distance with a metro right outside for those further distances. A well located hotel which made a perfect base from which to explore Barcelona.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If your a sports fan the Olympic stadium/park and the Nou Camps are a must.

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Derbyman 66
Couples
UK
Oct 20, 2012

Nice but can be noisy!

My wife and I are light sleepers and if we had realised how noisy the road to the front of the hotel could be at night we certainly would have requested a room at the rear. I feel this problem could be addressed with improved sound deadening methods. On the plus side the hotel is in a great position for downtown Barcelona and Metro network.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter the Canuck
Couples
Canada
Nov 19, 2012

A great place to stay in Barcelona

Wonderful hotel and staff. Metro and bus right outside the door. Only a short walk to Las Ramblas. Very helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Travel Bound Barcelona "Free" walking tour that starts from the Internacional Cool Local Hotel on Las Ramblas

Back to menu Return to top